We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short city break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chelmsford Place Guest House
Ranked #23 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“short city break”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

just had 3 day break at the chelmsford,made very welcome,1st class bb every where clean and spotless,good breakfast,top marks to steve and janine and a special thanks to the young girl who never stops working serving breakfast and cleaning rooms,ps,never did get her name.Rob&Jayne Sheasby.warwickshire.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjs25071953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Hi Rob & Jayne,

Many thanks for your kind words and we are sooo pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in between Christmas & New Year. We have passed on your praise to Kirsten who is our lovelly right hand person.

We really look forward to seeing you again.

Take Care

Janine & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    87
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
64
236
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Excellent value for money. It's just a short walk into the city so good for sight-seeing. We were able to reserve a free parking space which is invaluable in YOrk! We had a well-kept room with everything you need plus excellent breakfast: we are a vegetarian and a vegan and were catered for perfectly. Great communication from the owners at all times.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank saracengill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Many thanks for your review & kind words, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope to see you again next time you are performing in York.

Take Care

Janine & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013

stayed at the chelmsford 6th '7th dec made very welcome buy the owners on arriveil and well impressed with room lovelly and warm with central heating on this couple deserve all the praise as they looked after everyone so well and breakfast was tops there were no issues with parking as you get a permit to park outside hotel im going back here in the summer as ill be making this a place to stop in york again the town centre is ten min walk at least but not far and its five mins from the barbican were snooker is on at this weekend
pete and gill

Room Tip: ill recermend this place to my freinds no faults at all 100% service and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1200prgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Hi Pete & Gill

Very many thanks for your excellent review and kind words, both Steve & myself loved meeting you and would love to see you both again in 2014.

Take Care

Janine & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was our 3rd year in a row weve stayed here as part of our weekend Xmas shopping trip,ideal location for Designer Outlet and York City centre(10 mins walk)
5 of us stayed in triple en suite and twin room,very clean rooms,showers that worked perfectly well,which is always a bonus and good breakfasts as well
Excellent value for money especially as St Nicholas Fayre was in full swing
very good hosts who made time to chat,already booked for next year
Guest house also being re-vamped for next year
Couldnt fault it

Room Tip: Room 5,very large,en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Hi Neil & Friends/Family,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with ourselves and that we havent let the side down lol. We are really looking forward to seeing you all again in 2014.

Take Care

Janine & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed at the Chelmsford 22nd & 23rd Nov for Xmas shopping & a little break. The stay was very enjoyable from start to finish. The guest house is approx 15 mins walk from city center (option to walk along river) . A free parking space was provided right outside the guest house. The ensuite room (no1) was a good size, had a comfortable bed and and was lovely & warm.
The hosts were extremely friendly & went out of their way to ensure we had a great weekend. There was plenty of choice for breakfast & the full English was lovely.
In conclusion, we had an great time at the Chelmsford, thought it was good value for money & would definitely stay again & we would have no hesitation recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djmcguire62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Hi, Many thanks for your kind words and review, it was lovely to meet you both and that you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure talking to you lol, and I would love to catch up with you again in the future. Really hope to see you both again.

Have a brilliant Christmas & New Year.

Take Care

Janine & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Very clean. Good host. Excellent breakfast. Although the hotel is to be updated in the New Year the facilities were very good indeed. Would certainly recommend. Extremely good value for money. Very close to the Barbican Centre.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 at the back of property so noise of traffic. Had an excellent night's sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isobel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Many thanks for your review and kind words, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Chelmsford Place, and that you enjoyed your show at the Barbican.

We would love to see you again in the future.

Take Care

Janine & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013

First impression is the really friendly welcome from the management then it is comfortable and delightful - a place to relax. The food we had - venison steaks - was very well cooked and the quality of the beer and wine was top class.Obviously this is a pub which is run by people who love to take a pride in their work and the level of service reflects this. I would have no hesitation in recommending the this to anyone and I will certainly be back next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Friars Rest Guest House
0.9 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 192 in York
352 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#37 of 192 in York
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Apple House Guest Accommodation
1.8 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 192 in York
842 reviews
0.1 mi away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#38 of 192 in York
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelmsford Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelmsford Place Guest House

Property: Chelmsford Place Guest House
Address: 85 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelmsford Place Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelmsford Place Guest House is a charming 3 star, non smoking B&B ideally placed in York with easy access to all attractions including York Minster. We're only 8 to 9 minutes walk from York's historic city centre via a pleasant tree lined riverside walk and we have guaranteed free parking (essential in York!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelmsford Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelmsford Place Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing