We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Purely for sport and men!”
Review of Loop Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Loop Bar & Restaurant
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: New Loop is officially opened!! We serve excellent DRINKS and FINE DINNING!!!
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Purely for sport and men!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Went to loop before a meal at a restaurant next door and has certainly changed from the grill it once was. Very focused on sport, men, loud music and drunks in the corner. Fine and cheap for a quick drink but wouldn't want to stay any longer than that.

Helpful?
1 Thank Born_yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    8
    4
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sports bar that doesn't show sport”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Walked in on Thursday night with 2 friends. We planned to spend the full night there buying food and drink. Bar was totally empty at 7pm. Asked if they were showing the rugby(big league match). The barman explained he couldn't figure out how to work the channels or something, so they wouldn't be showing anything. We left the "sports bar" to get food elsewhere and went to the woolpack just up the road after. To get to the Woolpack we walked past the still empty bar. Then when we left the Woolpack at 10:30ish the Loop was closed, whereas the Woolpack had 20-30 people in it. We spent £80-100 between us all, but obviously the empty "sports bar" didn't need this money to pay the staff to do nothing at the bar.

I'm guessing this will be another Tesco express in a few months.
.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nelson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Rubbish”
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Phoned the bar the night before and asked if they were showing the rugby early the following morning. Was assured that they would be open, that food would be available, not a problem. I turned up at 1000 waiting for the bar to open and nothing, rang the bar 5-6 times but no answer.

Eventually realised at 1030 they weren't going to open. So had to run around trying to find a bar actually showing the lions. Found The Terrace bar who were helpful, friendly and most importantly open.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do not go if you need to be anyway on time!!”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I visited Loop on 29th May 2013 before going to see Sean Lock, I was with a party of 7.
We had booked a table for 18:30 and ordered our food between 18:40 and 18:45. It took over an hour for our food to be served which meant we missed the first part of the show and was lucky to be let in the theatre.

We asked several times how long our food was going to be, however we were met with disinterest and a casual 5 minutes. Others in the restaurant were given their food before us and they ordered after we did.

We did complain at the end and no refund was offered only a couple of free drinks which were no use to a group that had to be at the Barbican by 20:00

All in all I had a bad experience of both customer service and food quality at the Loop and wouldnt recomend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smudge-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Avoid this place at all costs, waited an hour for terrible food, expensive, shockingly rude staff, call themselves a sports bar, screens lose signal every five minutes, too far out of town, full of the cities low life's, just avoid, awful awful. Awful

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Trooper1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loop Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Strensall, York
Long Marston, York
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing