We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Air con fan”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Holiday Inn York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn York
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in York
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Air con fan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Just returned from staying a week in York holiday inn my husband and I were very pleased with everything and the air con in room was an added bonus as the weather was v. Hot while we were there believe or not! The park & ride bus terminal for York city centre is close by and the service is excellent and only £2.50 return!

Room Tip: Back rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isobel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    502
    307
    99
    37
See reviews for
225
543
23
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

This hotel may be part of the Holiday Inn franchise but the staff, rooms & food all contribute to it being a great place to stay.
Check in staff cannot do enough for you & the bar & restaurant staff are extremely attentive. May be a shoort distance from the city centre however the local bus service is a mere 2 minute walk from the hotel entrance.
A good base for York city centre with good value facilities.
Well worth a visit if your'e looking for a place to stay.

Room Tip: If you can get on the club floor the rooms are a little bigger & quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilLDarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Have just returned from a relaxing mid week break in York. My London meeting was moved to the York office to avoid the pre olympic madness and having never visitied the City before decided to add on a couple of days to do the tourist stuff and took my husband along for the journey. I booked the Holiday Inn as the hotel were my colleauges were staying looked more like a tired B&B! The Holiday Inn way exceeded my expectations. With speedy check in we were delighted by our spacious and airy room. It was immaculate with large plasma TV, comfortable sofa and bed and smart furnishings. The air con was an added bonus (colleagues hotel had none and window were painted shut) as was the fridge that was filled with still and sparkling water each day and a Kit Kat!.The views from the hotel are fairly bleak and from the outside it looks a bit like a seventies comprehensive school, but the interior is great. The staff are fab especially Veronica in the restaurant she is a real character. The buffet breakfast was one of the best I have had in modern hotels and far superior to The Tower in London where I usually stay and for a fraction of the price.

The hotel is on the main road out of town but has a bus stop just outside with buses every five minutes. We did not eat in the hotel in the evening as there is a quaint and friendly pub across the road that serves good food and real ales.

All in all I would highly reccomend this hotel for value, service and comfort and a really welcoming staff to make your stay that little bit special.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munchbunch4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

4 x Over 55's have just had a pleasant 2 day stay in York and stayed at this hotel.

Positives:
The hotel is typical HI style, rooms were clean and spacious, bathroom was slightly smaller than some we have stayed in but OK. The receptionist, Hayley, is a credit to Holiday Inn, she was welcoming,pleasant and couldn't do enough for us.
Car parking is ample and on site at the front and back of the hotel.
Taxi ride into York was £6 (cheaper than the bus for 4 of us) but there is a regular bus service which stops outside the hotel.
Nice pub across the road that serves reasonably priced meals.

Negatives:
WiFi charges - £5 an hour or £16 for 24 hours.....expensive compared to Premier Inn who charge £3 for 24hours.
We didn't eat at the hotel due to the high food prices:
Breakfast is costly £12.50 per person (£9.50 if booked in advance). I was advised I couldn't use my Tastecard for Breakfast only at dinner. Not sure this is correct according to Tastecard's terms but not to worry we had a nice breakfast in York.


Summary:
I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancashire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell UK
Level Contributor
226 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

This was our second trip to the Holiday Inn at York. Standards have npt dropped since last year. Local buses run from just outside the hotel £2.20 single fare into town or £3.70 for an all day ticket. The hotel is clean and tidy although the room we were in could do with a redec. Breakfast is a self service buffet with good variety of fresh fruit, breads, pastries and cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FIFE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

What you would expect from a Holiday Inn. Cheap room for short stay. Rooms are dated but are being renovated just so happens the landing i was on was like a building site. Breakfast good but keep receipts as had a problem with staff on leaving about bil. Located about a 40 minute walk from centre of York but bus service good. Get a family day ticket for £7.50. Tescos is located 5 mins walk away to the left of hotel for cheap good meals. Staff were pleasant until last day re bill asked for receipts for meals even though paid through debit card did not get a sorry from girl on desk when she found out she was wrong.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRUSTEDBRAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for providing your feedback further to your recent stay.
I am very sorry to learn of the billing issues you encountered and please be assured that I will review this with the team. Also, please accept my sincerest apologies for the way in which we failed to apologise for this mistake on our part.
With kind regards
Louisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

We had a beautiful night at a 4/5 Star Spa our first night so were not expecting our 2nd night in a Holiday Inn to match it, but this hotel did just that.
Outside the city just near the race course, this hotel is excellent!!!!!!!!!!!.
Rooms spacious, very clean and modern.
I had a problem with the bed it was a little too hard for me, no problems though I was given a 2nd duvet which I laid on and had a lovely comfortable nights sleep.
Restaurant is lovely and bright, Staff very attentive and polite, food excellent.
Breakfast is buffet style, very very good though everything is fresh they only put a little out at a time so it's always fresh.
Would defenitely reccomend this hotel, and will go again.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but higher floors would be away from the rear entrance for late night arrivals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jlidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#37 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
1.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn York

Property: Holiday Inn York
Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn York 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn York Hotel enjoys a prime location overlooking York Race course and is just 1.5 miles from the Historic City Centre of York, which boasts the York Minster, Shopping at The Shambles, University of York and the National Railway Museum. The Hotel is 1.5 miles from York Station and is easily accessible by road from the A64 and M1.Whether you're visiting York for a meeting, leisure break, sight seeing or simply to sample the great shopping delights that the city has to offer, the Holiday Inn York Hotel offers comfortable, modern, accommodation, fully air-conditioned throughout, suitable for both the business and leisure traveller.The Holiday Inn York is well equipped for hosting business meetings, weddings and social gatherings with seven meeting rooms that can accommodate 2 to 100 guests.The facilities and services at the hotel include our Family Friendly Restaurant; with 24 hr room service wireless internet access, and ample free car parking.Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.Kids Stay and Eat Free.* Also a fabulous location for a day at York Races ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn York Hotel York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing