We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy and fun!”

York's Chocolate Story
Book In Advance
More Info
US$14.98*
and up
York's Chocolate Story Guided Tour
Ranked #8 of 200 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: York's Chocolate Story is an entertaining and informative guided tour through the history of York's most famous chocolate-making families and their finest creations. You'll discover chocolate's origins, how to make it, how to taste it like an expert and even the sustainable future of chocolate. You'll also uncover a host of surprising secrets and fascinating facts behind York's greatest chocolate products, from the Chocolate Orange to the globally famous KitKat. Once you've explored chocolate making and its history, you can even shop for and indulge in chocolate to your heart's content. There's so much for you to enjoy and discover!
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Yummy and fun!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I liked this tour a lot. Some history, some chocolate tasting, some chocolate making, and some more chocolate tasting.

Helpful?
Thank Kirsten R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,901
    969
    284
    104
    84
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“£10 per adult for an 'ok' experience ”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Staff were ok, tour ok and chocolate ok. It didn't 'wow' us and we couldn't take our pushchair on the tour which was a nightmare!!! Chocolate in the shop at the end was so expensive, your basically paying £20 for an average sized box of chocolates...

Helpful?
1 Thank Tiecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph H, Marketing Manager at York's Chocolate Story, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hello and thank you for leaving a review. We do our absolute best to let people take pushchairs on the tour if they wish. However, we are a city centre attraction with limited space at certain points of the tour. I am sure that you can appreciate it can be difficult to accommodate pushchairs on large tours with other members of the public

We offer products from as little as 60p and are proud to offer a comprehensive range of some of the finest chocolate in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a bad trip but overpriced for what it was”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We went as a family of four, my children are 6&8 and they were quite bored with the beginning part/history, although I found this interesting. The interactive chocolate factory they found more fun and then the chocolate making part (which wasn't exactly chocolate making, more pouring ready made chocolate into moulds) That's basically it for £29.99 with the shop and cafe at the end. The chocolate tastes amazing on a plus side but we were unable to purchase any because it would of melted before we got home, being a very hot summers day.
I think its one of those things you say you've been to but have had better trips out. The air conditioning was a welcome relief for an hour!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph H, Marketing Manager at York's Chocolate Story, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hello and thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

We try to make all elements of the tour appeal to a wide age range. With the diverse range of activities and exhibits available it is only natural that some will appeal to certain individuals more than others. Good to hear that you found it interesting and fun.

Many of our guests cite the opportunity to create your own chocolate bar as a particular favourite part of the tour. We constantly monitor our prices and feel that £29.50 is excellent value for money for what we offer.

Great to hear you liked the chocolate and the air conditioning. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Incredible ”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Went in on a whim. Really pleased we did. Asked to come back in an hour for the next tour slot so decided to stay in cafe. Best decision ever! Had the chocolate fondue and hot chocolate drink. Amazing.
Tour was with Dougie and it really surpassed expectations. Very informative and interesting. The exhibits were really interactive and fun. Enjoyed making our own chocolate lolly.
All in all spent about 1.5 hrs there and loved it. Don't go in expecting to be hungry after! So much chocolate !!

Helpful?
Thank DronfieldMassive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and informative”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We all really enjoyed this. Found it interesting and well presented by our guide. Making the chocolate lolly at the end was fun. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank LittleLSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed York's Chocolate Story also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York's Chocolate Story? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing