We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous B&B! 10 out of 10 :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chelmsford Place Guest House
Ranked #26 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights at this lovely B&B and loved every minute of it! The owners and staff are ever so friendly, helpful and cheerful :) They truly made us feel at home. The food was literally to die for! Our room was very clean, warm, well equipped and extremely cosy. The location was spot on, too. It was close to the centre of York and in a charming part of town. I wouldn't change anything it about. It was all LOVELY! Congratulations to the owners for making it so GREAT :) We will definitely be staying there again :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Hi Joanna, Many many thanks for your review and wonderful 10 out of 10. It was lovely to meet both you and your boyfriend, and we are so pleased that you had a great stay here in York. We hope you had a nice visit in Harrogate whilst on your way home. We would love to see you both again in the future and hope that you can fit in another visit again.

Take Care

Janine & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights over a weekend. Very friendly and welcoming staff, the room was very nice and the breakfast was fantastic. Had a very enjoyable stay, would recommend this B & B to any one.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Hi Warren, Many thanks for your Fantastic review and kind words, we are so grateful for all the posts on the trip advisor and would love to see you again in the future.

Take Care

Janine & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Barry/Diane Recently stopped in chelmsford bb for 2 nights owners and staff very welcoming and friendly first class service 10 out 10 for breakfast rooms been recently decorated up to a high standard all in all a great place to stay. Will be back soon

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazzodolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Hi Barry & Diane, Thank you so much for your lovely review and kind words, it was wonderful to meet you both and really look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Take Care

Janine & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Went here about a year ago, everything was lovely. Nice breakfast, service, rooms and people. Has the nicest walk to the city centre and not to far, not that you notice the distance because of the riverside walk.
Going back again for valentines day, really excited :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Choolazlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Hi, many thanks for your lovely review and kind words, it's great that your coming back to us and if you let us know which room you stayed in last time, we will try to have this available for your coming visit for Valentines.

Take care. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Janine & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed at this B&B for two nights and was treated to some of the best service we've had in England. We had booked one room for the three of us but we were upgraded to two rooms free of charge. One of the rooms was on the second floor and was quite cozy. The only thing I should mention is that the shower tub was a little high so if you can't bend your legs that high, there are tubs at a lower level in some of the other rooms. The other room we received was in the attic and was quite spacious. It was equipped with a hand shower and full bath. And for those of you who care, hot water does last a while so you can take your time in the shower.

Breakfast is served early in the morning (I can't remember what time exactly) and you get a small buffet with cereals and juices before you order your main courses. The food is quite good and the staff is very friendly so do not hesitate to ask them questions.

The location is excellent as well. It is a short 10 minute walk (6 if you walk quickly) to the city center so places like Clifford's Tower, the York Castle Museum, and the JORVIK Viking Center are very close by.

Overall, Chelmford Place was a very enjoyable experience and definitely made York the highlight of our trip. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Hi Nick & Co, Many thanks for your excellent review and kind words, it really was a pleasure to meet you all and we hope that you had a great stay in York, even though you did walk your feet off !! - lol

It would be great if when you next visit the UK you called in to see us again.

Take care all of you.

Janine & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Typical English style B&B, lovely breakfast, tidy rooms. Service being B&B style is a little bit over the top for me, I like it more de-personalised, but I appreciate that that is how B&B's are. A little bit tricky to get to walking from the train station, however a close walk to city centre and tourist spots. I had a problem accessing the Wi-Fi but chose not to bring this up during my stay as it was easy enough to access it in town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Hi Carole, Many thanks for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Chelmsford Place, apologies for the WIFI, this does happen now and again , but we always advise that if there has been a problem then to please use the dining room as the signal is stronger on the ground floor, we are looking at getting a booster. For the breakfast, it is self service for the orange, yoghurts and cerials fresh fruit etc, then we take your order for the main breakfast from the menu, this ensures that your order is cooked fresh for your requirements. Most of our guests enjoy this as this is a more personal touch.

We hope that you had a great holiday in the UK and hope you had an enjoyable return flight to New Zealand.

Take Care

Janine & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Four of us recently stayed at the Chelmsford, both rooms were lovely ,clean and comfortable.
Have visited before with previous owners, so unsure what to expect, pleased to say the standard was as high,if not better, 10 out of 10 for breakfast,nothing was a hassle,
Owners and staff were very friendly and helpful,we look forward to visiting again,would also recommend to others,
Craig,Mollie,Debby and Terry from Co.Durham.

Room Tip: Have only stayed on top floor ,it was fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Hi Craig, Molly Debbie & Terry, We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a pleasure to meet you all, many thanks for your excellent review and kind words. Its good to know that we are keeping up with Nigel & Wendy lol

We would love to see you all again here in York.

Take Care

Janine & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Friars Rest Guest House
0.9 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#6 of 194 in York
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#16 of 194 in York
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#35 of 194 in York
511 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#47 of 194 in York
40 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 194 in York
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelmsford Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelmsford Place Guest House

Address: 85 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £50 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelmsford Place Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelmsford Place Guest House is a charming 3 star, non smoking B&B ideally placed in York with easy access to all attractions including York Minster. We're only 8 to 9 minutes walk from York's historic city centre via a pleasant tree lined riverside walk and we have guaranteed free parking (essential in York!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelmsford Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelmsford Place Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing