We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Overnight Stay”
Review of Holiday Inn York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn York
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I recently attended the "Auto 66 Club" annual presentation of awards, and despite being a resident of York, opted to stay overnight at this hotel, and was not disappointed.

Despite check-in being officially open at 2.00pm, other members of our party had travelled from further afield, and had arrived at the hotel at around noon. They enquired at reception as to whether they could use the car park before their official check-in time - however, the staff offered them the opportunity to check in there and then. This was excellent service, which far exceeded our expectations - in fact, other establishments would have charged an additional fee to do this. This level of service was reflected throughout our stay, in the restaurant, at the bar and the cleaning staff we encountered - all were very friendly, professional and did their job with efficiency and competence.

I shared a twin room, which was ideally suited to our needs - comfortable, clean and perfectly functional. The beds, and particularly the pillows were extremely good, and afforded an excellent nights sleep. The room was warm, without being oppressive, and there was no noise or disturbance (which can often be the case on a Saturday night in larger hotels). The bathroom was fine - spotlessly clean, with adequate towels and toiletries; while the facilities in the room - flatscreen television, kettle etc were all as you would expect; again, no complaints.

Bar prices were the average rate that you would expect for a hotel of this standard - just short of £4.00 for a pint of lager, while a glass of wine was quite steep. However, the bar prices appeared to be discounted later in the evening - perhaps due to the function being on?

Breakfast in the morning was a definite highlight, and was worth getting up early for. There was a good choice of cerials, fruit etc; juices; english muffins, bread (to toast, which only took about 30 seconds, such was the efficiency of the toasting machine); cold meats, cheese etc; and an excellent hot buffet selection - which was freshly cooked, plentiful, but above all, contained excellent quality ingredients, the sausages and black pudding were the standout items for me.

I will look forward to the same event in 2014, and will certainly consider using the Holiday Inn brand when on other trips. It's just a pity I live in York, otherwise I would certainly use this hotel more frequently. Please keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkieLangham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear YorkieLangham
Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you had a comfortable stay and found our team to be friendly and welcoming and you enjoyed our fantastic breakfast selection. With living locally please call in anytime.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

854 - 860 of 1,401 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

Good welcome from Reception , even a free drink ! Room was lovely big bed , big telly and at back of hotel with a good quiet nights sleep. Good walk into town , mind you after the BIG breakfast you need to walk it off .

Room Tip: Room facing rear car park will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deannewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear deannewton
Many thanks for your review and I am so pleased you had a great stay with a good nights sleep and you enjoyed your breakfast.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

It has taken me some time to get round to writing this review as I am still deeply hurt and angry at Intercontinental Hotel Group for the way in which we were treated.Not may I add by the hotel staff who done everything possible getting us to hospital, but by head office.
My husband suffered a terrible accident after slipping in the bathroom which the hotel took no responsibility for and even accused us of causing it ourselves.
Anyway,the room was an executive double or king in order to get more space,which was okay,but the bathroom, omg ,don't even go there.It was so tiny and dangerous (hence the accident) The sink stuck out so much you would bang your head on it when bending down sitting on the toilet seat. If you closed the door you banged your knees on it.The bathmat had to be down at all times to catch any water coming from the over hanging sink and it was not non slip.BE VERY CAREFUL.
We have never received an apology from the hotel group not even a letter to enquire about my husbands recovery.Not a nice way to treat guests.

Room Tip: Dont bother to upgrade ,your not getting any better regards space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BELLA46_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear BELLA46_13
I am sorry you felt the need to post this review now, following your stay in February 2013. Contact has been made previously to address the incident. Seeking a final resolution to this rare and unfortunate incident is important to us all. As General Manager I was pleased to learn that the hotel staff did everything possible to assist you.

With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This was our third stay at the Holiday Inn York. The hotel is in a great location and on main bus routes for city centre and further afield. We stayed in an Executive room which was very comfortable and with everything you would need for a short break. We ordered some sandwiches via room service. They were delivered very quickly and they were delicious and not too expensive. Breakfast was excellent with a range of choices including pancakes which you can make using the pancake making machine. The only negative with this recent stay was that on the Sunday morning there was an unacceptable wait for breakfast items to be replenished at the buffet bar. Guests were annoyed quite understandably. No fault of the waiting staff they were working flat out. Kitchen management need to address this issue.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 186534Sunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear 186534Sunlover
Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read you had another enjoyable stay. Its great to receive feedback from our regular guests, all feedback is greatly appreciated and please be assured your comments regarding breakfast replenishment will be fully reviewed with the chef and I would like to apologise for the delay you encountered on this occasion. I hope it will not be too long until we welcome you once again back to the Holiday Inn York.

With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night as part of a long weekend nothing spectacular but then nothing wrong good breakfast and enjoyed a promenade walk into York on a crisp late autumn morning well worth a stay would go back

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear dealdownup
Thank you for your review and your recommendation. I agree it is a lovely walk in to the city with passing by the racecourse and going through the city walls.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I found the Holiday Inn York very mixed - The service, bar area and breakfast was very good but the room I had(Which was meant to be an executive room)was very disappointing.
When I booked in, the girl on the desk was welcoming and efficient and upgraded my room. When I got there I thought it looked dated the shutters on the window were novel but odd. when I went to bed at night I found the mattress needing replaced as I kept rolling in to the middle of the bed as it had a massive dip in the middle.
The service bar and breakfast were first class it is within a 20 min walk to the centre of York all it needs is some money spent upgrading the rooms and it would be a four star

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenM553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear KenM553
Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry for the disappointment you felt with your room, please be assured your comments will be fully reviewed. I was pleased to read that you had had a great breakfast and found our team to give good service.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We have visited York on 4 occasions during 2013 and always used the Holiday Inn on Tadcaster Road. The hotel suites us just fine as it is convenient for travel to the station and the Park & Ride" service.

Staff at the hotel are friendly and efficient with Veronica and George remembering us at breakfast and having a few moments for a chat! This approach always make it seem more personal that some of the other large hotel chains we have used in the past.

Again, we found the Bed Breakfast & Evening meal package to our satisfaction and good value for money. On one evening, just before Christmas the restaurant wasn't too busy, so we were seated near the bar area with live football on the television, I enquired if the screen in my vision could be turned off, as no other customers were watching and the obliged - there were plenty of other screens to look at if anyone wanted to watch the match!

Would I recommend the Holiday Inn in York? - Obviously yes based on our previous experiences at the hotel.

Would I recommend tourists visit York? - Not anymore I'm afraid. There is a controversial bridge closure scheme in progress on Lendal Bridge and visitors to York are being hit with penalty's for visiting the city. If you must go to York, try the Holiday Inn on Tadcaster Road, if you have a choice where to stay as a leisure traveller, try Stratford Upon Avon, their council are tourist friendly!

Room Tip: Try not to get a room near the ramp to the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterWTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear PeterWTaylor
Thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn York and for your continued loyalty. I will be sharing your comments with Veronica and George who will be delighted to receive a mention. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future. The Lendal Bridge closure is for a 6 month trial period, the council as yet have not made a decision as to if this will be permanent or not.

With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.2 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,150 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
1.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn York

Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £52 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn York 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn York Hotel enjoys a prime location overlooking York Race course and is just 1.5 miles from the Historic City Centre of York, which boasts the York Minster, Shopping at The Shambles, University of York and the National Railway Museum. The Hotel is 1.5 miles from York Station and is easily accessible by road from the A64 and M1.Whether you're visiting York for a meeting, leisure break, sight seeing or simply to sample the great shopping delights that the city has to offer, the Holiday Inn York Hotel offers comfortable, modern, accommodation, fully air-conditioned throughout, suitable for both the business and leisure traveller.The Holiday Inn York is well equipped for hosting business meetings, weddings and social gatherings with seven meeting rooms that can accommodate 2 to 100 guests.The facilities and services at the hotel include our Family Friendly Restaurant; with 24 hr room service wireless internet access, and ample free car parking.Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.Kids Stay and Eat Free.* Also a fabulous location for a day at York Races ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn York Hotel York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing