We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great value"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chelmsford Place Guest House
Ranked #27 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just got back from a 2 night stay atab, this lovely B&B. Was made to feel welcome from the moment we rang the bell. Janine was lovely told us were every thing was the we needed to know. Then when we got to our room it was clean, bright and the décor was modern.
The breakfast on both mornings was excellent, all locally sourced products and the staff doing the breakfast were very friendly, nothing was to much trouble.
Would recommend this place to anybody and will be using it again when we are over that way again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizuk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hi Liz

Many thanks for your wonderful review and kind words, it was a pleasure to meet both yourself and your husband, and we are so pleased that you managed to get around the city ok, we hope that when you next return to York the Castle Museum will have a lift in so that disabled people will be able to access the first floor.

Take care

Janine & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

We booked last minute for a night in York during our mini road trip around England and had a fantastic night and a great breakfast. As we booked so late, we had a phone call asking when we would arrive so they could ensure the room was ready in time. On arrival we were greeted by Janine and Steve who were extremely helpful and friendly. I had never stayed in a traditional English B&B before and thoroughly enjoyed my first stay! The room was clean, nicely decorated and the bathroom was spacious with a nice bath. Steve gave us a map and explained the best routes into town (15 minute walk) and got given a great tip for a car park in the local school for £3 all day so we could check out and not worry about having to be back for our car. Breakfast was delicious and generous with a good variety of options. We would most definitely recommend this B&B to anyone looking to stay in York. Good value for money, great breakfast and friendly, efficient service - perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jemimah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Hi Jemimah,

Many thanks for your wonderful review and kind words, I know it was a short trip on your visit round the UK but it was lovely to meet you both, and are so pleased that you enjoyed our wonderful city, we do hope that you had a safe journey home and would love to meet you both again in the future.

Take Care

Janine & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Recent trip to York and stayed for three nights. Clean, cosy and ideally located. Three star but, should be four as far as we're concerned! Lovely room, tastefully decorated and excellent breakfast. We will definitely be back!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DouglasCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Hi Charlie,

Many thanks for your great review and kind words, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with ourselves and really look forward to meeting you all again.

Take Care

Janine & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Found this guest house online and can't wait to use it again. Only a short walk to the city center, it ticked all the boxes, very large room with a huge shower cubicle, spotlessly clean, nice bed and all the decor blended in so well,a lot of thought and care had gone into the room we stayed in.
A warm welcome greeted us on our arrival and that feeling of nothing was too much trouble for them, stayed with us through out our stay.
A cracking good breakfast set us up for the day and helpful advice on what to do in York went down well.
To Steve and Janine plus staff, a huge thank you, see you again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Hi Dave & Barb,

Many thanks for your first class review and kind words, it was lovely to see you and we are so pleased you enjoyed your Chinese Meal at the Regency just round the corner. Next time you come hopefully you will be able to stay a little longer.

Take Care

Janine & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Just what was needed in a hurry for a two day break. Good location for sight seeing - easy walk into York and the owners were very helpful. Breakfast good and room spotless. Just stairs could be a concern if not agile.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Hi Louise,

Many thanks for your lovely review and kind words, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with ourselves and we would love to see you again when you next need a short break in a hurry lol.

Take Care

Janine & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Surprised about on-street parking - not mentioned on web site. Room very small, but bathroom huge - both very clean.

Brilliant breakfast. Host good, but hostess kept telling him off...noisily!

Room very cosy - double was a tight fit, but huge bathroom. Odd, really.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t1metraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for your review, all comments are taken on board, I believe that from your review you were in room 2 as this room has the newly refurbished en-suite, it is a little larger than our other en-suites but all of our guests who have used this room have really enjoyed their stay.

With regards to the parking, it is on the street and everybody who has used this facility has really appreciated it as parking is a premium in York, this does come as complimentary with your booking at no extra charge.

Steve is an excellent host, but on occasions has been known to throw a spanner in the works lol.

We are pleased that you had a safe journey home.

Take Care

Janine & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at the Chelmsford Place Guest House on March 22 and 23rd and were delighted with the experiences. We arrived late in the evening on the 22nd, having flown into London that morning. We had let the hosts know via email that we would be late and Steve had a light on for us and was quick to answer the door and check us in. Our room was beautiful and the shared bathroom was clean and just seconds down the hall. This was our first time staying at accommodations with shared bathrooms and we had been somewhat apprehensive about the experience, but those worries proved to be completely unfounded. There were even big, fluffy robes in the room for us to wear in the hallway. In the morning we were greeted with a delicious home cooked breakfast in a cheerful breakfast room and excellent advice on which sights to see during our stay in York. The Guest House is a short 10 minute walk from the town centre and we found it easy to find all of the sights on foot. Steve and Janine went above and beyond on our final morning in York, cooking us a hot breakfast even though we were due to leave for our train before breakfast was open. Our stay in York was absolutely perfect and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend Chelmsford Place to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalgarysTooCold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Hi all,

We are soooo pleased to hear from you and are really happy with your review and kind words, it was a pleasure to meet you. We are assuming that you have now returned to Canada safely, BUT if you do ever return to the UK, please remember us here in York lol.

Take Care

Janine & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Friars Rest Guest House
0.9 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#6 of 194 in York
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#17 of 194 in York
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#35 of 194 in York
511 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#46 of 194 in York
40 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 194 in York
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelmsford Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelmsford Place Guest House

Address: 85 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £50 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelmsford Place Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelmsford Place Guest House is a charming 3 star, non smoking B&B ideally placed in York with easy access to all attractions including York Minster. We're only 8 to 9 minutes walk from York's historic city centre via a pleasant tree lined riverside walk and we have guaranteed free parking (essential in York!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelmsford Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelmsford Place Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing