We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms and service”
Review of Holiday Inn York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn York
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in York
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great rooms and service”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great rooms and service. We booked two rooms on late notice and were hugely impressed that they allocated us family interconnecting rooms. The rooms were specious and comfortable. Bathrooms may need refreshing in due course as they looked a little bit worn. Good friendly service throughout and a tasty breakfast. All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear englishabdullah
I was pleased to read you had a comfortable stay and found all of our team to friendly.
Many thanks for your recommendation
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    521
    320
    105
    41
See reviews for
241
564
23
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Meopham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I have stayed here before and not reviewed but my recent visit has confirmed my views. The hotel is comfortable, staff are generally welcoming and friendly and throughout I thought it was clean. As some previous reviewers have said the bathrooms are quite small and could do with refurbishing but they are clean. The room we had (myself and two adult daughters) was spacious and warm with an added bonus of being able to open the windows for extra ventilation. The blackout curtains did their job and we found the beds/pillows comfortable; an added bonus was the soundproofing. My daughters had just returned from NYC and we arrived very late so needed to sleep in and we were able to.
The breakfast on both days was excellent with a good range of hot and cold food even right at the end of the 'sitting'. We will be returning if we need to be in York again.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms have the sun in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AV1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear AV1609
Thank you very much for your review and pleased you had a comfortable stay. I hope it will not be too long until we can welcome you back to the hotel.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in January 2014 for one night, had a room on the top floor (411 I think?) it was very spacious and clean. Was impressed with the standard of the room compared to other hotel chains. The hotel itself is great but a little far out so if your going out a taxi is a good idea. Breakfast was nice, staff were friendly, no complaints

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xslpx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear xslpx
I was pleased to read you had a comfortable stay and found our team to be friendly.
Many thanks for your review
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night in February. Bar staff were great and could not have been more helpful. Bed was comfortable but the pillows were like breeze blocks. Woke up with a very sore neck the next morning. Also the Wifi charges are extortionate. You pay less in London. At least offer it for free in the public areas. Would stay again if i had to but would bring my own pillow!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank crouchie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear crouchie85
Thank you for your review and your kind comments regarding our team. I am sorry the pillows were not to your liking. We do offer in our rooms a choice of soft and firm pillows and feather pillows are available upon request. With regard to WiFi, standard internet is free for all IHG Reward Elite Members and I am pleased to be able to inform you that from July 2014 free internet will be available for all members. IHG Rewards is a free loyalty membership.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, room was a little dated, & bathroom very small & in need of refurbishment, but overall, very clean & tidy, main bedroom was a decent size, with a sofa & proper size flat screen tv.
Staff were great, very attentive without being annoying.
Breakfast was very good, one of the best hotel breakfasts I have had.
Overall, a very enjoyable 3 day stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bobbob455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear bobbob455
It was great to read that you had one of the best hotel breakfast and had an enjoyable break. Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be used in a constructive manner.
With many thanks
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Throughout our stay, the team on reception couldn't have been more friendly and professional. They were very obliging at organising transportation to the railway station and ensuring our trip was being enjoyed.
The rooms are of a good size, very well cleaned and maintained. On a personal note I would prefer the room temperature rather less than 26 when I arrive as it takes it ages to get it cool enough to sleep.
Breakfast was very efficiently provided with the usual continental and hot buffet, but the staff were very happy to organise omelettes or poached eggs which came out of the kitchen in a timely manner.
And now the less good bits! The beds and pillow choices. We could not tell the difference between the firm and soft pillows, but neither was as soft as the bed. When I first sat on it I thought I had missed it and was heading to the floor. Unfortunately this meant that I awoke each morning with a stiff neck and shoulders.
Wifi - when will big chain hotels stop ripping guests off with Wifi charges? I refuse to pay £4 for 3 hours of internet usage. Once the infrastructure is in place it costs the hotel 2-3pence per room per night. If Park Inn can do it for free why not Holiday Inn? If the hotels/conference centres/trains in the US can do it for free, why not us?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fen_Scorpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Fen_Scorpion
Many thanks for you feedback, I was pleased to learn that you found our team to be friendly and helpful. I am very sorry our pillows and mattress were not to your liking please contact us before you next stay and we will endeavour to provide you with your preference. From July internet will be free for all our IHG Reward Members, this is our loyalty scheme which is free to join.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Checked in and out with Hayley on reception, she was great, very friendly and attentive. During our stay had spoken to Yolanda a few times, she was very helpful too.
Although very disappointed with breakfast service, as have tried to order breakfast in our room the first morning, I have been told at 9AM that as I have not pre-ordered in advance I could not get it. Knowing that this should not be the case as working for IHG, still visited the restaurant and carried my own tray up to the room.
Do I have to say we did eat in town whilst staying in York...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewtheview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Reviewtheview
Thank you for your review and your kind comments with regard to Hayley and Jolanta, please be assured I will share your comments with them as these will make a great impact upon their job satisfaction. I am sorry we were not able to offer you room service breakfast on the morning of your request. On the in room breakfast order cards it does state for orders to be placed before 1am. However we are flexible with this and do action extra orders in a timely manner, as a fellow IHG employee I am sure you can appreciate this.

With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.2 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
1.4 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
1.5 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn York

Property: Holiday Inn York
Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn York 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn York Hotel enjoys a prime location overlooking York Race course and is just 1.5 miles from the Historic City Centre of York, which boasts the York Minster, Shopping at The Shambles, University of York and the National Railway Museum. The Hotel is 1.5 miles from York Station and is easily accessible by road from the A64 and M1.Whether you're visiting York for a meeting, leisure break, sight seeing or simply to sample the great shopping delights that the city has to offer, the Holiday Inn York Hotel offers comfortable, modern, accommodation, fully air-conditioned throughout, suitable for both the business and leisure traveller.The Holiday Inn York is well equipped for hosting business meetings, weddings and social gatherings with seven meeting rooms that can accommodate 2 to 100 guests.The facilities and services at the hotel include our Family Friendly Restaurant; with 24 hr room service wireless internet access, and ample free car parking.Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.Kids Stay and Eat Free.* Also a fabulous location for a day at York Races ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn York Hotel York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing