We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BIG disappointment. Not worth the entrance fee - not much to see or do.”

York's Chocolate Story
Book In Advance
More Info
US$15.03*
and up
York's Chocolate Story Guided Tour
More Info
US$49.68*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #8 of 206 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: York's Chocolate Story is an entertaining and informative guided tour through the history of York's most famous chocolate-making families and their finest creations. You'll discover chocolate's origins, how to make it, how to taste it like an expert and even the sustainable future of chocolate. You'll also uncover a host of surprising secrets and fascinating facts behind York's greatest chocolate products, from the Chocolate Orange to the globally famous KitKat. Once you've explored chocolate making and its history, you can even shop for and indulge in chocolate to your heart's content. There's so much for you to enjoy and discover!
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BIG disappointment. Not worth the entrance fee - not much to see or do.”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We have just come back from an excellent weekend stay in York with our 5 year old daughter. This was the main attraction she was looking forward to. Ok, she enjoyed it, but from a parents point of view, it was so not worth the entrance fee. I find it hard how they can justify the entrance fee of £10 per adult. What they have created, does look good but there's not enough substance to see and do. The tour part looks good and the girl was good at what she did, but it wasn't interesting. We had more fun watching the street performer outside afterwards.

Helpful?
4 Thank thepollyflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckie S, Marketing Manager at York's Chocolate Story, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Hi thepollyflower,

It’s always great to hear what our guests think of our attraction, both positive and negative, though we’re disappointed to hear that you did not think it was worth the entry price. Just to let you know we have taken our guests’ comments seriously and have revised our pricing, introduced a family ticket and offer the best prices when you book online on our website.

Thanks again for your feedback - it’s always valuable to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,128
    1,066
    317
    113
    90
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
York, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Daylight Robbery!”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My wife took our 6yr old grandaughter and paid a ridiculous £18 for a pathetic "tour" of this latest tourist rip-off!
As residents we find that generally speaking the tourist attractions are quite good value for money but this one is disgusting.
A lady in front of my wife in the queue had 3 children with her and when she was told the price - £34 - said she couldn't afford it and walked out - she had a lucky escape because she and her children would have been very disappointed.
The items in the shop at the end of the "tour" are also overpriced - £4.99 for a childrens book on how to make chocolate and £3.50 for a small bar of chocolate!
Do yourself a favour and avoid this place!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckie S, Marketing Manager at York's Chocolate Story, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Hi Carole C,

Mant thanks for getting back in touch with us and sharing your thoughts, we have taken on board our guests comments and this summer have introduced a family ticket at £28 and other online savings on tickets. We realise that pricing is very important to families these days and want to offer a good value visit. We regularily have families with children who have thoroughly enjoyed the experience and we are sorry to hear that you did not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely to learn history of the city!”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I came here as part of a work related outting before the exhibition oepened to the public. I thoroughly enjoyed it! The staff were wonderful, especially Chris who was in the first room and who was amazing at bringing the story of chocolate to life!
The first room was great at introducing chocolate to us and we learned how to read chocolate in a new way. Then came a great insight into the history of chocolate with some amazing special effects. After that it was the history of York and its relationship with chocolate and then some great interaction bits the kids would love! There was a lovely man making chocolate too and some samples along the way! There is also a great shop and cafe downstairs were you can buy some edible delights!
What more could you ask from a chocolate experience!?

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank YorkGal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wath-on-Dearne, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This is good value for money- as with all things, you get out what you put in. It never advertised itself as a chocolate factory. It tells the story of the chocolate, paying attention to York's own founding families. The interactive displays were of the highest quality. The touch screen displays worked and were super fast (I have been to attractions where touch screens take an age to upload). The guided tour does take between 20-30 mins, but we spent another 30 mins in the main room looking at all the displays, and it did take that long, so these people who were only there for 30 mins MUST have not bothered taking their time to look at what is on offer.
I will say this- it is not for small children, they will not get to see Willy Wonka.
The entrance fee is comparable to other tourist attractions- look at Jorvick, castles etc in Yorkshire.
The cafe is also comparable to places like starbucks and the coffee and hot chocolate is better, the cakes are cheaper and of a much higher quality. My only complaint- not enough seating in the cafe and in on the tour itself, the film room only offered seating for 4/5 people and there were 12 in the room.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank 460HelenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Visit to Yorks Sweet Story”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Went with my neice to the York Sweet Story and we had a great time! From the intorduction into tasting chocolate and discovering the flavours infused to tasting the cocoa and learning about York's sweet connection there is plenty to explore.

The attraction is part guided and part walk around. The guided parts were informative and there was oppurtunity to taste chocolate as you went around. With a room dedicated to the stories of York factory workers there is a close connection to the city and all that has gone on within it. Once we left the guide we entered another room where there was interactive exhibitions and the oppurtuntiy to see the making of Choloate in fromt of your eyes. the two people making the chocolate were happy to answer any questions and at the end of the demonstration more chocolate tasting!

In this room there was also displays of old advertising campaigns and the tin of cocoa that Captain Scott took to the South Pole. As well as providing a great insight into York's chocolate heritage there were penty of delcious treats to try.

Leaving the attraction there is a cafe and shop serving cake, hot chocolate and selling unique chocolate gifts.A great way to replenish before heading back out into the city! This is a must see for any chocoholics and anyone interested in the heritage chocolate within York.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank drstephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed York's Chocolate Story also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York's Chocolate Story? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing