We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable with some cons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
City Apartments York
Ranked #27 of 50 Speciality Lodging in York
wokingham
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable with some cons”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

There are many positives for staying in an apartment in York, and having a parking space, location to town and modern interior is on offer here.

I found accessing the property good with instructions from the owner . It is down a cobbled street so a level of mobility is required . I stayed in 2 Reuben's, which was on the ground floor and was open plan.

The quality of the furnishings was good except a the torn material on a footstool. I reported this and was told owners aware.

The cava , waffles and toiletries were welcomed by my daughter whom at Uni visited to celebrate her birthday away from cold student digs. Only a shower is in the neat bathroom.

The bed was so comfortable I overslept.

I will use again as the fridge and microwave meant I could please myself with food and drink. I did not hear much noise but did experience a delay in being able to move my car at the end of my stay due to neighbours parking habits.

Room Tip: Definitely have ground floor if mobility an issue, If you want a bath ask for another room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flowerpower_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    12
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

This apartment was delightful. We were up in York for one night only, to help my eldest daughter move into university. The apartment we got was delightful. It was nicely laid out, good interior which was clearly well made. It was well thought out, will all amenities covered. Although it wasn't meant to have breakfast provision, they were considerate enough to provide coffee and tea and all other necessities. Our apartment had a beautiful view over the River Ouse, with a balcony from which we could see it in full view. It was above a bar, but this didn't cause any problems. The beds were good quality, the bedding very clean (as was the rest of the apartment). Overall I was very satisfied with the apartment, the view, and the parking spaces. Would recommend highly!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at No. 1 Reubens Court for 3 nights in October, 2013. The apartment is beautiful and exactly as described. It is very modern and it's like staying in a 5 star apartment with all the amenities you can use. It is very accessible and is 5 minutes from high street and 10 minutes walk from the train station. We highly recommend it and we can't wait to come back to this lovely city and apartment one day soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shalee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We took our parents for a weekend away and couldn't have wished for a better place to stay. The rooms were beautiful and overlooked the river. So well furnished to the highest standard. Within easy reach of many restaurants and shops etc. We loved it, all of us would love to stay again. Thanks it was great.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Myself & my partner stayed here for one night 29/09/13 (wished we could've stayed a week!). There are so many reasons to stay here, the attention to detail make the difference, for instance a bottle of fizzy & 2 flute glasses waiting for you on the table when you arrive! The fittings and fixtures, very classy, all mod cons, full Sky TV package, sports, movies, the works. It was nice to come back from a days shopping & drinking and totally relax. The location was spot on, 5mins walk, if that, & your in the beautiful city of York. From now on other hotels, B&Bs are not an option. Prices for elsewhere may be cheaper but you will no doubt be looking for overnight parking as most I'd looked at had no on site parking. Add at least another £20 minimum to your overnight stay for finding somewhere to park for 24hrs.The City apartment however gives you a parking permit for the duration of your stay. We could not have enjoyed our stay more, we would genuinely not stay anywhere else in York now.Our stay was perfect! Thank you so much

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Burnzy2375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Just stayed in ruebens court no. 4 nice apartment 5 min from town centre all you need in room for a pleasent short breakmost chanels on tv but seemed to be some unobtainable beds nice and comfy and clean ample room in shower as well as powerful shower all in all i would definately stay again if was heading for york again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilclare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Staying in No 2 Rubens Court which is a 1 bedroom apartment and we booked it because staying in a hotel with a toddler isn't much fun as they need to go to bed early and if there is no separate living area then you have to go to bed yourself or sit in the dark.

Unfortunately for us we didn't read properly or it was missed in the description by the owners but there is no door to the bedroom it is merely an opening and thus when we put little one to bed we did have to sit in the dark and couldn't do much even though we had a living space and Sky television to enjoy! A major bummer!

The waffles and welcome pack was great, Bea was lovely and friendly, and the apartment was well kitted out with a comfortable sofa and good kitchen. The bathroom was quite small and the only real issue was the lack of the door to the bedroom which meant we didn't enjoy ourselves as we thought we would.

The free parking is a great selling feature and it is very close to the city centre. Would recommend!

Room Tip: Need to be clear that there is no door to the bedroom, especially for those who request a cot! Had w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
City Apartments York - Reubens Court
0.1 mi away
Victoria Cloisters Apartments
0.2 mi away
York Apart Hotel
York Apart Hotel
#20 of 50 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Staycity Aparthotels Paragon Street
0.1 mi away
The Lawrance York
The Lawrance York
#8 of 50 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clearly Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Apartments York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Apartments York

Property: City Apartments York
Address: Bishophill Junior, York YO1 6LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 50 Speciality Lodging in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your City Apartments York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing