We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative & Entertaining”

York's Chocolate Story
Book In Advance
More Info
US$15.30*
and up
York's Chocolate Story Guided Tour
Ranked #21 of 218 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: York's Chocolate Story is an entertaining and informative guided tour through the history of York's most famous chocolate-making families and their finest creations. You'll discover chocolate's origins, how to make it, how to taste it like an expert and even the sustainable future of chocolate. You'll also uncover a host of surprising secrets and fascinating facts behind York's greatest chocolate products, from the Chocolate Orange to the globally famous KitKat. Once you've explored chocolate making and its history, you can even shop for and indulge in chocolate to your heart's content. There's so much for you to enjoy and discover!
Reviewed 31 January 2015

Informative & entertaining and a great way to spend a freezing cold January afternoon. The guide was very informative and I learned more about chocolate in one afternoon than I had in the rest of my life. The tour concludes with a fun experience of making your own chocolate lolly and a demonstration of hand-made chocolate making.... with free samples. Great fun for youngsters & oldies alike!

Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph H, Marketing Manager at York's Chocolate Story, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2015

Hello and thank you very much for your review.

It’s always fantastic to get such good feedback and we really appreciate you taking the time to leave your thoughts.

Thanks once more and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"make your own"
in 507 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 460 reviews
"cadbury world"
in 150 reviews
"free samples"
in 188 reviews
"chocolate samples"
in 100 reviews
"lollipops"
in 184 reviews
"cocoa beans"
in 47 reviews
"great tour"
in 140 reviews
"all ages"
in 222 reviews
"knew his stuff"
in 43 reviews
"children and adults"
in 48 reviews
"york pass"
in 84 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 185 reviews
"value for money"
in 125 reviews
"great attraction"
in 49 reviews
"interesting history"
in 44 reviews
"rainy day"
in 52 reviews
Filter

3,637 - 3,641 of 4,599 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2015 via mobile

A very good museum with lots of chocolate to eat while a volunteer tells you the wonderful story about.... Yep you guessed it CHOCOLATE the best part of this is that you can make your very own chocolate lolly pop

Price
Very good

A MUST VISIT

Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph H, Marketing Manager at York's Chocolate Story, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2015

Hello and thank you for your review. We’re so glad that you enjoyed the tour and was rate a must see – that’s fantastic to hear.

All the best and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2015

This was a thoroughly enjoyable tour and at the end we made our own chocolate bars. We learned things that we did not know about how chocolate used to be procured and consumed. If you have been on historical tours in Hershey, Pennsylvania, this one will not be as interesting, but we still enjoyed it. Recommended for most ages (5 and up).

Thank Skibumlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph H, Marketing Manager at York's Chocolate Story, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2015

Hi and thanks for your review. Great to hear that you enjoyed the tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2015

This attraction, from the outside looks small and insignificant but for a very reasonable charge you can experience what I believe is one of the best chocolate attractions I have ever been too.

Once you're inside, nothing else matters except the exciting displays and endless free samples and great activities.

Credit to the tour guide we had, I believe his name was Daniel, his knowledge was exceptional and he displayed a lot of enthusiasm but not too much, which I can only imagine is extremely hard to do talking about the history of chocolate without seeming patronising.

Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph H, Marketing Manager at York's Chocolate Story, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2015

Hello and thank you so much for your review.

Great to hear that you enjoyed the tour and rate us so highly. We will pass on your fantastic feedback to Daniel.

Hope you see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2015

my wife and i visited in January and we had a great time and the staff were very professional and one staff member called luke was more than help full when the penny press in the foyer broke down :) we enjoyed the fact that there was disabled access with lift to all floors and seating at all talk/video presentations and the tour guide frequently made sure we were ok and could see and hear the exhibits ! the chocolate story was very interesting and we loved the interactive people in the founders of the chocolate presentation, at every step of the way the staff were enthusiastic and seemed to enjoy and be proud of the story they were telling rather than just "doing a job" they were eager to answer any question and ready to admit if there was something they did not know! the also asked us all were they any allergies or diabetics amongst the group and unfortunately one woman was diabetic and they apologised deeply that they had nothing to offer her as a substitute , it was a fun experience and my wife thinks it was much better than Cadbury world (ive not been so I cannot comment) the chocolate was delicious especially the one we had to savour to see hear and smell and taste , and the ones freshly done at the end of the tour were more than moreish , good tour indeed!

2  Thank Thornheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph H, Marketing Manager at York's Chocolate Story, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2015

Hello and thank you for leaving a review. We really appreciate your feedback and will pass you kind words on to Luke, which I’m sure he’ll be very pleased to hear.

All our staff have a real passion for their jobs, so good to hear that it came across through the attraction – this is exactly what we aim for.

Thanks again for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed York's Chocolate Story also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York's Chocolate Story? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing