We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bay Horse Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bay Horse Inn
Ranked #68 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We came across the Bay Horse whilst looking for somewhere to have a quick dinner whilst en route back South. It was close to the Marygate car park which was a bonus. Meals arrived quickly and were surprisingly good for a "pub" as opposed to a gourmet restaurant. We weren't after a romantic dining experience and maybe the World Cup soccer was a tad in your face but for a pleasant, quick meal it fitted the bill very nicely!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Backpackinggranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    46
    12
    12
    6
See reviews for
30
93
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

On a day trip to York we wanted somewhere for lunch that was less busy than the very centre of York. Although nearby The Bay Horse perfectly fitted the bill. Varied lunchtime menu. The food arrived quickly and was lovely. We all (nine of us) enjoyed our choices and as it was a warm day we ate outside. The service was good and everyone pleasant. Great place, would recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed 1 night at the Inn and had a very pleasant stay. Special thanks to Paul, the Manager, who helped one female member of our team (who was not booked into the Inn) to find accommodation elsewhere in York. Paul even went out with me in his car to collect her and take her to her newly arranged accommodation. Well done Paul - over and above the call of duty! Many thanks, it was appreciated.
Mike McCarthy
Earlsdon Wheelers

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at the bay Horse from the 27th to the 29th May. We were in room 4 which was beautiful spacious and clean . Unfortunately, the owner never smiled once and was rather unfriendly which spoilt things. There was no atmosphere in the bar/lounge area so we didn't have a meal there. Also, at breakfast we were given a pot of tea with one cup and two saucers and had to wait 10 minutes for another cup. The breakfast was very average so on the second morning we only had toast
Although it was central we wont be stopping there again and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Great location for visiting York, good parking a couple of yards away. Spacious modern room. Quite noisy at night from banging doors. Room was cleaned the first day and refreshments were replenished, unfortunately this was not the case the second day.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I had a wonderful 4 nights at The Bay Horse, Marygate, due to the warm welcome from Sherrilyn & Paul & their really great staff. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was most comfortable, SPOTLESSLY clean, very quiet & spacious with an enormous shower. A beautiful walk through the Museum park or along the river path to the fascinating city of York. Back for a delicious meal at the BH - very generous portions. The frothy hot chocolate for breakfast was much appreciated. I returned 3 weeks later!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 3 night stay here.the rooms are beautiful,warm and cosy and decorated to a very high standard.
Everyone is really friendly and very helpful and we felt at home.
The food was lovely and the atmosphere was great.
We would highly recommend staying here to see the beautiful city of York and we hope to stay there again next year.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#43 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bay Horse Inn
The Bay Horse Inn
#109 of 192 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.1 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#10 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gillygate
The Gillygate
#43 of 192 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
0.2 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#25 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Horse Inn

Property: The Bay Horse Inn
Address: 68 Marygate, York YO30 7BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing