We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy Hotel”
Review of Holiday Inn York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn York
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in York
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Handy Hotel”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Visited here with my partner who works for a different holiday inn. Welcome was faultless reception staff were great. Had been allocated an upgrade which was nice. Only downside to this was that the room smelt fusty. Bathroom was small for an executive...... and the extractor fan didnt work hence the musty smell. The pillows were past their best really and could have done with being replaced. The first night was very cool and when we couldnt get the heating to work we tried the aircon but you couldnt change it to heat. We asked about the heating and was told it had been turned off because it was summer but that they would get us a heater and have it sent to the room ..... it never appeared.
Dined in the restaurant both nights and could not fault the service or the food. Breakfast was slightly disappointing as the fried eggs were totally set, the mushrooms were nearly cold and the toaat needed putting though twice to stop it looking anaemic. On the second morning we were slightly amazed to see staff topping up the fruit juices rwasy for the following morning (we ate late) and bringing out freshly prepared chopped fruit. When we asked a member of staff they said it was normal practice to do it to save time and that they covered the fruit in cling film and refrigerated it. That may be ok for the fruit but how do you know how old the fruit juice is if all you keep doing is topping it up? Surely the containers need cleaning daily?
Other than a bit of a let down on the breakfast. The room was ok for only staying a couple of nights but if Id been staying longer I would have asked to be moved to a different one.
But overall experience was good and would definately stay again and also recommend.
Just a note to future guests ...... its cheaper to drive back out to the park and ride than to get the local bus that stops outside. It saves you about £2.70 a couple.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Helen S
Thank you for your review, customer feedback forms a vital part of our business and your comments and observations are greatly appreciated, please be assured I will be discussing these with the relevant department managers.
with kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    509
    311
    100
    37
See reviews for
227
551
23
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel is situated on a main road into York but was set back from the road. Friendly staff who were also professional in carrying out their roles. Bathroom was considered on the small side.
Good buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the rear car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Peter W
Delighted you had a great stay and found is in a good location for the Race Course.
Many thanks
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

21.95GBP for two days of Wi Fi and I have a Mac Book Pro and it is impossible to upload photos to email or Facebook with the Wi Fi in the hotel, either in your room or in the lobby or bar area, what a disgrace, we have travelled all of the Uk in a month and this is the only place to charge for Wi Fi and it does not work properly. No way to treat your customers, make the Wi Fi free instead of being money hungry. Also, we went into York at 8:15am and returned at 2pm and our room still had not been serviced, we had to contact management to get room service up to do what should have been done hours earlier. That aside, the room was brilliant, spacious, great bed & comfortable good size bathroom. Bar and breakfast excellent as was the evening meal. For such a great place to charge WiFi it's a real shame, if it was a better Wi Fi and free I would have given it an excellent rating.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gladesville22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Gladesvill22
I would like to offer you my sincere apologies for the problems you experienced with our internet. Unfortunately our service provider has been experiencing technical problems which effected our hotel service. With regard to the servicing of your room, I am sorry this was not serviced for your return at 2pm, on occasions if we do have a busy departure we do prioritise these rooms to enable the rooms to be ready for our arriving guests as check-in time is from 2pm, however we are flexible and should a guest wish for their room to be serviced by a particular time we will happily oblige as we do endeavour that our guests are comfortable and their requests met at all times. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed our Bar and Restaurant service.
Many thanks for your review, your feedback is very important to us.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel so that we could have a couple of days in York for our wedding anniversary, and so glad we did. As a IHG Gold customer, this was recognised as soon as we checked in by Kelly who was so pleasant and friendly in reception. We were given an executive room which was at the end of a corridor and was just perfect. The room had all the little extras, a king size bed, fridge with complimentary chocolate and water, large LCD 40 inch screen TV, nice furnishings, and quality toiletries. Buffet Breakfast was nice, with fruit, yogurt, cereals, cooked English breakfast and coffee/tea/juices. Staff are friendly and efficient. We will return to this hotel again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisDeanCastleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear ChrisDeanCastleford
So pleased you had an enjoyable wedding anniversary and many thanks for your great feedback.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

20 of us booked into the hotel for a family reunion last weekend and paid an awful lot of money to stay there. Everything was as it should be but in retrospect it is a pretty soul-less hotel, especially in such a stunning city as York. The biggest shock of the weekend was the cost of drinks. I'd say London prices with a 30% premium were being charged in the hotel bar. My sister in law had a large glass of wine & it cost £9.00!!! Breakfast was ok, everything you could want was available so no real complaints there. My advice, if you visit York for pleasure, stay away from this hotel, there are plenty more character full hotels that don't rip off the clients with stupid drink costs. We all regret going there and won't go again. Nearly forgot..... No tea or coffee offered during breakfast, you had to ask!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Craig1967
I do hope you all had a great family reunion, I am sorry for your feelings towards the hotel, the hotel was built in 1970’s and is typical in style of buildings of that era. However within the hotel we do endeavour for our guests to be comfortable and have a pleasant, relaxing time. Our food and beverage prices are set by our head office but we do offer a wide range of wine with a choice of prices and glass sizes these range from £4.90 for a 175 ml glass of white or red wine going up to a 250ml glass of New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc at £8.90 or and intense red at £9.25. I will be sharing your comments with my Restaurant Manager as tea and coffee is served during breakfast and this should be without asking. Please be assured your comments are warmly welcomed and are being used in a constructive manner.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We spent 3 days at the Holiday Inn York. The hotel is very clean and welcoming. Please service was impeccable. There was one small blip but this was rectified immediately and with great consideration. The reception team has been simply outstanding with all their recommendations having been genuinely made and based on the experience of guests of the hotel. All the staff here are first class and the stay in York has been made all the more memorable by the stay at the Holiday Inn. The all manager and head of department services deserve a very big pat on the back. The hotel is good value for money, its location, ambience and level of service make it extremely good value. The next time we come to York, we will undoubtedly stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zuzana r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear zuzana r
I was delighted to read your review and felt very proud with regard to how you praised all of the team. Please be assured I will be sharing your comments with everyone, these will make a great impact upon their job satisfaction
Many thanks
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed over the Whitsun Bank Holiday with my son for a cycling trip. The hotel is located around 2 miles from the city centre and is a lovely 30 min walk or better still cycle ride. This gives advantage of avoiding masses emptying out of York station into nearer hotels also the pubs and clubs of Saturday night York. It is set in lovely grounds next to York racecourse. A welcoming reception area and courteous welcoming staff (particularly Hayley).

Our room was spacious and the twin beds were comfortable with a selection of pillows. I liked the toiletries replenished daily replaced when the rooms were efficiently cleaned. The room temperature controls ensured a comfortable nights sleep. I must admit I tend to use hotels mainly for getting my head down so I cannot comment on the facilities. From a critical point of view I think the bathroom could benefit from some refurbishment e.g. shower curtain/rings, some tiling, etc. A nice touch could be to provide biscuits as standard with the tea/coffee making facilities. Holiday Inn Express have microwave facilities, would be great to have that here too.

The breakfast room was airy and the selection was varied: a range of cereals; the hot selection was eggs - fried/scrambled, bacon, sausages, black pudding, hash browns, tomatoes, mushrooms, baked beans; toast/croissants/Danish; cold meats & cheese. There didn't however appear to be a choice of yoghurt? There are 'make your own' pancake facilities - a nice touch but I didn't try this.

I'd like improved cycling facilities i.e. dedicated bike shed (with cc tv) rather than 4 bike stands could also attract potential customers (cyclists using N65 cycle route).

Room Tip: I'd like to have a room facing the back looking over the York racecourse next time -more scenic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 777sirdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear 777sirdon
Many thanks for reviewing your stay, your feedback is very warmly welcomed and please be assured I will be discussing your suggestions regarding our cycling facilities further. I am delighted you had a comfortable stay and found our team to be welcoming. I will also be sharing your comments with Hayley who will be delighted to of received a mention in your review.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#37 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
1.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn York

Property: Holiday Inn York
Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn York 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn York Hotel enjoys a prime location overlooking York Race course and is just 1.5 miles from the Historic City Centre of York, which boasts the York Minster, Shopping at The Shambles, University of York and the National Railway Museum. The Hotel is 1.5 miles from York Station and is easily accessible by road from the A64 and M1.Whether you're visiting York for a meeting, leisure break, sight seeing or simply to sample the great shopping delights that the city has to offer, the Holiday Inn York Hotel offers comfortable, modern, accommodation, fully air-conditioned throughout, suitable for both the business and leisure traveller.The Holiday Inn York is well equipped for hosting business meetings, weddings and social gatherings with seven meeting rooms that can accommodate 2 to 100 guests.The facilities and services at the hotel include our Family Friendly Restaurant; with 24 hr room service wireless internet access, and ample free car parking.Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.Kids Stay and Eat Free.* Also a fabulous location for a day at York Races ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn York Hotel York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing