We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A jewel of a place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chelmsford Place Guest House
Ranked #20 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A jewel of a place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

First impression is the really friendly welcome from the management then it is comfortable and delightful - a place to relax. The food we had - venison steaks - was very well cooked and the quality of the beer and wine was top class.Obviously this is a pub which is run by people who love to take a pride in their work and the level of service reflects this. I would have no hesitation in recommending the this to anyone and I will certainly be back next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    87
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
64
232
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Annes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is a terrific B&B for any one visiting York & it's numerous attractions, as within a 10min walk you are right in the hub of this amazing city. Steve is a good host, advising on routes to walk etc. The room was spacious for an attic bedroom, with a large bathroom. Good central heating ensured the room was always warm (& boy was it cold outside)! The quality of the breakfast could put may *top* hotels to shame, the bacon was excellent, though we found the sausage, as fine as they were, to be too herby for a breakfast sausage, (just personal taste & not a reflection on the high quality of the meat).
My poached egg was perfect each morning!
If you only do one touristy thing during your stay, the Castle Museum is a must! Gosh we had such a giggle going down memory lane in the Toy section...anyone who remembers slinkys & Cindys will have a blast!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russnjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hi Russ n Jax,

Many thanks for your review and kind words, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at Chelmsford Place, and would love to see you again in the New Year. Pleased to know that you enjoyed the breakfast, this does set you up for the day lol, (We have spoken to our butcher about the sausages) so they should not be so herby in the future.

We hope you have a brilliant Christmas & New Year, and would love for you to visit again in 2014.

Take Care

Janine & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband, myself and two friends stayed here for a few days. The hosts were very welcoming and although we had the two rooms at the top of the stairs it was very comfortable. We were told that it would be updated from January 2014 and if we were to visit again to request the rooms on a lower level as my friend had difficulty with the stairs due to back problems. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice of cooked items and fresh fruit and the Janine went out of her way to get me some cranberry juice. This is well worth a visit being near the town centre (or bus stop opposite which we used and they were very frequent) and I think once it has been updated it will definately deserve a 5 star rating.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs request a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda_SM5024ZP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hi Linda & Co,

Many thanks for your review & kind words, we are so pleased you all enjoyed yourselves here for your holiday in York.

Room 6 is the better room for people who have problems with stairs as this is the first room that you come to, so if you return please remember to say the room number for booking.

It was a pleasure to meet you all and we hope that you have a great Christmas & New Year.

Take Care

Janine & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Three of us stayed here in a family room. The decor is dated but having spoken to the owners this is being updated early next year. If you ignore the decor the place is clean and comfortable the breakfast is superb and uses locally sourced products. All in a great little place to stay in easy walking distance of York town centre would go back again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcherub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Many thanks for your review and kind words, we loved meeting you all, and are so pleased that you had a great time in York. We would love to see you all again in the New Year.

Have a great Christmas

Take Care

Janine & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton On Trent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

As soon as we entered the guest house we were made and felt very welcome by the hosts.
The room was cosy and plenty of space the only issue i have is the toilet is very small and not ideal for people who dont like small spaces.
Breakfast was amazing and a very nice range of items to choice from.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nat87BurtonOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hi

Thank you for your review and kind words, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Chelmsford Place York, and that you had a nice time in our city of York.

Hope you have a great Christmas & New Year and look forward to seeing you again.

Take Care

Janine & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Just returned from a one night stay here, All was top quality the rooms are comfortable and very clean.
Steve, Janine and Sue were all very friendly and helpful.
Only a few minutes walk on the bank of the river and your in the heart of the town.
Breakfast was fantastic,Cereals and fresh fruit With a very good selection of hot food available. All being freshly cooked to order.

A very pleasant visit and we will be returning soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithnJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Hi Keith & Julie,

Thanks so much for your review and kind words, its great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at Chelmsford Place and we would love to see you again when perhaps you can stay a little longer.

Take Care,

Janine, Steve (and of course Sue)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Great bed and breakfast, breakfast fantastic and freshley cooked, welcoming hosts, rooms perfectly clean and a very comfortable, 10 minutes walk from City Centre. Recommend to anyone and will be back to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Hi Simon,

Many thanks for your review and kind words, we hope you and your family enjoyed York and would love to see you all again next time you visit.

Take Care

Janine & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.6 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Friars Rest Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#3 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.4 mi away
Staycity Aparthotels Paragon Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelmsford Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelmsford Place Guest House

Property: Chelmsford Place Guest House
Address: 85 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelmsford Place Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelmsford Place Guest House is a charming 3 star, non smoking B&B ideally placed in York with easy access to all attractions including York Minster. We're only 8 to 9 minutes walk from York's historic city centre via a pleasant tree lined riverside walk and we have guaranteed free parking (essential in York!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chelmsford Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelmsford Place Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing