We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful setting and cottage, very warm welcome.”
other travellers have booked this property
Ferry Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ferry Lounge
3 Bedroom Private Garden The Stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
46 reviews
Ferry Lounge
3 Bedroom Private Garden
The Stove
Courtyard Garden
Master Bedroom
3 Bedroom Cottages
Open lounge and dining area
River Ouse at Acaster Malbis
York Minster
York Minster at night
The shambles in York
Christmas in York
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mimi S
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful setting and cottage, very warm welcome.”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I visited Chestnut farm for a short break with my sisters, the welcome we received was first class as was the cottage and the site, I can't recommend it enough.
The setting and location is fantastic, just 3 miles from York.
We had a lovely break and will definitely return again, Cowper cottage was immaculate as was the rest of the site.

A true hidden gem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm welcome and comfortable clean cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina...
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very friendly welcome, lovely cottage”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

It was well equipped and comfortable, and nicely furnished. Alison who welcomed us was lovely, so friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The only issue was that it wasn't quite pristinely clean! Just a few crumbs on shelves and a dirty mattress protector, so nothing major and in the middle of a busy season so probably just overlooked.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How comfortable and well furnished it was
Liked least: That there was no play area for children nearby.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redsandy1...
Heswall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Quite Accomodation - perfect place for exploring York & surrounding area!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We've just returned from a 6 night stay in Chestnut Farm's Cowper Cottage and we can't recommend our experience high enough! I had spent weeks looking for hotel or an apartment in York when I stumbled across the Chestnut Farm website. Making an enquiry via the TripAdvisor website was easy enough & I made quite a number of other cottage enquiries in the York area but Jacob at Chestnut Farm got back to me so quickly and with information on activities for families in the area that we decided on Chestnut Farm. Located 3 miles outside York its a beautiful quite location, but only 2 minutes from the park and ride, so easy to get into York ( 8 minutes on bus).

Cowper Cottage was lovely and had all the facilities we needed. All the cottages are fairly modern converted farm buildings in keeping with the rural charm, the cottage was clean and beautifully presented. The owners Alison and Steve (and family) are so kind and friendly and are about the loveliest people you could hope to meet. The whole site is beautifully maintained and tidy with beautiful arrays of colourful flowers planted and mature hedges to provide privacy. The owners put so much time and effort in caring for the whole site, the cottages and caravan pitches. The site laundry area is cleaned daily and easily accessible to all with an iron & ironing board also available to use. We visited the local pub The Ship on the banks of the river Ouse and really enjoyed the relaxed family friendly atmosphere there- as well as a delicious meal! We also tried geocaching in the local area but our iphone's suffered with poor signal reception around the fields so we lost the GPS reception but we enjoyed the local walks instead.

Alison informed us about York City Council's free Hologram iPad/iPhone/Android app and we downloaded the app for free in the city via York's free WiFi areas. We had great fun using the app around the city and the interactive holograms are great fun!
Great place & we would love to visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!
Liked least: Poor phone reception & no internet access - although this could be a bonus for some people and maybe just be our phone providers coverage
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorbertTh...
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a gorgeous hidden gem”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had the pleasure of staying in one of Chestnut Farm's cottages last week. We stayed in the 'Darling' cottage, having booked very late. All of the cottages (we had a tour of all of them on changeover day), converted from old barns, are beautiful and have all the charm of an old rural cottage. You'd never know they were a conversion at all. Beautifully furnished, with everything provided. Fully double glazed and oh so peaceful. Well appointed kitchen and bathroom, with a great shower and non stop hot water.
Alison and Steve (and family) give you the warmest Yorkshire welcome, and are about the nicest people you could meet. The site is quiet and beautifully maintained with an abundance of flowers and well cut hedges to provide privacy and colour.
The site is set on the banks of the River Ouse with weekend (and summer Thursday) York Boat trips into York (around an hour). Tiny downside on that is that the boats do not take cards so make sure you have enough cash. The local pub, The Ship Inn, is apparently under recently new ownership. We had an excellent and hearty meal in there, served by lovely friendly staff. We also ate at the Marcia in nearly Bishopthorpe, again a wonderful meal.
Chestnut Farm is only a couple of miles from Askham Bar, Park & Ride (as well as a huge Tesco), which gets you into York for around £5.00 for three with free parking.
If you are looking for a huge childrens play area and swimming pools and noisy bars, then Chestnut Farm is not it. What Chestnut Farm provides is an immaculate, friendly and quiet base, from which to explore beautiful York and Yorkshire. We will most definitely return, probably again and again. We cannot fault the location or the owners. Thank you Steve and Alison for making us so welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely cottage
Liked least: nothing to fault
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie L
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What an unexpected gem”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

the cottage that we stayed in at Chestnut Farm near York was just ideal for a family break, well maintained, clean and tidy with all the facilities required, including your own back garden with seats and a BBQ. These cottages were adjacent to a holiday park right on the river Ouse, the site was fabulously kept and the owners were a dream, you can tell they have done this for a very long time, lovely walks along the river and a pub close by for a wee bar supper or a drink overlooking the river. Location was ideal, 2 villages close by (1 - 2 miles), with tesco a little further, and a park and ride that took you straight into York in about 10 mins. Easy access to the a64 which took us to a lot of the nearby attractions, we would definitely stay here again particularly as we feel that we have only scratched the surface of what York can offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendliness of the owners
Liked least: Can't think of anything that I didn't like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2013
It was a pleasure to meet you, and we're very pleased you enjoyed your time here, (and yes - we have been doing this a very long time!!). Hopefully we will see you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beer-0-cl...
Hertford
2 reviews
“What a Find!”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Was going to a friends wedding in Copmanthorpe, just south of York, and wanted to stay somewhere that was only a short taxi ride from the venue. Imagine my utter joy then when I found this little treasure using Google earth!
Looked up their web-site and was all ready to rent a caravan when I saw that they also had 6 self-catering cottages - the largest being for 6 people.
We have stayed in many holiday cottages over the years, all found on the usual well known and trusted sites - but this has got to be one of the best.
Spotlessly clean, very comfortable and well equipped - right down to dishwasher tablets for a dishwasher that I didn't even know was going to be there, (if you are a woman, you will know how happy I was about that!)
The location was excellent, The Ship Inn pub is a 5 minute walk and serves really good food, and the surrounding area was beautiful for a walk along the River Ouse - not to mention York Designer Village which was a 10 minute drive. We didn't make it into York itself as that was not the purpose of our stay - but I would recommend you to stay here in a heart beat if you didn't want to stay in the city centre.
I'm almost scared to say what value for money it was to stay here as the owners may put their prices up - but do the comparisons yourself and you decide.
Lastly, I would just like to thank the owners, Steve, who made us feel very welcome when we arrived, and Alison, whom sadly I did not meet, but who sounded Iovely when I spoke to her on the phone and by e-mail, and made our booking effortless.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: That we weren't staying longer ;0)
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2013
Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay for the wedding and many thanks for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future when we hope you will have more time to explore York.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Rudham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, especially location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Apr 2013
Many thanks for your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you at Chestnut Farm again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing