We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Holiday Inn...”
Review of Holiday Inn York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn York
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in York
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“It's a Holiday Inn...”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

It's a Holiday Inn. You know what to expect. Arrived very early in the hope that we could park the car for free and were told that as our room was actually ready we could check in there and then - great bonus. We were also allowed to leave the car after we had checked out for a few hours. Room was a bit small but clean, though the design is a bit seventies and could do with an update. Bathroom very small but adequate. Took the breakfast option - food plentiful and good. Dined at the hotel one night - again food and service good. Hotel location is excellent with easy public transport options in to York which is much easier and cheaper than using the car. The hotel itself is a typical Holiday Inn - it could be anywhere. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Price was a bit high but this is York! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BILLYVILLAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    531
    321
    106
    41
See reviews for
244
573
24
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Stayed at the hotel on a 2 nights for the price of one,feel this is more where the price should be. The receptionist was extremely helpful at checkin and we got to our room quickly. The room was functional and clean.
Although nothing wrong with the rooms they could do with a refresh, decor looked a bit tired.
We had breakfast one morning, there was a nice selection and the hot food was not piled high so allowed you to get fresh hot selections from the buffet.
We were there to shop and the outlet was an easy short drive from the hotel and we also took the bus into the city centre, buses were frequent and you could get a day pass for £3.70.
We had dinner in the pub across from the hotel the Fox and Roman,the food was very tasty and well priced, the service was a bit slow but we werent in any rush so this was ok.
Overall we enjoyed out stay at the hotel and would return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deesimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

The origins of the Holiday Inn as a Post House Hotel from the early 1970s are still apparent, but in its current form it offers straightforward accommodation at a competitive price, and the hotel is in a convenient, accessible, quiet and safe location, with ample free parking. Our room for a long weekend stay was perfectly comfortable and well-equipped, even if space in the room (and bathroom) is restricted. On a weekend with temperatures below freezing we appreciated the effective heating, although when the hotel was full and busy the operation (and service standards) clearly came under pressure. The front-desk and restaurant staff were always friendly and welcoming, and were happy to help with any requests.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strathallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Every now and then a Holiday Inn hotel in the UK just really lets you down and this was it.

I always try and pick Holiday Inn hotels in order to collect my points. As a platinum member I should receive and upgrade to my room, but I can't actually recall when this last happened and on arriving here I was told the hotel was full. I was given a large room which was good enough but only to discover a constant loud banging coming from above. So I headed back to the reception and explained but the front desk staff despite not actually serving anyone, seemed too busy to care about the issue.

I was now moved to a much smaller room, probably punishment for complaining in the first place, but this room had a perfect view of the previous room and the roof above, including the fire door which was open and slamming shut in the wind causing the loud banging I had explained.

At dinner, staff were slow and didn't take the time to explain anything that was available leading me order 2 meals only to be told it wasn't in stock. What did amaze me was that I was pretty much alone in the restaurant, despite this hotel being "full"

Normally staff in the Holiday Inn make up for the hotels shortcomings in standards, but not this time.

Not my best stay by far

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrJohnAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We have just spent 1 night in this hotel. The room was very clean and nicely appointed. Food was good as we were on a group stay it was self service but still fine. The hotel is in a quiet location and was very impressed aswe have not stayed in a holidday inn before but will do so again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

A pleasant hotel with good staff. However, in need of redecoration. It has a tired look about it and could do with a good refurbishment. Room service was well provided and the food hot. Time for a paint brush.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulC2816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We have stayed here before and enjoyed the quiet location. We arrived early and were told immediately that we had been upgraded to an Executive Room which was a nice treat. We left the bags and headed off for the National Railway Museum, the real reason for the trip. On our return with sore feet, we headed off to a quite small but comfortable room on the 3rd floor. The bathroom is very small, but there is nothing that can be done so just make the best of it. We dined in the restaurant and the “Taste of Yorkshire” menu looked very inviting so we both had the Garlic mushrooms on toast with a poached egg to start and I had the Fish Pie while my partner had the homemade Steak and Guinness pie, both excellent. A good breakfast in the morning and we were off to the pleasures of McArthur Glen Mall. All the staff were very pleasant and friendly, and it is somewhere we will come back to one day.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magickpyggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.2 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
1.5 mi away
Novotel York Centre
1.1 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#39 of 47 in York
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn York

Property: Holiday Inn York
Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn York 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn York Hotel enjoys a prime location overlooking York Race course and is just 1.5 miles from the Historic City Centre of York, which boasts the York Minster, Shopping at The Shambles, University of York and the National Railway Museum. The Hotel is 1.5 miles from York Station and is easily accessible by road from the A64 and M1.Whether you're visiting York for a meeting, leisure break, sight seeing or simply to sample the great shopping delights that the city has to offer, the Holiday Inn York Hotel offers comfortable, modern, accommodation, fully air-conditioned throughout, suitable for both the business and leisure traveller.The Holiday Inn York is well equipped for hosting business meetings, weddings and social gatherings with seven meeting rooms that can accommodate 2 to 100 guests.The facilities and services at the hotel include our Family Friendly Restaurant; with 24 hr room service wireless internet access, and ample free car parking.Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.Kids Stay and Eat Free.* Also a fabulous location for a day at York Races ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn York Hotel York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing