We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Combined Open top bus and riverboat experience”
Review of City Cruises York

City Cruises York
Book In Advance
More Info
US$12.37*
and up
Romantic York Floodlit Evening Cruise
More Info
US$11.79*
and up
York Early Evening Cruise on the River Ouse
More Info
US$11.20*
and up
York City River Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: City Cruises York are delighted to offer a unique perspective of York on-board one of our comfortable riverboats. We have something for everyone including sightseeing trips,BBQ cruises, party cruises and self-drive boats. Escape the city rush and relax with City Cruises York. All of our vessels have fully stocked bars, open top decks,and toilet facilities. Finalist in the 2012 Visit York Awards for Outstanding Customer Service.
Iver, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Combined Open top bus and riverboat experience”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Bought a combined ticket for the open top bus tour and river boat trip both with commentary.. Both trips were interesting and good value especially when purchased together. Total time about two hours but the bus (hop and off) was valid for 24 hours from time of purchase.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arthur W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    289
    108
    46
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Expensive”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Very disappointed not only by the price of the trip but also the refreshments, Having lived in the city all my life and having previously suggested a trip on YorkBoat to friends saying with us I will certainly not be doing this again.
The price is an embarrassment to the residents of York steer well clear!
Red Boat the small hire boats are just as bad how they can justify £35/hour or £25/30mins I do not know. I am sure the very good staff on the boats do not get excessive wages.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Razor56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

On a recent visit to York we embarked on an evening river cruise for an hour and a 45 minute cruise during the day, where we learned about the history of york, the bridges spanning the river and about the river itself.

this was a very informative but relaxing tour taking in a different view of the city.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dancer5482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Fairly cheap @ £7.50 each, 45 minutes (although this included another pick up of approx 5 minutes)

Very little historical information

I would not recommend this to anyone else

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SteveC1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Expensive for such a short trip”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I love York and this isn't the first time I have visited the city but the Yorkboat Trip is quite disappointing and expensive for 40 minutes on the water where you can't see much. You go half a mile up the river, turn round and come back again. The narration for the journey is good but you cannot see everything they point out because at this time of the year the trees have all their leaves and it hides a lot of the landmarks!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DeDe222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Cruises York also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to City Cruises York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing