We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't advise!”
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ship Inn
Ranked #105 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wouldn't advise!”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We went here for drinks and a 2 course meal for 2 people, it was part of a groupon offer.

With the voucher it cost £24 and it was worth just that.
Without the voucher it would of cost £42 and I would of been extremely unhappy.

The venue is in a beautiful place, the pub is clean but the atmosphere, staff and chefs are very poor.

I'm pleased we had a voucher but it somewhere I wil not be returning and would not recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Thejudge32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshipinn_manager, Public Relations Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thejudge32,
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit to The Ship Inn. We do generally recieve positive feedback with regards to the meals we serve, so we hope that this is an isolated incident.
We really do value your feedback and we will be addressing the issues that you have raised, with our staff to ensure that any necessary improvements are implemented.
We do hope that you will return to The Ship Inn and give us the opportunity to provide you with our usual high standard of food and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    18
    6
    3
    11
See reviews for
24
23
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

What a surprise. Now I can only comment on the Steak and Ale pie but if I call again I will be ordering it.

It was excellent.

I stayed the night and the room was comfortable and perfectly adequate for my needs at a very fair price.

(no relation and only been once).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyberstitch007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshipinn_manager, Public Relations Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at The Ship Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back here, hopefully you can try some more of our fantastic menu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We stayed for three nights including New Years Eve and had a really enjoyable time.

A really nice pub, the staff and locals were very friendly and made us feel welcome. Room was nice. Breakfast was lovely and the evening meals very good.

We will definitely visit again!

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshipinn_manager, Public Relations Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Apologies for the late response, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed celebrating the New Year with us. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Booked for 2 nights prior to the flooding in Sept 2012, cancelled within the agreed timeframe, which meant no Cancellation Fee. Hotel then charged us for both nights - and we hadn't even stayed there !! This, despite that fact that the hotel HAD to close as it was under 4foot of water due to the flooding, so we couldn't have stayed there even IF we had wanted to.
Despite many requests, after 8 weeks of waiting for a Refund (which was MY money, by the way), the Credit Card company stepped in and gave us a full refund.
We cannot have been the only people to be treated in this way - was the hotel taking money from us to pay for the refurbishment ?? Either way, the management are totally insincere and unscrupulous, what they did was unethical, not to mention Illegal; so unless you want to be charged for not even staying there, we suggest that you AVOID AT ALL COSTS !! At this rate, the hotel will be out of business before the end of 2012.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpiritSeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I hate complaining and have never wrote a review before but this visit was just horrible! We paid £50 for Bed and Breakfast, prior to going we looked on line at the food menu and it seemed to be nice food so we arranged to arrive early in order to have some lunch in the bar before getting ready to attend the wedding we were going to. When we arrived we checked in and the girl said 'do you know the kitchen is closed, we werent be serving any food at all including breakfast' so not only had we arrived early to have lunch but we wouldnt be getting the breakfast we had paid for either.When we got to our room, room 3 it was ok but nothing like the pictures online. The room was freezing and the bathroom was dirty. My partner turned on the Tv as he had planned to watch the rugby on BBC however the tv's did not work. He then attempted to get a shower however the shower door did not shut therefore water went everywhere.

After contemplating going and staying somewhere else we decided that as we would be at the wedding it was only a bed and we would make do.

After a great night out we returned at midnight to find ourselves LOCKED OUT! It was freezing cold, Pitch black, not a person in sight. I was scared and cold and my partner was worried as we were in the middle of nowhere and could not get in to the B&B. We knocked on all the doors and windows front and back, we even went to the cottage attached where the door was open, we let ourselves in and were shouting hello but nobody came. If we would have had our car keys we would have slept in the car however our car keys were in the room. We saw lights on upstairs but after kncoking and shouting nobody came. We were ringing the number for the Ship inn hoping someone would answer however the phone kept being hung up. After over an hour a gentleman from upstairs who had heard us knocking came down and unlocked the door. By this point we were fumning and freezing! it took us ages to get warm and get to sleep.

When we woke in the morning as there were no breakfast we wanted to leave straight away. We went downstairs to check out yet there was nobody around. we left our keys on the bar and left.

HORRIBLE! Spoilt our weekend.

Room Tip: Choose a different B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Amazing food and hospitality, fed the ducks too! Granny really enjoyed her 90th party.The children were happy to potter around in the beer garden. Well done to Mark and barstaff for a very enjoyable afternoon

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The double room we got had a 4 poster bed which was very comfy, room was spacious and clean with views of the boats on the river, loveley toiletries and fluffy white towels, plenty of tea/coffee. The evening meal was very tasty with large portions, and the staff were so happy to help. Breakfast was plentiful and very tasty (slight niggle was that there were no fresh juice- hadnt had the delivery yet- but gave me a britvic 55 and that we couldn't get a good picture on the tv ) Lovely beer and gardens. We are planning to go back soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Machaella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York
2.8 mi away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Escrick
965 reviews
1.7 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
1.9 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#141 of 192 in York
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Naburn Lock Caravan Park
3.2 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
137 reviews
3.1 mi away
Black Bull Inn
Black Bull Inn
#1 of 2 in Escrick
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Property: The Ship Inn
Address: Moor End | Acaster Malbis, York YO23 2UH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modernised riverside public house with 6 en suite bedrooms. All food is cooked on the premises, using local suppliers for our meat, fish, fruit and vegetables. Recently awarded top marks by Cask Marque for our Yorkshire ales. 2 Function rooms available for business meetings, parties, weddings, christenings and funeral wakes. Large garden overlooking the river Ouse. Large car park and mooring available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing