We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely break”
Review of Holiday Inn York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn York
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in York
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A lovely break”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just got back from the Holiday Inn today after a lovely few days with my husband and son. I booked a few months ago and only paid £146 for the 3 of us for 2 nights in an executive room with breakfast which we thought was good value. The room was clean and modern. The bathroom was small but did the job and the shower was very good. Breakfast was excellent - plenty of choice and replenished constantly. Would definitely book again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donnawat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear donnawat77,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay and provide us with some excellent feedback to share with the team. I am very happy to hear that your family stay with us at Holiday Inn York met your high expectations.

I hope whilst you were in York you managed to see the many wonderful sights the city has to offer, and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the future.

Best regards,
Andrew Price
Hotel Manager
Holiday Inn York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    510
    311
    101
    38
See reviews for
227
553
23
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a weekend visit to York. I have come to expect better from Holiday Inns. The room was tired even though we had an upgrade, the bathroom was the smallest I have ever been in, I was able to touch all walls of the bathroom from one spot, I had to squeeze between the toilet and sink to close the door. Breakfast was average, the black pudding was as hard as a hockey puck, dirty mug, and the wall of the breakfast area had stains on it. Also one of the kitchen staff barged in front of my wife to stock up the breakfast bar which was really rude. I expect better especially that we get charged more for staying on a Saturday night in the tourist hot spot of York.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llangynog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Llangynog,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, your feedback is greatly appreciated. I was very sad and disappointed to learn that your stay did not meet with the high expectaion you had of our hotel. We always aim to ensure that the guest is comfortable and well looked after, and on this occassion we fell short of that.

Whilst I will certainly share your feedback with the restaurant team about the unacceptable service you received, I would be more than happy to discuss further your stay in person, and resolve any issues that have not been dealt with to your satisfaction, with the aim to restoring your faith in our hotel. If you would like to contact me at the hotel, I look forward to speaking to you.

Best regards
Andrew Price
Hotel Manager
Holiday Inn York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

From the outside, this hotel looks a little tired/old - but the rooms are fine, albeit somewhat warm. The staff could not do enough for you, breakfast very good - liked it - not far off the A64 - easy to find. Wifi good

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear FairGB,

It gave me great satisfaction to read your great reveiw of your stay in our hotel, especially as your initial expectation of the hotel from the outside was changed once you experienced the great levels of service and comfort we aim to acheive for every guest.

Your kind words will be shared with the team, and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Andrew Price
Hotel Manager
Holiday Inn York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights , staff helpful and room good size. The hotel Looks a bit tired but clean and nothing to moan about. Great position for the racecourse, but a car journey into old city.
Very annoying internet policy, see below the ridiculous charges . Amazing that cafe now give free wifi when you buys £2 cup of coffee , but holiday inn charge when you spend £100 plus !!!
So won't be using holiday inn until they change the policy.

Please press 'Connect' to use the Internet.
Choose option
GBP 19.95 : CHARGEABLE Great Value Deal Including High Speed Internet, All Hollywood Blockbusters and All Adult Movies for 24 Hours (Noon till Noon)
GBP 3.95 : CHARGEABLE 1 hour High Speed Internet Access (Fixed Time Window From Point of Purchase)
GBP 7.95 : CHARGEABLE 4 hours High Speed Internet Access (Fixed Time Window From Point of Purchase)
GBP 12.95 : CHARGEABLE 24 hours High Speed Internet Access (Fixed Time Window From Point of Purchase)
GBP 21.95 : CHARGEABLE 2 days High Speed Internet Access (Fixed Time Window From Point of Purchase)
GBP 29.95 : CHARGEABLE 3 days High Speed Internet Access (Fixed Time Window From Point of Purchase)
GBP 49.95 : CHARGEABLE 5 days High Speed Internet Access (Fixed Time Window From Point of Purchase)
GBP 59.95 : CHARGEABLE 7 days High Speed Internet Access (Fixed Time Window From Point of Purchase)
Use of our Internet service will be charged to your account

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Phillip M,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It is only with the excellent feedback of our guests can we aim to improve the experince we give. I am very pleased to hear that you experienced our freindly professional staff at their best during your stay, and your kind words will be shared with the hotel team.

I am sorry that the Internet fees were not to liking, your feedback has been taken on board and will be reviewed again during business reviews. I do hope that you were asked if you would like to join IHG Priority Rewards Club? As a rewards club member, which is a free to join loyalty recognition programme across all IHG brands, you are entitled to a free standard internet service for the duration of your stay. If you add to this that you receive bonus points everytime you stay with one of the IHG brands the points will soon add up and can be redeemed for free stays across our estate.

I hope that you may have a change of heart about the Holiday Inn brand, as we would certainly enjoy having you return in the near future.

Best regards,
Andrew Price
Hotel Mnager
Holiday Inn York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Booked during a very busy weekend in York so our room rate was racked but we were left with very little choice. Hotel was clean and staff were friendly. We had a room overlooking the car park - and coach party's were loading luggage from 6am so sleep was a little disturbed. The pillow selection was weird as the soft and hard pillows were the same (hard). Breakfast is typical of a buffet but served our purpose. there is a large car park and bus stop right out side to the town centre which is about 10 minutes by bus/car/taxi. We got a taxi in which cost £6. Can't fault the hotel really for a convenient stop over.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Poroger

Many thanks for taking the time to feedback on your stay. I am delighted that the level of service you received was of our expected high standard. I have asked our housekeeping team to investigate your comments on the pillows in the room, to ensure that we are delivering what is expected in future.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,
Andrew Price
Hotel Manager
Holiday Inn York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very poor hotel. Small rooms, bad showers with no flow and awful food. Was a very busy weekend as there was a race meeting on at the York race course. Got upgrade as I am a platinum elite member of IHG, but still room was very poor. Will never stay there again!

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Alison C,

Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. It is only from the feedback we get from our guests can we highlight areas we can improve on. I am very disappointed and truly sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations, and that your room and restaurant experience fell well below the usual high standards we see everyday within the hotel. Your feedback will be shared with the hotel team and whilst we can't change the layout of our rooms we can review all other aspects of your stay and where improvemnets can be made. Your feedback will be used constuctively, and thank you for it.

Apologies once again.

Best regards,
Andrew Price
Hotel Manager
Holiday Inn York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Friendly staff. Breakfast and dinner provided with our tour, food was good as was service. The room was fairly big but the bathroom was quite small, toiletries and hair dryer were provided. There was adequate storage and air conditioning. The shower was somewhat confusing but my husband finally figured it out and it was fine. Our room was very clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Dianne228,

Many thanks for the great review of our hotel. I was delighted to hear that the service and food you received met your high expectations of our hotel, your kind words will be shared with the team. I am sorry that there was confusion towards the shower in your room and I hope it did not impact too much on your stay.

I hope that your visit to York was enjoyable, and we look forward to welcoming you back should you return in future.

Best regards,
Andrew Price
Hotel Manager
Holiday Inn York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
1.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn York

Property: Holiday Inn York
Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn York 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn York Hotel enjoys a prime location overlooking York Race course and is just 1.5 miles from the Historic City Centre of York, which boasts the York Minster, Shopping at The Shambles, University of York and the National Railway Museum. The Hotel is 1.5 miles from York Station and is easily accessible by road from the A64 and M1.Whether you're visiting York for a meeting, leisure break, sight seeing or simply to sample the great shopping delights that the city has to offer, the Holiday Inn York Hotel offers comfortable, modern, accommodation, fully air-conditioned throughout, suitable for both the business and leisure traveller.The Holiday Inn York is well equipped for hosting business meetings, weddings and social gatherings with seven meeting rooms that can accommodate 2 to 100 guests.The facilities and services at the hotel include our Family Friendly Restaurant; with 24 hr room service wireless internet access, and ample free car parking.Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.Kids Stay and Eat Free.* Also a fabulous location for a day at York Races ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn York Hotel York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing