We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Holiday Inn”
Review of Holiday Inn York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn York
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The space and the facilities of the room where above average for the price, the wifi connection was free of charge as an IHG member but was slow, the breakfast was above average and it was
worth the 10 GBP asked if you book it the previous day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the top floor with a view at the race course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alefrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear alefrag
Many thanks for your review, I was delighted that you had a great stay.
with kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

718 - 724 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

Visiting York for 2 days we spent 1 night here. The hotel is modern in it's decor and offers a place of calm in a busy world. Bar prices are consistent with pub prices. We didn't eat in the restaurant or have breakfast as we find these hotels offer poor value for money.
The room we were assigned was an Executive Room. As an IHG Reward Club Member of Platinum standing this was an upgrade from the room booked. The room has a few extras and a fridge is a very welcome extra. The downside is the bathroom; it's tiny.The window shutters are wooden. This is an excellent idea as the room is very dark once closed and the morning sun doesn't bother you.
One major advantage is that this hotel is within a 5 minute drive, or 20 minute walk, of the Park and Ride for York.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fatmanpauluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear fatmanpauluk
Great to hear you had a comfortable stay and you found the hotel to be in a good location with easy access to the City.
Many thanks for your review
Douglas Winfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Modern, busy, internet is free if you sign up but tbh I couldn't hook up anywhere in the hotel I went to which was mainly bar, restaurant and room. So I used my 3G data allowance instead. This is not the only hotel with this issue, most have the same problem. We stopped here for a week due to working in the area and yes I'd return I think. Breakfast was good with plenty of fruit and cereals etc with a cooked breakfast if you want it though it could do with being a bit hotter. Housekeeping wasn't 100% what with dirty overflow to basin but I'm being a bit picky I suppose. Dinner wasn't so good,I had a pork dinner with what was supposed to be an apple chutney but in reality was apple sauce. So we ended going to the pub over the road and from what the staff there were saying I suspect they get a lot of trade from the hotel who wanted something different, cheaper and bigger portions. All in all no real complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bertthefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear bertthefish
Thank you for the feedback you provided following your stay at the Holiday Inn York, your comments are important to us and will be fully reviewed with the hotel team. I was pleased to read you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the variety of foods we had to offer for breakfast.
with kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

The room was perfectly satisfactory except that there was no toilet paper when I first arrived, and the housekeeping didn't speak enough English for them to understand my request.

I signed up for their rewards programme to get complimentary "high speed" internet but it didn't go through for an unknown reason and they had to keep printing off vouchers. The internet was REALLY slow. Like, dial-up slow. Especially in the evenings.

Breakfast food was really basic and limited, especially given the price.

Otherwise I had a comfortable stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Oliver C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Oliver C
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you had a comfortable stay with us at the Holiday Inn York, your feedback is very much appreciated and will be used in a constructive manner.
with kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Firts time to york and stayed for two days in Holiday Inn. Room 120 was spot on clean and a good viwe over the gardens, Staff ware good at reception and give us iformation on sites to see and parking. Breakfast was very good clad we booked it we also had a evening meal in the resturant very good. Only downside was the price of the drinks a pint and vodca and coke £9.00 only £6. in the pub over the road. Would return to this hotel again

Room Tip: Ask for room looking over garden area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank greentrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear greentrip
Many thanks for your review and I am so pleased you had a great stay. I hope it will not be too long until we can welcome you back to the hotel.
with Kind Regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Check in, staff, breakfast all fine; however rooms are very disappointing... Jaded decor, paper thin walls, bathrooms not big enough to swing a cat in let alone anything else. Not the worst hotel I have stayed in but as a regular holiday inn user it was not up to scratch

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank oxfordquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear oxfordquin
Many thanks for your review, I am sorry we did not meet your expectations, your feedback is very warmly welcomed and will be used in a constructive manner.
with Kind Regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

It was so nice to have a bright, fresh room at the York Holiday Inn. We were traveling with a Globus tour so dinner was planned for us the evening of arrival: so nice! Breakfast the next morning was lovely! We came in tired and hot from touring, yet we were rested and comfortable at departure thanks to your cool and comforts ble accommodations!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrcabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Carrcabin
I do hope you enjoyed your tour of the UK. I was pleased to hear the Holiday Inn York was able to make you feel calm and relaxed during your busy schedule.
Many thanks for your review.
Douglas Winfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.2 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,139 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn York

Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £57 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn York 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn York Hotel enjoys a prime location overlooking York Race course and is just 1.5 miles from the Historic City Centre of York, which boasts the York Minster, Shopping at The Shambles, University of York and the National Railway Museum. The Hotel is 1.5 miles from York Station and is easily accessible by road from the A64 and M1.Whether you're visiting York for a meeting, leisure break, sight seeing or simply to sample the great shopping delights that the city has to offer, the Holiday Inn York Hotel offers comfortable, modern, accommodation, fully air-conditioned throughout, suitable for both the business and leisure traveller.The Holiday Inn York is well equipped for hosting business meetings, weddings and social gatherings with seven meeting rooms that can accommodate 2 to 100 guests.The facilities and services at the hotel include our Family Friendly Restaurant; with 24 hr room service wireless internet access, and ample free car parking.Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.Kids Stay and Eat Free.* Also a fabulous location for a day at York Races ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn York Hotel York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing