We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“playing a game”
Review of Holiday Inn York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn York
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 31 August 2010

we go away with group trips normally and was a bit dissapointed with the food and rooms given to the group, felt like second class citizens . this time we traveled on our own so booked a executive room that included breakfast dinner complementery water and chocolate all in , the room was very clean and bright aircon worked well there was lots of towls,two bathrobes and toiletries, the bed was enormous with six pillows, two bottles of water but only one chunky kitkat per day . breakfast was good if you want full english but danish pastry/croissants were cold no coffee offered on the first day, didn't leave us alone the second day hovering with the pot of coffee. dinner was a disapointment allthough the portions were big, the cod chips and peas were dried up could not eat it. first day hot breaded brie was loverly and melting with sweet onion chutney, second day because it was so nice had it again but this time two uncooked wedges plonked on plate , first day large portion of sweet second day very small portion, two different prices for same drinks on both days, good service one day had to wait a long time second day, it was as if a game was being played out by the serving staff . we did enjoy our stay and loved york city but it looks like paying extra does not get you better food or service.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenniy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,292 - 1,298 of 1,417 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2010

This was a pure case of needing a bed for the night after a hectic retirement drinking session around the hostelries of the great city of York. To be honest I wanted a bed and not much more. On arrival the staff were very pleasant and promptly ordered me a taxi to the city centre. About £5 fare so quite reasonable. After the party I went to my room for the first time and at that point was not bothered what condition it was in as long as there was a bed! I found the bed extremely comfortable with choice of pillows and I had agreat nights sleep assisted by a modest amount of alcohol in my system. As is par for the course I found myself awake not long after the crack of dawn and my thirst was unquenchable. The tea and coffee basket got some stick and I rehydrated myself suitably over three hours or more. At this time I copuld appreciate my surroundings a little better and I have to say I was impressed at the standard of the room. I have paid much much more for hotels which could not hold a candle to this one. Very satisfied and a bit impressed. I would certainly consider this hotel for a weekend in this great city. I can not comment on amy other facilities as I was strictly room only but I imagine it is no different to all hotels with grand prices at the bar and small hiccups here and there which prompt those niggle pickers to mark it down. Trust me this was a pleasant experience which I would gladly expand upon when next I visit York.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkplatypus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

The holiday Inn is a pleasant 20 min walk into York and just off a main road into York making it a suprisingly quiet location. We had a room at the back overlooking a large car park which was even quieter. Noting the size of the hotel other guests were well behaved and one could get a good night sleep. The hotel may have had a refit as we found it comfortable and modern with good eating and drinking facilities. The staff including reception, cleaning, bar and breakfast staff are excellent (George especially). Breakfast is a buffet style with plenty of choice.
There is a really good pub opposite with real ale and good food and excellent bus services into town at about £3.70 a day-taxi about £6 each way. Bus recommended though as very regular and efficient. This is a well run busy holiday inn. The location is fine and nothing to worry about, rooms are spacious and overall a safe bet. York itself is a special city with plenty to do as couples or family's. We had a meal on a friday at ate o clock. Small restaurant with great singer in the background (on Friday's)-well worth a booking as food was also good. Loads to see and do and some nice old pubs to settle into at night if not too tired.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celtica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

good base,room clean,staff friendly,,internet 15 pound for 24hrs,,very extortionatn!!! breakfast cheap sausage,,rest was ok,,as we booked on internet and payed cheaoer than other guests, we seemed to get a different dinner choice,which i have never had before in other hotels we have stayed in,,was ok,,but the mash was packet,,uuk!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kharvey63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Stayed at this hotel many times, it's a great location for the races, as you can walk across to the course. The rooms are clean, small bathrooms but functional. The sheets and towels tend to smell very strong of starch or detergent? and the bed was a tad on the hard side but other than that we always have a very nice stay. Try the Fox and Roman pub across the road, and Tesco a little bit further down do a great mega cheap breakfast!York is a wonderful place to visit what ever your taste.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelinaWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We booked this hotel as a base for our 3 day exploration trip to York and would definitely recommend it. It is situated on the main Tadcaster Road which leads right into the city itself. If walking, it takes around 25 mins to 30 mins at a slow pace - if you dont fancy walking, the hotel will happily call a taxi for you and this costs just £6.00 into the city - or if you fancy taking a bus, there are many bus stops en route and a family all day ticket cost us £7.40. The bus will drop you off right outside the train station where you can either walk the few steps to the city walls or you can even join one of the open top 'Red' city sightseeing bus tours. These are great value and you can hop off and on all day for £18.00 for a family - great fun for the kids as you get ear phones to wear to listen to music and the commentary - the earphones are brand new and come wrapped in their packaging I hasten to add!!!

We were glad we didnt stay in the city centre as it was very busy early evening into the night with hen and stag parties walking around - which is fine if you dont have young children to witness the goings on!!

We ate in the hotel for the first night and the food was lovely - service excellent and the staff cannot do enough for you.

The rooms are typical of a Holiday Inn - double bed with the 'pillow choices' of soft or firm - a sofa bed (which isnt too comfy but okay for 2 nights). The bathroom was a tad on the small side, but as we didnt go to York to stay in the bathroom, it served its purpose! The room was clean & well equipped with tea & coffee.

The hotel lobby& restaurant / bar area is lovely - cant understand why people say outdated - it is very modern and trendy - lovely stone floor with contemporary lighting & decor??? It may have been decorated since the previous reviews - who knows!!

There is plenty of onsite parking and we didnt have to use the car at all.

If you fancy a walk, you can wander on to the race course as there are a couple of turnstiles leading off the main road onto the grounds.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again when we go back to York.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BurdettMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

I stayed here after a conference. I didn't pay for the room myself so I cannot comment on value for money. The room was basic but adequate. I was disappointed that a conference hotel only offered VERY expensive internet in the rooms.

I had dinner and breakfast at the hotel. Both were fine but I was a little disappointed by the vegetarian meal offered.

If I was booking a conference I would only choose this hotel if no others in York offered free internet!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ws26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
1.5 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn York

Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £57 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn York 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn York Hotel enjoys a prime location overlooking York Race course and is just 1.5 miles from the Historic City Centre of York, which boasts the York Minster, Shopping at The Shambles, University of York and the National Railway Museum. The Hotel is 1.5 miles from York Station and is easily accessible by road from the A64 and M1.Whether you're visiting York for a meeting, leisure break, sight seeing or simply to sample the great shopping delights that the city has to offer, the Holiday Inn York Hotel offers comfortable, modern, accommodation, fully air-conditioned throughout, suitable for both the business and leisure traveller.The Holiday Inn York is well equipped for hosting business meetings, weddings and social gatherings with seven meeting rooms that can accommodate 2 to 100 guests.The facilities and services at the hotel include our Family Friendly Restaurant; with 24 hr room service wireless internet access, and ample free car parking.Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.Kids Stay and Eat Free.* Also a fabulous location for a day at York Races ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn York Hotel York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing