We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money except food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Holiday Inn York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn York
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in York
gwynedd
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good value for money except food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Standard room very clean location 2 miles from York City centre taxi reasonable. Only down side was the food breakfast was good but evening meal not great something's overlooked side salad wilted food warm only but over all I enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williamterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear williamterry
Thank you for your review, your comments are appreciated and I will be discussing your findings with regard to your Dinner with our Head Chef. I am pleased you enjoyed our breakfast and your overall stay was good.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    502
    307
    99
    37
See reviews for
225
543
23
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend. Greeted very warmly and I particularly liked the tombola for IHG rewards members!
The rooms are a little dated and bathroom could do with a makeover but totally functional and very clean. Liked the crayons and colouring book on sofa for child.
Restaurant & bar was very busy on Sunday evening but the polite & friendly barman made you forget you'd been waiting!
Food was hot, fresh and tasty, very good value.
Overall a very decent stay in lovely park of the UK. Thank you ;)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Sarah H
It was great to read your review and so pleased you had an enjoyable stay. Your feedback is very warmly welcomed and will be used in a constructive manner.
Many thanks
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice rooms and a comfortable bed what more could you ask for. Lovely breakfasts and the staff are very helpful and even went to to the trouble of finding Soy milk for my wife. Plenty of parking etc etc, I would happily stay here again. We did forget to book for dinner, and a table wasn't available so we ate at the pub across the road, this was also excellent. When free internet becomes available in July this hotel will be even better value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Stewart B
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you found the hotel to be comfortable and you found our team to be friendly who accommodated your requests.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Had a lovely 2night stay.The staff were really helpful and friendly.Was really pleased with the standard of food and would defiantly stay there again.Very easy to catch the bus into York so don't have to drive in.We had our little grandaughter with us and we were given milk each morning for her bottle with no fuss.Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try it out
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forgetitok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear forgetitok
I am delighted you had a lovely stay at the Holiday Inn York and you found our team to be helpful and friendly.
Many thanks for your review.
with kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level Contributor
182 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed there twice recently, ask for the 4th floor as the rooms are better, the restaurant is excellent but you have to book when then coach parties are in, £7 in a cab to the city centre for the tourist sites and just off the racecourse, ample parking.

Room Tip: Ask for the fourth floor and a double bed as the twin rooms have beds that move around and away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevorwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear trevorwalsh
Its was great to read your review and thank you for your continued loyalty to the hotel.
Many Thanks
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Hotel getting a bit tired, bathroom in one of the rooms I stayed in was a bit cramped. Positives were that the staff were very helpful and polite and nothing was too much trouble. George at breakfast is an absolute star! Will certainly use it again next time I'm in York. Get a No. 4 bus opposite, just before the garage that will take you right to the centre for £1.60.

Room Tip: Try and get room at the front (reception side) nice and sunny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Bruce G
Thank you ever so much for your feedback your comments will be used in a constructive manner. I was delighted you found our team to me helpful and friendly, I will be sharing your comments with the whole team and I know George will be delighted to of received a mention. I hope it will not be too long until we can welcome you back to the hotel.
with kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife and son for 2 nights before baby number 2 arrives in a couple of weeks.

The rooms are spacious and beds comfortable, managed to get a cot put in the room with minimal fuss made!

The bar and restaurant are both stunning with plenty of seating and prices were not steep like many other york hotels.
The food at both evening meals was amazing and kids eat free philosophy is great! The restaurant manager and server Katie were by far the highlight of the stay making us feel welcome with our noisy little one in the restaurant!
Will definitely be back a few times this year

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alan James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Alan James M
I was delighted to read your review and so pleased you had a great stay, thank you for mentioning Katie, she is a new member of the team and was very pleased to receive such great feedback. Your comments have made a real impact on everyone's job satisfaction.
Many thanks
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
1.1 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#37 of 45 in York
1,821 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
1.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn York

Property: Holiday Inn York
Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn York 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn York Hotel enjoys a prime location overlooking York Race course and is just 1.5 miles from the Historic City Centre of York, which boasts the York Minster, Shopping at The Shambles, University of York and the National Railway Museum. The Hotel is 1.5 miles from York Station and is easily accessible by road from the A64 and M1.Whether you're visiting York for a meeting, leisure break, sight seeing or simply to sample the great shopping delights that the city has to offer, the Holiday Inn York Hotel offers comfortable, modern, accommodation, fully air-conditioned throughout, suitable for both the business and leisure traveller.The Holiday Inn York is well equipped for hosting business meetings, weddings and social gatherings with seven meeting rooms that can accommodate 2 to 100 guests.The facilities and services at the hotel include our Family Friendly Restaurant; with 24 hr room service wireless internet access, and ample free car parking.Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.Kids Stay and Eat Free.* Also a fabulous location for a day at York Races ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn York Hotel York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing