We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant music, very friendly people and great atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fulford Arms

The Fulford Arms
Ranked #370 of 850 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant music, very friendly people and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We have been to this pub on several occasions. They book some great live acts including Sylvain Sylvain from the New York Dolls which was amazing. Couple with some great "Goth" DJ sessions I honestly believe this to be the finest pub in York.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzymf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    2
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another poor visit”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Tried this place again just before Xmas - again poor customer service.
The girl behind the bar didnt sem to understand what drinks the pub actually sold, and everything seemed to be too much of an effort ffor her.

No doubt the owner will respond as he seems to respond to any critique that his pub receives.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJWB, Owner at The Fulford Arms, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
I thought you said you weren't coming back? Oh and well done on criticising the barmaid. Remarkable considering all the bar staff are male! Go trolling elsewhere idiot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

This pub is not a gastropub but the food is so good that we went twice. My boyfriend had a burger , one of the best burgers ever. I had a polenta with vegetables which was really good. You can tell that the food is freshly cooked.
At night, they have good live music, but not suitable for those with sensitive ears, because it is really loud!
I reccommend this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amcl0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Board outside advertises 'Great food'. We were staying across the road so went in to eat. Ordered drinks at the bar, went to a table, asked for menus - to be told we don't do food!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJWB, Owner at The Fulford Arms, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your visit but unfortunately our chefs resigned recently and we still have not managed to replace them with chefs of the same standard. Therefore we are not serving food until this happens. However I'm puzzled as to how this warrants a "Terrible" review as your experience is no different to how it would have been if you came in after food serving hours were over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wouldn't return!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were looking for a place to eat and as this was opposite our B&B we were staying in we thought we go in to have a look...
we came straight back out.
It smelt awful and just didn't look very welcoming.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyLeanne9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJWB, Owner at The Fulford Arms, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
How on earth can you review a place you haven't even spent any time or money in?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fulford Arms also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Fulford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing