We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chelmsford Place Guest House
Ranked #25 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Top B&B”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights here. Had a great breakfast every day. Janine and Steve with the help of Sue couldn't do enough to help us. A very pleasant stay, and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again or recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi Chris,

Many thanks for your wonderful review and kind words, its great to know that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Chelmsford Place, and hopefully (fingers crossed) look forward to your return here in York.

Sue is sunning herself in the Algarve at the moment, but I will be sure to pass on your review, when she returns.

Take Care

Janine & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    87
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
64
239
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night stay, we cannot rate the experience highly enough. Great rooms, service, hosts and spotlessly clean. I stay in a lot of hotels through work, it's fair to say I forgot just how good B&Bs can be! Fantastic all around, the big chains and plc hotels could learn a lot from the Chelmsford it was the cleanest accommodation I have stayed in and I include 5 star hotels in that. We have already pre booked for a return visit in September. I must also add the location is also ideal with a short 5 minute stroll in to town. Thanks for reminding me of how good B&Bs can be.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi Craig,

WOW what a wonderful review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us and that you have already booked again in September. It was a pleasure to meet you both over the race weekend and really look forward to seeing you again with your friends soon.

Take Care

Janine & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We zijn net terug van vakantie. We hebben 3 nachten geslapen. Steve en Janine zijn heel vriendelijk, Janine heeft ons warm ontvangen, iedereen is behulpzaam. We kregen gelijk informaties en goede tips. Ontbijt is lekker en vers. Lokatie is geweldig. 10 min lopen naar de stad langs de rivier. Kamers zijn schoon en aangenaam. Helaas waren suite kamers niet beschikbaar en moest toilet en douche delen. Het is schoon met lekker warm water alleen beetje kleinkamer. Zeker een aanraden. Binnen de budget toch goede service. Ik zal nog een keer terugkomen.

Just get back from vacation in York. We stayed for 3 nights. Steve and Janine are very friendly, Janine welcomed us warmly and everybody are helpful. We got important info right away and very good tips. Breakfast is deliciuos and fresh. Location is great, 10 min. walk to the city along the riverside. Our room is clean and comfy. Unfortunately suite rooms weren't available and have to share toilet and shower. Toilet and bathroom were clean with nice warm water, not much space though. Deffinitely recommendable, within budget and good service. We'll be back once more.

Tony and Jennifer

Room Tip: Book suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hello Tony & Jennifer,

Thank you for your Top Lokatie review and kind words in both Dutch and English lol, the reviews are greatly appreciated. We would love to see you both again in the future and hopefully that an en-suite room will be available for your dates (book early) lol.

We are happy that you had a safe journey home.

Take care

Janine & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped for one night in the family room.Extremely spacious and immaculately clean. Owner Steve was very welcoming and gave excellent advice about places to visit. On the whole it was a very pleasurable visit and very good value for money. Will definitely return

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jb1925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Many thanks for your excellent review and kind words, although your visit was a short one it was really nice to meet you and are so pleased that we were able to make your visit to York enjoyable. We would love to see you again in the future if you can fit in another visit.

Take Care

Janine & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed Saturday and Sunday night in a family room (double). Steve and Janine gave us the warmest welcome and took care of us well. Very clean throughout. Delicious breakfast. Free parking permit with stay allowing you to leave the car directly outside the guest house and benefit from the beautiful ten minute walk into town down by the river as advised by Steve and Janine. Room was excellent with ensuite and towels changed daily. Tea and coffe facilites in the room which were also topped up daily. Will definately recommend this guest house to everyone. We loved our stay and whole experience of York and would like to say a huge thank you to Steve and Janine for having us and making our trip extremely enjoyable. Thanks again, Jamie & Nat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi Jamie & Nat,

Many many thanks for your wonderful review and kind words, it was a pleasure to meet you both and I hope that Nats sunburn has now vanished and that she has a lovely tan? You now know where we are if you visit York again we would love to meet you again.

Take Care

Janine & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed in a family room, 3 adults, suited us just fine! Steve and Janine are charming hosts who took care of us very well! Beautiful breakfasts. Our special dietary needs we're looked after. Very thoughtful and kind. Clean and tidy! Hoping to return one day, and can recommend the Chelmsford Arms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally-Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi Sally-Ann & Family,

Many thanks for your review and kind words, it was lovely to meet you all and was so pleased that Aunty got over her cold so that you could all enjoy our wonderful city of York. I hope you have some wonderful memories of your stay here and hopefully you will make the long journey again and we may see you in the future.

We wish you a safe journey home and hope the rest of your stay in the UK is enjoyable.

Take Care

Janine & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here Friday and Saturday night. Lovely warm welcome, helpful advice on York attractions. Comfortable room, with plenty of hot water (we had a bath in our en suite with hand held shower). Tea/coffee/towels refreshed daily. Superb breakfast. Free parking permit meant we could leave the car outside the guest house, and enjoy the ten minute walk along the riverside into the town. We found Steve, Janine and staff extremely friendly but never obtrusive. We will be making a return stay.

Highly recommended. Thank you. Dave and Ellie

Room Tip: Room one was on the second floor, comfortable double bed. Plenty of cupboard/drawer space, with an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi Dave & Ellie,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and kind words, it was lovely meeting you both and having our little chats, now you must come back to York again because I have a few more Indian Restaurants listed that you can try lol.

Glad you had a safe journey home and we really do hope to see you again in the future.

Take Care

Janine & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#41 of 192 in York
495 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#5 of 192 in York
355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#12 of 192 in York
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Apple House Guest Accommodation
1.3 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 192 in York
350 reviews
1.2 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelmsford Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelmsford Place Guest House

Property: Chelmsford Place Guest House
Address: 85 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelmsford Place Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelmsford Place Guest House is a charming 3 star, non smoking B&B ideally placed in York with easy access to all attractions including York Minster. We're only 8 to 9 minutes walk from York's historic city centre via a pleasant tree lined riverside walk and we have guaranteed free parking (essential in York!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelmsford Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelmsford Place Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing