We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice simple lunch”

Marks and Spencer Cafe York
Ranked #42 of 57 Coffee & Tea in York
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Cumbria
Level Contributor
320 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Nice simple lunch”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We popped into M&S whilst in York recently after a little shopping we arrived at the cafe for a quick lunch which was exactly what we had, a very nice sandwich selection and drink at very reasonable prices, the cafe was extremely busy so they must be doing something right! I will return when I'm back in York.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    27
    18
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
547 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Don't deserve customers”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Not a nice place to have a drink. Very congested and dirty. Tables are pushed together so there is no privacy. A long wait to be served and you feel that you need to rush through your meal because someone is waiting on your table. The toilets were an absolute disgrace, grubby, wet floors and massive queues.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank warboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A M & S cafe with a difference!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

How many M & S cafes do you know that have a telescope sited in the centre window directed at one of the most iconic views in Yorkshire? Welcome to the York, Parliament Street cafe at M & S.
There are so many stores with cafes that do not even have windows, it was a delight to be found a seat in the window right next to the full size telescope pointing towards York Minster. A wonderful view with or without the telescope.
The food, incidently was just as good as I expect from M & S. I have just reviewed the 'Breakfast Bloomer' at the Hull Branch: an excellent choice and to be recommended.
I haven't found the cafe area unclean or untidy, as has been suggested in other reviews. It can be a little chaotic sometimes, but when I visited last week, a Supervisor soon had things in hand and the queue quickly receded. in fact, the staff in this branch are extraordinarily helpful. They have found us a table for seven on a very busy Saturday afternoon, before now - no mean feat, and without us even asking for help.. Impressive. Thanks.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magibbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Unimpressed”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

This place lets M&S down. Cramped, tired and overpriced. As for plugging their own food as available in the food hall, I hardly expected anything different. Why bother to advertise, folk aren't stupid and can work it out for themselves. I have had better elsewhere including their biggest competitors. Won't be going back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Needs a good clean”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This operation needs a good clean in more ways than one.First getting staff to observe strict hygienie practices when handling both cultery and food,also to make sure the floor areas were kept clear of dropped food.The staff operating the tills on our visit were clearly lacking leadership and each of them were working to their own agenda irrespective of the consequences. A ccordingly there were no cups,but they were awashed with saucers,then no biscuits to hand,teaspoons and so it went on.NO team working whatsoever and these staff were NOT new,they had been on this operation for sometime.Product availability was best described as poor,with the luxury seasonal mince pie being replaced by standard one taken out of boxes of six from the food hall,but still top price being charged for an infereior and much smaller product.The views should not be allowed to blur a generally poorly run operation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WILLIAM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marks and Spencer Cafe York also viewed

 

Been to Marks and Spencer Cafe York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing