We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avondale Guest House
Nearby Hotels
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$125
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Park Inn by Radisson York(York)(Great Value!)
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn York City Centre(York)(Great Value!)
US$90
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton York(York)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$289
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn York(York)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveller rating
207
54
9
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
54
9
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhisky porridgeguest houseviolet roomcity centrebishopthorpe roadlittle extrastop floorparking permitfull englishfamily rooma wonderful stayselection of cerealsbreakfast was excellentroom was clean and comfortablebiscuitsbed and breakfastyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 278 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We should have booked a family room; the bed was spacious but there was no room for suitcases or stuff. Carole is delightfully knowledgeable about York and proud of its attractions. The outside stairs and indoor carpet were both dirty, but the room was quite clean. The sun is overpowering in the breakfast room; we'd suggest an investment in window treatment. The location is excellent for walking into the center of town.

Room Tip: Book a larger room and get to breakfast early enough to get one of the tables not in full sun.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary2846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed at Avondale a couple of weeks back and I must say I really enjoyed my stay there.

Carole was very friendly and very knowledgeable on historic York. Warm welcome.

She showed me to my room on the top floor. It was nicely decorated with fresh flowers. Excellent and well stocked tea/coffee facilities. Bed was comfortable with ensuite facilities.

Breakfast in the morning was probably one of the best I have had. Choice of various type of breakfast (english, continental, fish, mediterranean, american) was exceptional!!! ...and whiskey porridge was to die for...I love porridge, but this one was soooooooooo good!!! The Ladies serving breakfast were very friendly. Carole was very accommodating by serving it slightly earlier as I had an early bus to catch for a day trip.

Location was great! 5 minutes walk from the city centre and the walls; the Minster; Clifford's Tower; the York Museums, 10 minutes walk to the shambles. Avondale is well located in a street with lots of shops around and a variety of restaurant, fish and chips, Sainsbury's round the corner is very convenient.

To sum up, excellent selections for breakfast, a well-appointed room, fantastic host. Would have no hesitation in returning to the Avondale Guest House and recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in York.

Merci Carole!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank li0z0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Carol and her staff were very friendly. B&B a short walk along the wall into the town centre. We had the 2 rooms at the top of the house; a double and a family triple. The family room was a huge room with a view of the minster.
All in all a great stay, lovely breakfasts (carol was very accommodating with picky kids!!), very useful information about the city as we arrived and made to feel very welcome and at home. Thank you carol

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LanorD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Lovely little b&b , located close to city center. Very friendlly staff, can't do enough for you, upon arrival greated with refreshments and a guide to yorks attractions. Breackfast was plentyful and a great selection . Would definitely stay with them again. Very charming. A1+

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We returned to Avondale with our two friends for a week-end up inYork, ---- their first time in the City. We had a lovely warm welcome from Carole at 5.15pm ; we'd already visited the Railway Museum, and were shown to our clean, bright rooms. In the morning , the Avondales' acclaimed breakfasts really set us up for the day !! Porridge, cereal, yogurts, followed by a choice of six cooked breakfasts to choose from ; the Gluten-free diets were no problem with GF bread and also some of the best GF sausages Peter had tasted. Also it was no trouble to mix and match some of each menu as well.
Bishopthorpe Road is easy to get to on foot and it's easy to walk down to the riverside park and back to the city along the banks of the Ouse.
Avondale is a firm favourite of ours in this wonderful city and we'd recommend a stay here to everyone--- we can't wait to return !!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews