We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to a hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bankfield Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #77 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Brilliant sized room with a fabulous comfy bed - and plenty of hanging space. Ensuite was immaculate with a shower that I could have stood under all day! The room had the usual tea and coffee facilities but massively improved by the homemade flapjacks that were just delicious. Breakfast was served in an airy room with a choice of cooked items that you chose the previous night - black pudding was superb and my poached egg was done to perfection. Veronica even did a bacon and sausage sandwich wrapped in foil for my boyfriend who was a little too delicate to face breakfast! The location was great for us as the wedding we were attending was in haxby but york is only 4 miles away so that shouldn't put anyone off. Lovely place that I would definitely stay at again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellebk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bankfield186346, Owner at Bankfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope the sandwich did the trick!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2012

Welcoming hosts, a huge bed in a large delightful room, and a delicious breakfast: if that's what you're hoping for then you'll be sure to find it at Bankfield B & B in Haxby, just a few minutes from York centre. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Within easy reach of York Park & Ride facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Consort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My wife and I recently spent a night having been attending a wedding close by.

What a delightful stay!

The house is beautiful and to a very high standard (meaning all the areas that we used, entrance hall/stairs/upstairs hall/breakfast room/our room etc).

Our room was fantastic and immaculate. Would have brought the bed home it was that comfy!

Veronica is the perfect hostess and a delight to talk too.

If we stay in York again we won't find a better place to stay...

So.............if your reading this then go and stay and then after you get back review on here because there is no way Bankfield should not be No1 - and I'm not being paid!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kez375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed at Bankfield for 3 nights recently and it was the best B & B we stayed in throughout our 4 weeks of travelling in the UK and Ireland.
Veronica is a wonderful hostess and does a great breakfast.
It is well located, just outside York city and just a very short walk into Haxby village for the bus into York.
We stayed in the master bedroom and it was spacious, beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean.
If we ever find ourselves in York again, we would certainly stay at Bankfield.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We have stayed for 3 nights in this fantastic B & B. Everything is perfect here. The owners are very welcoming and friendly. The accommodation and service is faultless. The whole house is gorgeous and immaculate, you wont be able to find anything wrong in the rooms...just perfect.
Everything you would expect from a B & B and more.

The breakfast is really good too, with really nice homemade jams. We also had homemade flapjacks in our room which was a nice touch.

I know I mentioned before that the service is faultless, but it really is brilliant, the best we've received from any other B & B or Hotel. Veronica always has time for a chat and helping with any questions you have about the area or checking if you need anything else for your room, she also has a great sense of humor so there are plenty of giggles to be had.

We have had such a lovely stay we will be sad to leave and will most certainly be planning another trip to York and staying here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Master Suite which had an En-Suite. The room was perfect, but whichever room you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We have stayed here twice, firstly for a weekend in early July and more recently for 5 nights with the kids.
We visited various places including York. For the two of us we used the park and ride which finishes at 8pm. As a family we drove into York and paid £11 for an all day car park ticket ( valid until 6am.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the rooms are well turned out and clean. Breakfast is excellent, the cooked one consisting of locally sourced sausages and bacon. Jams are homemade.
The owners are friendly and welcoming.
My wife is hoping to plan a trip with our Mums.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Callum Miller

Was struggling to find a place in or near York for a night to see friends for a wedding and stumbled across Bankfield by accident, and a stroke of luck really.
We have stayed in and around York quite a few times over the years and there are reasons we have not gone back to the places we have stayed.

The pictures on the web site are what you get, lovely clean and well presented B&B, not like some pictures that were taken years ago. Situated in Haxby on a very quiet road.
On arrival, was met on first name terms by our host, very friendly and more than happy to welcome us in, the entrance, hallways and room were spotless, and I mean spotless, you know when you want to find an issue but cannot, then this is that type of place.

The homemade cookies in the room were delicious, with all the normal things you would expect from a B&B. We were even offered a lift in the morning to collect our car if we'd had too much to drink, you don't get this service anywhere! Breakfast was a full English with the best homemade marmalade I think I've tasted, and again, faultless.

We have already told a few people about this place and will be back there again

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Callum M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
3.6 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#4 of 47 in York
633 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#19 of 194 in York
554 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,139 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bankfield Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bankfield Bed & Breakfast

Address: 33 Towthorpe Road, York YO32 3LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High quality accommodation near York, away from the hustle and bustle. Haxby is just 3 miles from York and offers excellent local amenities: Pubs and Restaurants. Less than 10 minutes to York’s excellent Park & Ride service. 2 miles from the A64 leading you to our Fabulous Coast, Castle Howard, Flamingo Land, The North Yorkshire Moors and many more. 5 minutes from two large shopping centres, Monks Cross & Clifton Moor. Free Parking is available to all guests staying at Bankfield ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing