We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They couldn't have done more”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Holiday Inn York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn York
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in York
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“They couldn't have done more”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife and I have just enjoyed a wonderful stay for our Silver Wedding Anniversary at this delightful hotel on the outskirts of York. From being met by Hayley in Reception to having dinner served by Kerry and an hello from Operations Manager, Tony, our visit went from strength to strength. Beautiful food and an excellent room. Many thanks for making it most special.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are worth bopoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithMrYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to meet with myself and Helen before Christmas. I was delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay and the team made this special for you.
I hope you had a great Christmas
With my best wishes for 2014
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    502
    307
    99
    37
See reviews for
225
543
23
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

clean comfortable hotel relaxing atmospheric but most important lovely helpful staff.The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent would go again .A nice part of the country and if needed shops nearby.

Room Tip: we booked an executive double room the bathroom was very small.It may have been just that room but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear jack962
Thank you for your review, I was very pleased you had a relaxing comfortable stay and found our team to be great, I will be sharing your comments with them. I hope it will not be too long until we can welcome you back to the hotel.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Friendly efficient staff, executive room at a very good price, pleased with the size of the room, and especially appreciated the eye level fridge, the very comfortable bed, and the non slip mat and grab rail in the bath. The bathroom was a bit small however. The evening meal was not very good but the restaurant staff were very helpful and reduced the bill. Breakfast was excellent.ŷ
My main gripe was the exorbitantly wifi, but I was assured that it would be changing in March. The sooner the better!
Apart from this I would be happy to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Book early to get a really good deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seaspirit44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear seaspirit44
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor along with your feedback on the IHG review site, which I have also responded to. Your comments are very much appreciated and I was pleased to read you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed your breakfast. Guest feedback does form a vital part of our business and it is through constructive comments such as yours that we are able to improve the service we offer our guests in the future.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
108 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

The York Holiday Inn is located in a fantastic position, close to racecourse and within easy reach of city centre. Ample parking available.
Unfortunately that's where the compliments stop.
On checking into my room I found it to be in a poor condition. Cigarette burns in netting, marks on curtains, nails and sweet wrappers still left in room from previous occupants.
In a nutshell the rooms need a revamp and I would say the Premier inn on Blossom St offers far better value.
I will say a thank you to the prompt attention of the duty manager on moving my room and the complimentary bottle of wine but this doesn't detract from the fact the hotel is not up to scratch.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank HutchinsonI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H, Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Hutchinsonl,

I was very sorry to hear that the room you were given at first upon your stay with us was not acceptable and for this I apologise. I am pleased to hear that the duty manager was able to relocate you to a more suitable room.
I would like to thank you for your feedback as it is comments such as these that enable us to deliver improved services to our guests in the future.

Best regards

Nick Henderson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Having recently returned from an excellent stay at the holiday inn York I just wanted to thank all the staff there for such a great stay. All staff were welcoming and very accommodating and when I told them the reason for our stay (anniversary) and wanted to do something special they went out of their way to provide us with a massive box of chocolates and fruit basket! They constantly went out of their way to ensure we were having a delightful stay and were excellent at helping us with information about things to do in York! Would definitely stay there again! Thanks again Holiday Inn!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superstar12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear superstar12014
I was delighted to read that you had a great stay and the team ensured you had a wonderful anniversary. I hope it will not be too long until we can welcome you back.
Congratulations!
With best wishes
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I have stayed here so many times over decades and have been disappointed recently so have been staying in York city centre at the Cedar Court Grand when travelling by train and the Mercure Fairfield Manor by car. However, I thought I would try this Holiday Inn again as the Mercure was full and was yet again disappointed. Checking in was painfully slow, I was not recognised as Platinum, not greeted by name and having stayed here so often still asked whether I had stayed here before. The rooms generally need refurbishing, especially the shower, but the room was comfortable and clean. There is a good range of food on the dinner menu but for lunch the choice was more basic - and my guest's order was wrong. The wine was good quality. A major plus for this location is the plentiful car parking and that it is on a bus route into the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H, Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear theflynn,
Many thanks for your feedback, I am very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay with us, your comments are very much appreciated, these will be used in a constructive manner to improve the service we offer our guests in the future. I am pleased you enjoyed your wine and found our menu to your liking.
With kind regards

Nick Henderson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Settle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We found the Holiday inn reception area really welcoming and Festive as we stayed in late November. The staff on reception were helpful and polite. When we got into the room the toilet flush was not working so the receptionist immediately found us a new room. The room was fairly basic but comfortable and clean and was a relaxing space. The hotel bar was modern and comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent! A good selection on the buffet and a good selection of fruit, cereals, pastries and pancakes. It was a nice touch to have a complimentary newspaper.
Overall a good stay! I will be returning!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Amanda J
Thank you for your recent review following you stay in November, I was pleased to read you had a good stay and the issue you experienced was quickly resolved. I hope it will not be too long until we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn York.
Kind Regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
1.1 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#37 of 45 in York
1,821 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
1.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn York

Property: Holiday Inn York
Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn York 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn York Hotel enjoys a prime location overlooking York Race course and is just 1.5 miles from the Historic City Centre of York, which boasts the York Minster, Shopping at The Shambles, University of York and the National Railway Museum. The Hotel is 1.5 miles from York Station and is easily accessible by road from the A64 and M1.Whether you're visiting York for a meeting, leisure break, sight seeing or simply to sample the great shopping delights that the city has to offer, the Holiday Inn York Hotel offers comfortable, modern, accommodation, fully air-conditioned throughout, suitable for both the business and leisure traveller.The Holiday Inn York is well equipped for hosting business meetings, weddings and social gatherings with seven meeting rooms that can accommodate 2 to 100 guests.The facilities and services at the hotel include our Family Friendly Restaurant; with 24 hr room service wireless internet access, and ample free car parking.Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.Kids Stay and Eat Free.* Also a fabulous location for a day at York Races ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn York Hotel York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing