We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in gillygate”
Review of Love Cheese

Love Cheese
Ranked #213 of 882 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$14
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Description: Yorks only speacialist cheese shop and cafe. Our peaceful courtyard leads up to the city walls, with a glimpse of the minster. Our simple menu specialises in Cheeseboards, Platters and Grilled Cheese. Try our Artisan coffee from Dark Woods Roastery, or one of our carefully selected wines, beers or ciders. If there's a group of you or you're celebrating a special event why not try our cheese and wine taster menu.
york
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Oasis in gillygate”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

My wife and have visited a few times and always got good knowledgable staff who know there product they are explaining to you. A oasis for cheeses of all tastes . The coffee is very good aswell. Will keep going back again and again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank patslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    16
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Have a bang on this!!!!!!”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We visited Love Cheese in Feb 2013.
The cheese and wine along with the whole lunch experience was superb and when we are next in York, we will 100% visit again.
A suberb dining experience with a very high selection of cheeses and a delightful young girl, who knew her cheeses.
If you read my add, then please give this ago as you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonahb1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A must for cheese lovers!”
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

We ate here with a living social voucher - superb vale for money.

Really enjoyed a sharing platter with a couple of glasses of decent house wine. We would happily return and pay full price.

Great to see independent businesses like this in York.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EboracumYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and drink, service needs attention......”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I visited this deli with my husband last weekend as I had a voucher for a meal for 2. I was suprised when I rang up and was told there was only one table available in 45 minutes time, as when we arrived the place empty! Why so strict on when we had to be there when there was literally one other couple there?
It's also worth noting that once we were seated and given a menu, no one ever came back to us! Another couple came in for drinks and were served immediaitely - were we invisible? After 20 minutes I had to get up and track down a waitress myself - bad form. Also made even more of a mockery of the fact they were so strict on what time we had to be at the deli.........
The food was delicious though they did bring the wrong platter. We ordered the one with parma ham etc but were brought the one with roast ham and pear. Service aside, the cheese selection was amazing and the wine was very tasty. There was plenty of it as well! We chose one cheese and took a chance on the other two - it did not disappoint!
All in all, excellent but the issues with the service just go to show that delicious food alone is not quite enough.....

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amycakes83York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Why is this place not busier??”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Can't believe I hadn't come across this place before just half way down Gillygate despite it being open about 9m now. Splendid modern approach to platters with total flexibility over the contents. I love the 'Cheese Haters' platter with optional cheese. They have a lovely outside area which is a wonderful escape from the York tourist crowds. And the best bit was the service. Smiles and helpful ideas. Nothing was too much trouble even though we were only just there for a lunchtime snack. A nice place to meet a friend for a long chat and a bit of peace and quiet. Not too overpriced as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DocColPol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Love Cheese also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Love Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing