We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At last, half decent burger buns”
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ship Inn
Ranked #120 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I have reviewed The Ship twice this year already, the first time fall apart burger buns spoiled the meal and the second time the same poor burger buns and very small portions of high priced dessert spoiled the meal, why choose burgers you may ask, well the menu isn't that appealing.
We were in York today with two of the grandchildren and after walking the walls we set off for the battlefield at Towton. Because we were only a stones through from The Ship we decided to lunch there. Once again the un-inspiring menu meant it was three burgers but my wife went for a jacket with added prawns and an added salad.
I am pleased to say that the burger buns were a vast improvement on previous offerings, just waiting for an imaginative menu now that will justify the cost.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Lykewakewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Felt I had to write a review after reading others before we visited The Ship Inn. We were made extremely welcome on entering the pub and throughout all of our stay. Would have no hesitation in recommending and also in returning. The food we had was excellent, the room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable but it was the staff that impressed us so much. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Definitely worth a visit. We will return! Thanks again to all at The Ship Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We used to come to The Ship Inn regularly up until a year or so ago when we moved. When visiting family recently we were excited to return. Unfortunately when we arrived we barely recognised the pub, the atmosphere was completely changed (not for the better)...it was cramped and badly set out and didn't seem to know what it was trying to be! We decided to give it the benefit of the doubt and give the new owner/management a chance, however the overpriced tasteless food and dirty drinks glasses made sure we won't be returning, and the customer service? What customer service?! Such a shame when a lovely local gets taken over by people who don't have any interest in character or atmosphere and no idea how to run it to its potential!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank LindaBargate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We have eaten here several times recently as we are regular visitors to the neighbouring caravan site. The staff are excellent, always friendly and give excellent service. The food is always fresh and tasty with a good choice and a children's menu. There is plenty of seating inside and outside and children are welcome. We will continue to return to this lovely pub/restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank mishymoo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We are regulars at the ship, and often have a meal there. The whole experience at The Ship Inn is excellent. The staff are great, friendly and attentive, nothing is too much trouble. The food is fab, on our last visit I ordered from the specials board and it was better than some meals I have had in top restaurants. We are slowly working our way through the menu, and so far everything has been excellent.
Well worth a trip out to this lovely village pub by the river.


Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank nipsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My partner and I recently stayed at the ship inn as it was where the reception was being held for our friends wedding. We arrived on the Friday evening to a lovely warm welcome from the staff. She showed us to our room and we made arrangements for breakfast. The first thing that struck me was how well the room had been decorated. The bathroom was done to a high standard and the room layout was amazing. Having been wowed by the room/ view from the victory room we went for a bite to eat. The food was amazing all weekend whether it was from our evening meal to breakfast and even the BBQ at the wedding reception. I believe this pub has been seen it's share of managers which have been unsuccessful but I think the manger and his family/ team will make this pub the success it deserves. We couldn't speak highly enough of our experience this weekend with great weather an amazing wedding topped off with the experience the ship inn offered? Well done guys and we look forward to making your pub our temporary home when we come back to york to see family and friends.

Room Tip: River view. It's a pub so expect noise from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my now Husband held our wedding reception at the ship inn in April of this year before during and after the owners and staff at the pub went out of there way to make our day so very special I can not thank them enough there function room is perfect for group events and we will be coming back again for future family celebrations the food and drink supplied to us was lovely and all our guests commented on it, we also stayed over in the very newly decorated guest rooms and wow they were perfect and the full English breakfast included was a real plate full and most enjoyable I would recommend the ship inn to anyone for functions, accommodation,food, and drinks and not forgetting friendly staff thanku so much......

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank RHerring-Los
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York
2.8 mi away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#35 of 47 in York
1,366 reviews
1.8 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#4 of 47 in York
584 reviews
3.1 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
144 reviews
3.1 mi away
Black Bull Inn
Black Bull Inn
#1 of 2 in Escrick
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: Moor End | Acaster Malbis, York YO23 2UH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modernised riverside public house with 6 en suite bedrooms. All food is cooked on the premises, using local suppliers for our meat, fish, fruit and vegetables. Recently awarded top marks by Cask Marque for our Yorkshire ales. 2 Function rooms available for business meetings, parties, weddings, christenings and funeral wakes. Large garden overlooking the river Ouse. Large car park and mooring available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing