We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, Service With A Smile”
Review of Pret a Manger

Pret a Manger
Ranked #449 of 870 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: Cafe, Fast food, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Service With A Smile”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Lovely food at a very good value for money. Personally I am a customer of Pret a Manger and I eat there at whatever location it is in.

This store a friendly high spirit atmosphere. The shop itself is very good with its indoor and outdoor seating and is very spacious. Overall the shop is very good alike all the other Pret a Manger stores that I have been to.

I would definitely recommend and will go there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    28
    15
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Always the same high standard of food and service every time we eat and which ever branch we eat at.”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Lovely food, freshly prepared & as I'm lactose intolerant they will always prepare me something other than off the shelf and high quality ingredients. For us perhaps the best sandwiches you can buy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn
Level Contributor
151 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good for a snack”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Sandwiches and toasties are excellent, Not sophisticated service or atmosphere but if you want a bite and a good cup of liquid refreshment then Pret is always OK. York was no better or worse than others I have visited.

But it was busy and there were no seats upstairs or down so we had to sit at the outside tablrs where it was very windy and a bit on the cool side. But I cannot blame the café for that,

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank puttingitright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My husband and I visited York on bank holiday Monday. When we arrived we went in pret a manger for a coffee and Danish before walking round York. I ordered and was asked for six pounds forty gave ten pounds then realised I had seven pounds in change so offered this, after much discussion with another member of staff, he could not work out that he would only have to give me sixty pence change so asked for the ten pounds back because the till had worked the change out. When I sat down with my coffee(black americano)it was very weak so I went back and asked for an espresso to be added to it they didn't know how to do it and refused to admit that the coffee was not strong enough so she made me another it was disgusting. They no longer use a barristo but a bean to cup which must be set very low probably to make more money so if you visit York there is other coffee houses use them.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“disappointing experience at Designer Outlet Pre a Manger”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We ordered two sandwiches and two drinks to eat in. No plates provided so you have to balance the sandwich in its wrapper or in a serviette on the tray . Tea came in a cup, charged at higher rate for sitting inside, my coffee came in a paper cup but was charged at the "inside" rate (30 p more). I asked if I could have a proper cup as I was sitting inside to be told that my coffee would not fill one of the cups so it was served in a paper cup!!!!! What a load of rubbish, just fill the cup up as you are charging the same rate for all coffees. Suggest if you go here , eat ouside in the foyer , you will save some money as eating inside is just like eating outside - just that you pay more. The staff just cannot be bothered with quality.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jays121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pret a Manger also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Pret a Manger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing