We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chelmsford Place Guest House
Ranked #26 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Had a lovely weekend stay – nice, comfortable room, and yummy breakfast with ample choice for us. Owners were very friendly and helpful with information. The close proximity of the B&B to the centre was great – easy to walk to / from. Also the availability of a car parking space was a great asset for us.
Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sw1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Hi Sarah & Friends,

Many thanks for your wonderful review and kind words, we are so pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us and that our yummy breakfast set you up for the day in the city centre. It was great to meet you all and would love to see you again in the future.

Take Care

Janine & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is my second attempt at a review, I am not too good with this pc, so I will not bore you with a long report on this wonderful place, we stayed on the 24th feb for 2 nights, and I gave it full marks for all that was provided, and thought that Steve and Janine made that extra effort to make our stay special. If and when we return to York it will be to their b/b, and have told all family and friends about it, excellent!!! Frank + Sue, Wirral

Room Tip: Number 6, at back of the house, very quiet ,and is a double en-suite on 1st floor, small but ideal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamescapper0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Hi Frank & Sue,

Many Many thanks for your wonderful review and kind words, we really do appreciate that you enjoyed your stay with ourselves and are so pleased that we were able to contribute to you having a great stay here in York.

We really do look forward to seeing you again and your friends and family.

Take Care

Janine & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We booked for Chelmsford Place as a last minute treat for 3 nights. We were met by the owners Steve and Janine who gave us a warm and genuine welcome.
We stayed in room 2,at the top of the house but not really any kind of problem. The bedroom was slightly small but with plenty of storage space and immaculately clean. The ensuite bathroom is freshly decorated and of a very generous size with a good shower.
Breakfasts were tasty and really set us up for the day.
The walk into York itself is along the river and very pleasant it is too! We only strolled and it took around 10 minutes or so.
Parking was no problem, on street with a permit a few yards from the door.
Really couldn't fault our stay for value for money and wouldn't hesitate to book again in future.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank modrob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Hi Rob,

Many thanks for your great review and kind words, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the new en-suite. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we would really love to see you again in the future.

Take care

Janine & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

I'm utterly amazed at what people will complain at! I've been a few times and it's a great place from start to finish. Helpful hoteliers and tidy room and great breakfast to boot. The people that complain in any hotel/ bb have,for the majority of time too much time on their hands to be honest, why don't you people start to enjoy yourselves a little more!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Hi Paul,

Many thanks for your review and kind words, we are so pleased that you had a great stay here with us, Breakfast certainly do set you up for the day lol, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Take Care

Janine & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

first valentines day as a married couple and took a short trip to York and decided to stay here after reading lots of great reviews and it's Good location.
Janine and Steve are lovely owners and have tastefully decorated the house. Our room was cosy, warm and wonderfully decorated. the breakfast room was very comfortable, the girls who served us were very friendly and there was a great selection of fruit, yoghurts and cereals.
We enjoyed our trip. It was always warm comfortable and friendly. When we next go to York we will definitely stay at Chelmsford Place.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Hi Adam,

Many thanks for your great review, we are so pleased that your first Valentines day as a married couple was great, these things are so important to us as we wish you to have a perfect stay here at Chelmsford Place.

We would love to see you again in the future, and hope it wont be too long lol.

Take Care

Janine & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have stayed here twice now and were made and felt very welcome.
We stayed over on valentines day bags were taken to the room as I walked into our room there was a single red rose placed on the bed very nice touch.
Very warm and cosy room.
Breakfast in the morning was very nice a nice selection of fresh fruit,cereal,yoghurts and a choice of omelette's or cooked breakfast. choice or tea or coffee or speciality teas (herbal etc).

Thank you so much Janine and Steve we will hopefully see u again very soon x

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nat87BurtonOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Hi Nat,

Thank you so much for your review and kind words, it was great to see you both again for Valentines weekend, and are really pleased that you enjoy your stays with us. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon we hope.!
Take Care

Janine & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Me and my boyfriend took a small Valentine's holiday to York and decided to stay here due to the good reviews on trip advisor and let me tell you we were not disappointed. Janine and Steve have done a wonderful job creating a hotel full of character. The room was cosy and very sweetly decorated, the ensuite facilities were ideal and the breakfast room was comfy, on Valentine's morning we discovered a red rose waiting on our table which was a very nice touch.
Our bed was very comfortable, so much so that it was even a struggle to get up for the tasty breakfast they provide, it was nice being able to choose on the morning what we wanted for breakfast, the girls who served us were very friendly and there was a great selection to umm and ahh over.
When we arrived, after checking in and making sure everything was in order Steve and Janine then presented us with a map of York with suggestions of the best places we could visit with the routes to them highlighted, this was a true sign of how well they look after their guests and it turned out to be very lucky because we relied on that booklet to get us arround, as my printed paper maps wouldn't have lasted two seconds in the heavy rain we faced on the afternoon of the 14th.
We loved every second of our trip and that was largely down to how fantastic the hotel was. It was always warm, TV & WiFi, comfortable and very very friendly. If we ever go back to York we will definitely stay at Chelmsford Place again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Hi Danielle & Mathew,

Thank you so much for your lovely review and exceptionaly kind words, we are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us for Valentines, It really was a pleasure to meet you both and would love to see you again in the future.....:-)

Take care both of you

Janine & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Friars Rest Guest House
0.9 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#6 of 194 in York
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#16 of 194 in York
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#35 of 194 in York
511 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#47 of 194 in York
40 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 194 in York
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelmsford Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelmsford Place Guest House

Address: 85 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £50 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelmsford Place Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelmsford Place Guest House is a charming 3 star, non smoking B&B ideally placed in York with easy access to all attractions including York Minster. We're only 8 to 9 minutes walk from York's historic city centre via a pleasant tree lined riverside walk and we have guaranteed free parking (essential in York!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelmsford Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelmsford Place Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing