We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location everything you need for a trip...”
other travellers have booked this property
Ferry Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ferry Lounge
3 Bedroom Private Garden The Stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
45 reviews
Ferry Lounge
3 Bedroom Private Garden
The Stove
Courtyard Garden
Master Bedroom
3 Bedroom Cottages
Open lounge and dining area
River Ouse at Acaster Malbis
York Minster
York Minster at night
The shambles in York
Christmas in York
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
avgwallac...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage we stayed at was one of the smaller ones and was nicely presented. As many others have mentioned the location is very close to the centre of York, the Park and Ride, and a large Tesco's (within 5-10 min drive). The site is quiet and you can find a good local pub (The Ship) within walking distance. For us we were disappointed at the fact that we were asked to bring our own towels for the holiday as these were not provided and also, the little finishing touches were lacking (no tea bags, coffee, on arrival or sugar, salt, pepper,...) that have always been present at other cottages that we have stayed at. The kitchen is also equipped with the bare minimum which was sometimes a struggle to cook for the family. And, whilst the owners were lovely to chat to, when we saw them at the end of the holiday, they did not ask us if we had enjoyed our stay which is unusual and a shame as we did not feel that the stay was as good as it could have been. None of these issues ruin the holiday or the property location but the overall experience could do with paying a little more attention to detail.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Finishing touches
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanMR60
Hounslow
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent location everything you need for a trip to York”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Have stayed at Chestnut Farm several times, Once in a caravan, then have stayed in Cowper cottage, a few times in Ferry cottage, and our last stay in Pinfold. Everytime our stay as been wonderful, the cottages are well equipped with everything you need. Alison and her husband are lovely hosts, and nothing too much trouble for them. We went with friends who for their first visit fell in love with the place, so looks like we will be back again next year. I have a lot of family in York, so it is a lovely place to stay whenever we come to visit. Very close to park and ride, so getting into York is so easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gartmoreg...
Stirling
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm & Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Received a warm welcome from the owners on arrival and they gave every assistance in recommending golf courses in the surrounding area.

Pinfold Cottage is warm and cosy, and we enjoyed our stay. However prior to our visit we had no experience of rustic barn conversions and entirely unaware of just how noisy wooden floorboards in these conversions could be and despite very comfortable mattresses every turn caused the upper bedroom floor and wooden bedsteads to creak loudly.

We would certainly recommend Pinfold Cottage to Families - just not to our Senior Citizen friends.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shooter20...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous chill zone!”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely lovely time at Pinfold cottage. Very welcoming owners who were lovely and funny. Three friends coming for a chilling time - we loved it so much we even left the York nightlife early as we preferred to relax in the cottage. Lovely quiet site, nice river walk and good nearby pub.
Definitely a place to come back to be with it with kids and hubby or 'the girls'

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Steve and Alison
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2014
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Look forward to seeing you all again in the near future.
Regards, All at Chestnut Farm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren B
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ideal Location”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Arrived on the Saturday, a little earlier than checking in time, which was no problem with Alison, who was friendly and welcoming. We were shown to our caravan, which was spacious and clean. The site was very clean and quiet, and set in an ideal location for the duration of our stay. The "park and ride" bus service is an excellent way to get into York and much cheaper than actually parking in York City centre. Enjoyed staying at the park very much, and would have no hesitation in going back should we visit the area in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LlottieD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the nicest cottages we've ever stayed in.”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a wonderfully relaxing week at Chestnut Farm last month in Ings Cottage. Two adults, two children plus Grannie enjoyed the quaint and spaciously comfortable cottage. The location couldn't be better, very quiet and peaceful and perfectly located for walks along the Ouse and trips into York. Alison and family were warm and welcoming and we look forward to returning soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open plan living kitchen with very comfortable sofas
Liked least: Mattress could be more comfortable.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebloome...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Ingleton Cottage for a week. It was lovely. Great location on outskirts of York. The cottage was rustic and perfect. Highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments.We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in York and look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the near future.
From all at Chestnut Farm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;