We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok”
Review of Elements

Elements
Ranked #526 of 870 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Description: In the Best Western Novotel hotel in York.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We ordered the Indian plate to start
Can tell is home made. The alo tikka and lamb samosa needs a little more umph tho
Pan fried Duck perfectly cooked just could have been sliced thinner as for the sarlardaise nice needed more flavour but if he made it with pumpkin or sweet potato(through it or instead of just potato)it would be fantastic
The Dakkah dusted lamb rump was perfectly cooked flavoursome and succculant. It came with couscous that was dry n tasteless and sliced grilled aubergene
He should change these to maybe roasted turned veg a litte mash and maybe a little jus on the side
Just a little suggestion not critism
I work as a chef in a 5* hotel so i see where your coming from

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chefyego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Forget the Jorvik Centre, Visit Elements Restaurant!”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I have visited the Elements restaurant in York three times previously and cannot speak highly enough about the place. I visited again yesterday with family and feel I must write another review about this outstanding hidden gem in the City Centre. The Chef Paul yesterday served up a three course meal which wouldn't look out of place in any restaurant in the country and at a remarkably low price. Paul has a natural instinct where food is concerned. He always likes to experiment with his food and it somehow always seems to work...........The guy is a culinary genius. The waitresses Ola and Ewa were friendly and efficient, as always. I must also mention the new Restaurant Manager Mae. This lady has found her vocation in life, she is ideal for the job. She is charming, efficient and helpful with a warm and friendly smile and a great sense of humour. She has recently moved from a Novotel in London..................Their loss is Yorks' gain. Once again, very well done to you all, you're a credit to the place!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Treated like a V.I.P.,fed like royalty”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I have sampled the Novotel hospitality at the Elements restaurant on many many sundays.The 4 course lunches maintain an extremely high standard every week.The choice of meals is varied,imaginative and offers plenty to tempt the taste buds! The soup course is followed by 3 further courses usually offering 3 alternatives.Paul the chef loves to experiment with a variety of sauces with the main meals and has not disappointed yet.The presentation and quality of these meals is fit to set before the queen.
Last but by no means least to the conscientious,polite and very friendly restaurant staff.I would like to put on record my grateful thanks to Paul the sunday chef,supervisor Amar and table staff Jean-Luc,Ewa,Ola,Kasia and Jenny,who look after me in a truly professional way

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 210angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in York!”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This was my second visit to the Elements Restaurant, inside the Novotel Hotel, in York. Just like my first visit I was, to say the least, very impressed. The food is of an outstanding quality. The chef Paul produces consistantly excellent food whilst always being keen to experiment with new ideas. His food never fails to impress and the 4 course meal for just £14.95 is ridiculously good value for money. I must also mention the very hardworking, helpful and friendly Polish waitress Ewa who is a credit to the York Novotel. The food is brilliant and the staff who I have met during my two visits are a credit to place.............Well done all concerned, keep up the good work!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NEIL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wake up York!”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I visited the Elements restaurant (inside the Novotel Hotel in York) recently for the first time with my family. To say that I was impressed would be an understatement. Their Sunday lunch is three courses of outstanding food at an extremely reasonable price. The staff were also excellent and very friendly. The very efficient Belgian waitor Jean-Luc couldn't have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble for him. The Chef Paul did us proud with a truly outstanding three course meal which wouldn't have been out of place in any restaurant in the country. The restaurant was nowhere near as full as it should have been and I can't for the life of me work out why this place isn't packed out every Sunday lunchtime. The hard working staff are a credit to the place...........well done guys!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NEIL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elements also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Elements? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing