We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, great staff”
Review of Holiday Inn York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn York
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in York
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great staff”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay, the staff were very friendly. The room was comfortable and we slept well. The bus route to York was just outside the hotel made our trips into York very affordable. The food in the restaurant was very good though a little expensive. Breakfast was fantastic. I would stay again.

Room Tip: To get free wi fi sign up to the Holiday Inn Rewards Program that they have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bickybtrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Bickybtrains

Thank you for your excellent review of our hotel. I am delighted you were given excellent customer service and you enjoyed our restaurant facilities whilst staying at Holiday Inn York. I am glad you found our location convenient for your trips into York, and I hope you enjoyed the city and what it has to offer.
We look forward to you visiting us in the near future. I will share your nice comments with the team.

Best regards,
Andrew Price
Hotel Manager
Holiday Inn York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    509
    311
    100
    38
See reviews for
227
551
23
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

So sad to stay in this hotel! If it were clean I would have no problem with the dated decor and facilities but it was gross. Food left under the bed, apparently too big for a vacuum and too difficult for staff to bend over and pick up, and head hairs stuck to the walls of the shower when I entered. Let's not forget the mildew around the shower head either!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kmmrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Kmmrash,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I am very dissapointed that you experienced cleanliness issues whilst with us. Allow me to assure you we have daily checks in place to ensure something like this doesn't happen, however it appears it hasn't worked on this occassion.
Your feedback has been shared with the housekeeping team I have asked for a full investigation, and a review of our checking procedures.
Please accept my sincere apologies, and I hope that if you were to return to the hotel, we would be able to restore your faith in our service.

Best regards,
Andrew Price
Hotel Manager
Holiday Inn York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Bonnie Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here for 4 nights and was a bit dubious after booking. When we arrived & got into room we were a bit unsure as rooms are basic but have to say the friendly service of the staff especially the restaurant made the trip in general very good. The hotel is well used but clean and only 15 mins from York centre. My husband was disappointed we didn't stay in marriott down the road, however we are now in marriott at Gateshead and it is very not of the standards that York holiday in (review to follow) we are not deliberate complainers but do like our comfort. Will def book this holiday inn again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennyben1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Kennyben1,

Many thanks for your excellent review of our hotel. It is always our aim to ensure that our customers get a first class service experience. I am very happy that the staff feature highly in your recommendation, especially our restaurant staff and I will be sharing your comments with the team.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Andrew Price
Hotel Manager
Holiday Inn York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Usual standard of holiday inn. Clean good sized room, comfortable bed and pillow and quiet for sleeping. Aircon ad free wifi for members. Close to York city just off ring road. We drove into city centre and parked for two pounds an hour. Beautiful city with great viking museum cathedral and city walls and gates, and of course the Shambles, the mediaeval street.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docbebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Docbebar,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I am delighted you received not only the high standard of service we aim for at our hotel, but also the quality of product that our brand promises. Your comments will be shared with the staff, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn York in the future.

Best regards,

Andrew Price
Hotel Manager
Holiday Inn York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brechin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Recently stayed for two nights with wife and daughter . Typical Holiday Inn, clean and comfortable. Can't fault our room. Had one evening meal there and really enjoyed it and good value for the money. Breakfast was very good, the pancake machine fascinates us, daughter lived on them. Would stay again if returning to York.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caspdex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear caspdex
I was delighted to read you had a great break and enjoyed your evening meal and breakfast. Our pancake machine is very popular and I agree they are good.
Many thanks for your review.
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed here four nights in July 2014. I was very impressed with the overall standard of accommodation and, in articular, value for money. It was the height of the season and just before a major race meeting at York races but we were offered a 4 nights for 3 deal which made for a very competitive daily rate. The hotel is great - very clean and well maintained. It looks a bit dated in terms of architecture but it is very well maintained and presented. The staff are excellent. The rooms are average size but very well maintained with a huge bed and very nice flat screen TV. We only ate breakfast at the hotel as we were out all day until late. The breakfast was excellent - a really good variety of great quality food.

The hotel is about a mile and a half from York city walls. We walked it in about 30 mins. A bus to the town centre is about GBP 2.00 and takes 5 mins. A taxi is about GBP 7.00. The hotel is sited on a busy road (Tadcaster Road A64) but is set well back so noise is no problem.

The only downside was the very expensive wifi. I simply used my smart phone hotspot.

Overall I rate this hotel as great value for money and exceptional quality for the price range.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The wifi is very expensive - make sure you use your smart phone as a mobile hotspot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Bill W
I was delighted to read your review and so pleased you had a great break in York, your high recommendation is greatly appreciated.
Many thanks
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
162 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

It is a standard holiday inn however, location is good, parking is ample, staff helpful and polite, rooms a bit tired, bathroom could do with a refit. Room was roasting and sir con unit rubbish. Didn't have dinner here as I have never liked the food at holiday inns but breakfast was a good Buffett, eggs had seen better days and staff were a bit slow only got offered one cup of coffee couldn't get the attention of the waiting staff to get another , swift check out all in all okay - would I stay again ? Yes but it wouldn't be top of my list just good value

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephelloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear stephelloyd
I am pleased you found the hotel to be in a good location and our team friendly. Please be assured your findings with regard to breakfast will be discussed with the Chef and Catering Manager. Your feedback is very warmly welcomed.
with kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#37 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
1.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn York

Property: Holiday Inn York
Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn York 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn York Hotel enjoys a prime location overlooking York Race course and is just 1.5 miles from the Historic City Centre of York, which boasts the York Minster, Shopping at The Shambles, University of York and the National Railway Museum. The Hotel is 1.5 miles from York Station and is easily accessible by road from the A64 and M1.Whether you're visiting York for a meeting, leisure break, sight seeing or simply to sample the great shopping delights that the city has to offer, the Holiday Inn York Hotel offers comfortable, modern, accommodation, fully air-conditioned throughout, suitable for both the business and leisure traveller.The Holiday Inn York is well equipped for hosting business meetings, weddings and social gatherings with seven meeting rooms that can accommodate 2 to 100 guests.The facilities and services at the hotel include our Family Friendly Restaurant; with 24 hr room service wireless internet access, and ample free car parking.Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.Kids Stay and Eat Free.* Also a fabulous location for a day at York Races ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, IHG, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn York Hotel York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing