We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact but perfectly formed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
City Apartments York
Ranked #28 of 54 Speciality Lodging in York
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed In number2 Rubens Court for a long weekend, really enjoyed it excellent location inside the walls minutes to walk into the centre, great local pub the Brigantes. Apartment on the ground floor great facilities including full sky, plenty of parking, don't need a car in York . Excellent communication prior to arrival met by Bea who was lovely apartment is in quiet location, kitchen well equipped comfortable seating area and bed with shower room. Would definitely stay here again for the value for money and location

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank dillwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for City Apartments York
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2013

We booked the duplex apartment in Prospect Terrace York for 1 night as a short break as we had recently suffered a family bereavement.On arrival we were greeted by painters doing routine painting of the communal areas as this is mainly a residential apartment block.It was not too much of an issue but the paint was red gloss and still wet so trying to get 2 boys aged 10 and 5 in quite small lift and in to apartment without touching paint was difficult.The apartment itself was fine and we were pleased with location and cleanliness but I am writing this review as we e-mailed the owner as we were disappointed not to have been informed about the paint-work prior to stay as the other issue was that the lift was also going to be painted and turned off for the night luckily the site supervisor agreed to leave lift on until we checked out the next day as we had my Mum with us that suffers from bad arthritis and mobility problems and who could not have got to the apartment without the lift.We have not had a reply to the e-mail so I feel that it is quite rude not to acknowledge our feedback which we had intended on the whole to be positive but also constructive as we did enjoy our stay but my 10 year old got aforesaid paint on expensive tracksuit which on the whole has come off but I noticed after sending e-mail to owners that my very expensive cream wool coat also had red paint on which I am sure will not come off at dry cleaners.We have used this site before booking but never wrote a review but feel that this was our only option after no response by owner to our e-mail.
This was a good spacious apartment and we would have looked to return but for the disappointing lack of response.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hutch186340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Stayed in No 1 Ruebens Court (ground floor, one bedroom) for a couple of nights, which is located in the southern part of city, within the city wall, in a quiet residential area. We actually booked the apartment the night before we went, so credit to the owners for getting everything sorted so promptly! Spoke to Nick, one of the owners, on the phone (he called us), who explained how to find the place - he then sent us the necessary details by text message. Seemed really nice on the phone.

On arrival, we found the place really easily, although beware if you have a really big or wide car - you may have some trouble negotiating the streets! Parked up and retrieved the free parking permit, which is a rare thing in York! Most hotels only have limited parking and usually charge for this. The flat itself was clean and well-decorated - the ornaments and light fittings were nice touches that made it feel a lot more welcoming than some places. The welcome pack was much appreciated - especially the bottle of wine (the waffles went down a treat too)!

To give an idea of the size, the apartment is bigger than your average hotel room, but smaller than the average one-bed flat - so perfect for a couple on a short city break. The kitchen is small but well-equipped and opens out onto the lounge, which has a 3-seat sofa and a dining table. There is also a full Sky package, flat-screen TV, DVD player and an iPod docking station for those who want to use them (we did watch a short DVD on the 2nd night). The bedroom is fairly compact, as is the bathroom, but most people wouldn't have a problem with this (I'm a fairly curvy lass, and it was fine). The underfloor heating in the bathroom was a treat! It was also good to be able to control the heating (unlike in most hotels), except we both wanted different temperatures.

The location is as about as central as you can get for somewhere decent at that price (and I did a lot of research!!). It takes around 5-10 minutes to walk to the high street shops, and around 15 to get to the Shambles (assuming an average pace). The street that the apartments are located on can be a bit dark at night, and there is an alleyway nearby, so I'd recommend lone female travellers to get a taxi, although this applies everywhere really. The neighbourhood appears to be residential, with a mix of houses and apartments, and was pretty quiet and felt really safe.

All in all, I really enjoyed my stay, and the accommodation helped to make my 30th (shh!) really special. I will definitely be staying here again, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends.

One last note - these apartments seemed to have an entry on Tripadvisor under 'Reubens Court' as well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CalamityJen_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Booked 15 Merchant exchange two nights for my wife's birthday, and my 15 yr old daughter came too.
What a find this place was! Lovely apartment, furnished nicely, well equipped kitchen area,(washing machine, oven, microwave, dishwasher) nice bedrooms. The whole place has a really nice atmosphere to it. The chap I dealt with was Nick Read, who is pleasant, helpful and seems a genuinely nice guy.
Right...... Now the location..... If I could give more stars for location I would! The apartment has lots of windows, a balcony and a huge floor to ceiling corner window in the living area. And what a view! 3 bridges over the river, cliffords tower peeping behind buildings, and York Minster are all taken in from the balcony and corner windows. Waking up and enjoying a cup of tea watching York wake up and boats moor up, is a great experience in my opinion. You're right in York, very short walk to pretty much all the attractions. There really is nothing bad I can say about this place, it's stunning. We will definitely be booking it again!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank camperman999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We've just returned from a 3 night weekend city break in York, and stayed in 15 Merchant Exchange. We were visiting with another couple so opted for an apartment rather than a hotel as it would be more sociable, and we all loved this apartment! The location couldn't be better, with the great riverside views and really close to all the shops, attractions and restaurants that we wanted to visit. Parking on the ground floor and a lift to the third floor made arriving really easy and Nick the owner met us and talked us through everything.
The living area is open plan but we found everything we needed in the kitchen and enjoyed watching the world go by while sitting on the sofas. The beds were comfortable so we slept well after our busy days out. Sky HD, wi-fi and the welcome pack including a bottle of fizz were an added bonus which we very much appreciated!
Two floors down is The Living Room (bar/restaurant) which was open until 1am but you could only hear anything if you opened the windows. Just go there instead, the food was really good!
We would whole heartedly recommend a stay here, especially if you are with friends, we'd love to go back again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKJo&Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

5 of us have just stayed in the 3 bed duplex,,num' 18 Prospect terrace.
First off, the location could not be better,,,3 mins walk from the town, yet far enough away to be "out the way". The duplex is spacious, quite well equipped, warm, has great viwes of the immediate area and looks nice on entry. However, when settled you notice it could do with a good spruce to be classed as luxury,,but,,it is a short term rental and does exactly what it says on the tin...Nick, with whom i liased, was welcoming and helpful. For a short break for 3 couples this is perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RUSTYBULLET1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed in Number 1 Reubens Court for 2 nights in October.
We had a very enjoyable stay although as well as many pros there were also some cons:

Pros:
-Great location, only a 10 minute walk into the centre of town
-Quiet. You can hear the people above you although no more than footsteps
-The owner Nick made the arrival very quick and easy, good communication and the room were ready early which was great.
- The complementary parking space was good- we walked everywhere throughout our stay.
-On arrival we received a bottle of Cava, crumpets and a bag of shower products which was a lovely touch.
- The apartment was big enough for 2 people for a long weekend, not much longer to be honest, with more luggage we would have struggled.
-Sky HD package was great and you also had access to the Movie Channel.
-Free Wi-Fi, slow but still useful.
-Tastefully decorated, very neutral.
- Heating in all rooms including bathroom which had under floor heating.

Cons:
-Apartments are described as 'luxury', they are not. Large stains and carpets, dirty marks on walls, paint and wood chipped away.
-Cleaned but not spotless, you can tell someone had stayed before you eg: dirty skirting boards, toothpaste splashes on the door, very rusty toilet seat.
-The bed was VERY VERY squeaky-almost uncomfortable.
- Shower pressure was very low and so took twice as long to wash hair.
-Most importantly, I couldn't see any smoke alarms and the only fire escape from the bathroom/ bedroom was through the living room/ kitchen area as the only escapes in bedroom and bathroom were high skylights which were obviously not accessible. However, the apartment is fitted with fire doors.

Overall, an enjoyable stay in York and reasonable for the price paid although certainly NOT luxury.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jolly Travels P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Reubens Court Apartment
0.2 mi away
York Apart Hotel
York Apart Hotel
#18 of 54 in York
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria Cloisters Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lawrance York
The Lawrance York
#10 of 54 in York
341 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Staycity Aparthotels Paragon Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Apartments York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Apartments York

Address: Bishophill Junior, York YO1 6LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 54 Speciality Lodging in York
Price Range: £111 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your City Apartments York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing