We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
City Apartments York
Ranked #30 of 51 Speciality Lodging in York
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed in Number 1 Reubens Court for 2 nights in October.
We had a very enjoyable stay although as well as many pros there were also some cons:

Pros:
-Great location, only a 10 minute walk into the centre of town
-Quiet. You can hear the people above you although no more than footsteps
-The owner Nick made the arrival very quick and easy, good communication and the room were ready early which was great.
- The complementary parking space was good- we walked everywhere throughout our stay.
-On arrival we received a bottle of Cava, crumpets and a bag of shower products which was a lovely touch.
- The apartment was big enough for 2 people for a long weekend, not much longer to be honest, with more luggage we would have struggled.
-Sky HD package was great and you also had access to the Movie Channel.
-Free Wi-Fi, slow but still useful.
-Tastefully decorated, very neutral.
- Heating in all rooms including bathroom which had under floor heating.

Cons:
-Apartments are described as 'luxury', they are not. Large stains and carpets, dirty marks on walls, paint and wood chipped away.
-Cleaned but not spotless, you can tell someone had stayed before you eg: dirty skirting boards, toothpaste splashes on the door, very rusty toilet seat.
-The bed was VERY VERY squeaky-almost uncomfortable.
- Shower pressure was very low and so took twice as long to wash hair.
-Most importantly, I couldn't see any smoke alarms and the only fire escape from the bathroom/ bedroom was through the living room/ kitchen area as the only escapes in bedroom and bathroom were high skylights which were obviously not accessible. However, the apartment is fitted with fire doors.

Overall, an enjoyable stay in York and reasonable for the price paid although certainly NOT luxury.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jolly Travels P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    13
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed in top floor apartment which was very comfortable. We appreciated the dishwasher and washer/drier. We'd been travelling for a while and enjoyed the extra space. The stairs are pretty steep and lighting system a bit annoying, would suggest you travel light if staying upstairs.

Room Tip: Downstairs would be easier if u have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne88888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

Great location, nicely decorated, quite small but has everything needed. About 10 minutes walk to the town centre. The only downside is if you are in the ground floor apartment, you have to put up with the noise from upstairs guests. The bed is very small and hard.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Belinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

There are a few apartments under this owner. We stayed at the 3 bedroom (6 adults + 1 child) on Buckingham Ct and it was fabulous. The apartment had a lift and a free (1) car park. The apartment was very convenient to the train station (9 minutes per Google Navigation), the Shambles (8 minutes), York Minster (12 minutes), and more. The apartment had everything we needed and very clean. There was TV + Sky, full kitchen, wi-fi, comfy beds (and extra duvet + cover and also a cot), heater in each room, towels, and a welcome bubbly + toiletries.

We felt really lucky to have found such a wonderful place for our family. It was far better than a hotel with two elderly couple, a sister-in-law, our two young children and us. Our parents had their own room and even though we were going to have our oldest (8) sleep with her aunt, her and little sister decided to camp out on the big and comfortable couch, while the husband and I took the room upstairs (it had its own TV -- freeview -- and bathroom).

If you have children, there's a park not far from the apartment and a Wii console. If you plan on cooking, there's a Budgens just a 4 minute walk via a small road called St Martin Ln (a small cobbled stone road). Also, if you like Turkish food, the restaurant next to Budgens, Kapadokya, is affordable and very good. In general there are loads of restaurants and pubs on Mickelgate road if you don't feel like going all the way into the city centre for food and drinks.

Highly recommend and oh, one little tip, there's a piece of paper with all the info on how to connect to wi-fi, Sky movie stations, etc. While Nick, very friendly and accommodating (we arrived an hour early and he was willing to let us in early -- after cleaners left), texted me the wi-fi info, everything was on that piece of paper.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keiraharford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, CT
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed here in February in a two bedroom apartment. Nick the owner was very on top of things and had detailed directions on how to get there and had everything in place right down to little presents such as toiletries and some sparkling wine.

The apartment was nicely furnished and had everything you need. Being American I could have only wished for a brew coffee pot. It did have a French Press or Cafetiere as they are called here.

Wish there was a TV in the second bedroom as well.

Can't fault the place at all. Good location, not right smack in the city but easy walking distance to many things. Also some take-a-way places close by as well as a little grocery.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We are a young couple and we stayed in the ground floor apartment in this small complex. before we even arrived Nick the owner advised us about keys etc and was very welcoming on the phone. When we arrived there was a very convienient parking space free for us on the dead end road, the area is very nice and quiet. The apartment has good security with a gate and coded door. It is a lovely size and was very clean when we arrived and we were left a gift of bath products and champagne which was a lovely touch for new year. The apartment has everything you need, kitchen has all utensils and cooking and fridge faciities, lounge area has sky tv and the whole kitchen/lounge area is furnished to a modern/luxury high standard. The bedroom again is decorated lovely with a comfy bed and the small bathroom has lovely underfloor heating. The apartment is perfect for visiting york town centre as no need to get a taxi, 10 min walk into centre and free visitor parking outside apartment for 3 days so you dont have to move your car, this was very handy! My only critisicm of the apartment is it would have been nice to have had a bath and the heater in the lounge was hard to work and bleeped when you pressed it rather loud! Overall an excellent apartment, small and cosy, furnished to a high standard, in a quiet area and great parking. would definately recommend if vwanting to stay in york, lovely!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephkRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
0.0 mi away
Reubens Court Apartment
0.1 mi away
Victoria Cloisters Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
York Apart Hotel
York Apart Hotel
#18 of 51 in York
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Staycity Aparthotels Paragon Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Apartments York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Apartments York

Property: City Apartments York
Address: Bishophill Junior, York YO1 6LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 51 Speciality Lodging in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your City Apartments York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing