We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chelmsford Place Guest House
Ranked #26 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My partner and I booked a double room for 2 nights and were extremely pleased with the hospitality received. Steve and Janine gave us a warm welcome and explained the area to us. The b and b is in a great location to see all York has to offer and there is free parking! We left the car for the full 2 days as we could walk everywhere. The breakfasts are cooked to a high standard, using quality produce sourced from the local butcher and Steve's omelettes are impressive! Very tasty indeed! We would not hesitate to stay here in the future and we look forward to returning! Thank you Janine and Steve for making our stay so enjoyable :-)

Room Tip: Ask for room 2 and book direct.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Hi Jill,

Many thanks for your wonderful review and kind words, Steve is now polishing his badge with regards to the omelettes and breakfasts lol. It was lovely to meet you both and do hope that you will visit York again in the future.

Take Care

Janine & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
There are newer reviews for Chelmsford Place Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We called first thing on Monday morning after driving up from Bedford. We were lucky to get a room and we were able to park our car (definitely needed in York!) and go out for the day. We came back in the evening to our room (Room 2). Comfortable bed, beautiful big ensuite! Breakfast is excellent, omelette is amazing. Compliments to the chef! Janine and Steve were very knowledgeable of the area and very welcoming. Only 10 minutes walk to the city. Will recommend to my family here and if we are ever back in York, will definitely come back to Chelmsford!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Hi Hannah,

Many thanks for your brilliant review and kind words, it was a pleasure to meet you both and are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and in York. It was great to have our chats with you and we hope that you have a safe journey back to Australia. We would love to see you again next time you are over visiting family.

Take Care

Janine & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights here. Had a great breakfast every day. Janine and Steve with the help of Sue couldn't do enough to help us. A very pleasant stay, and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again or recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hi Chris,

Many thanks for your wonderful review and kind words, its great to know that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Chelmsford Place, and hopefully (fingers crossed) look forward to your return here in York.

Sue is sunning herself in the Algarve at the moment, but I will be sure to pass on your review, when she returns.

Take Care

Janine & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night stay, we cannot rate the experience highly enough. Great rooms, service, hosts and spotlessly clean. I stay in a lot of hotels through work, it's fair to say I forgot just how good B&Bs can be! Fantastic all around, the big chains and plc hotels could learn a lot from the Chelmsford it was the cleanest accommodation I have stayed in and I include 5 star hotels in that. We have already pre booked for a return visit in September. I must also add the location is also ideal with a short 5 minute stroll in to town. Thanks for reminding me of how good B&Bs can be.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hi Craig,

WOW what a wonderful review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us and that you have already booked again in September. It was a pleasure to meet you both over the race weekend and really look forward to seeing you again with your friends soon.

Take Care

Janine & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We zijn net terug van vakantie. We hebben 3 nachten geslapen. Steve en Janine zijn heel vriendelijk, Janine heeft ons warm ontvangen, iedereen is behulpzaam. We kregen gelijk informaties en goede tips. Ontbijt is lekker en vers. Lokatie is geweldig. 10 min lopen naar de stad langs de rivier. Kamers zijn schoon en aangenaam. Helaas waren suite kamers niet beschikbaar en moest toilet en douche delen. Het is schoon met lekker warm water alleen beetje kleinkamer. Zeker een aanraden. Binnen de budget toch goede service. Ik zal nog een keer terugkomen.

Just get back from vacation in York. We stayed for 3 nights. Steve and Janine are very friendly, Janine welcomed us warmly and everybody are helpful. We got important info right away and very good tips. Breakfast is deliciuos and fresh. Location is great, 10 min. walk to the city along the riverside. Our room is clean and comfy. Unfortunately suite rooms weren't available and have to share toilet and shower. Toilet and bathroom were clean with nice warm water, not much space though. Deffinitely recommendable, within budget and good service. We'll be back once more.

Tony and Jennifer

Room Tip: Book suite room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hello Tony & Jennifer,

Thank you for your Top Lokatie review and kind words in both Dutch and English lol, the reviews are greatly appreciated. We would love to see you both again in the future and hopefully that an en-suite room will be available for your dates (book early) lol.

We are happy that you had a safe journey home.

Take care

Janine & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stopped for one night in the family room.Extremely spacious and immaculately clean. Owner Steve was very welcoming and gave excellent advice about places to visit. On the whole it was a very pleasurable visit and very good value for money. Will definitely return

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jb1925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Many thanks for your excellent review and kind words, although your visit was a short one it was really nice to meet you and are so pleased that we were able to make your visit to York enjoyable. We would love to see you again in the future if you can fit in another visit.

Take Care

Janine & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed Saturday and Sunday night in a family room (double). Steve and Janine gave us the warmest welcome and took care of us well. Very clean throughout. Delicious breakfast. Free parking permit with stay allowing you to leave the car directly outside the guest house and benefit from the beautiful ten minute walk into town down by the river as advised by Steve and Janine. Room was excellent with ensuite and towels changed daily. Tea and coffe facilites in the room which were also topped up daily. Will definately recommend this guest house to everyone. We loved our stay and whole experience of York and would like to say a huge thank you to Steve and Janine for having us and making our trip extremely enjoyable. Thanks again, Jamie & Nat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshireSmudge, Owner at Chelmsford Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hi Jamie & Nat,

Many many thanks for your wonderful review and kind words, it was a pleasure to meet you both and I hope that Nats sunburn has now vanished and that she has a lovely tan? You now know where we are if you visit York again we would love to meet you again.

Take Care

Janine & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Friars Rest Guest House
0.9 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#6 of 194 in York
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#38 of 194 in York
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#11 of 194 in York
735 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 194 in York
871 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#49 of 194 in York
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelmsford Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelmsford Place Guest House

Address: 85 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £47 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelmsford Place Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelmsford Place Guest House is a charming 3 star, non smoking B&B ideally placed in York with easy access to all attractions including York Minster. We're only 8 to 9 minutes walk from York's historic city centre via a pleasant tree lined riverside walk and we have guaranteed free parking (essential in York!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelmsford Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelmsford Place Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing