We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“this is the best B & B in York”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Foss Bank Guest House
Ranked #16 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“this is the best B & B in York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

we found this on line then rang Kevin and he was so helpful ,l booked for one night and it was fantastic the twin room was clean,comfortable and well equipped with an en-suite shower room which was spotless
The breakfast was brilliant and Kevin was a most excellent host , we will look forward to staying here again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
206
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Booked this guest house after viewing online. My wife and I are fairly frequent visitors to York and ww were looking for something more personnal, in some of the bigger hotels we havehad poor customer service and paid through the nose for it!
Rang up and booked, all details taken, no deposit, was trusted to turn up!
On arrival, the proprietor, Kevin was waiting at the door with a lovely welcome. We were given a short tour of the guest house and the shown to our room, which was large, beautifully presented and very clean, with a lovely en-suite bathroom. Room stocked with the usual tea, coffee and biscuits, Kevin even offered to leave a flask of fresh milk if we preferred, rather than the small prepacked UHT.
We were then given directions to the rear of the guest house where there is a private parking area. Whilst I was doing this, Kevin kindly made a fresh pot of coffee for us! Over coffee we talked about our visit and Kevin marked on a map various restaurants which we may enjoy and gave us some great ideas.
After a great day and evening in York (only a 5 minute walk to the Monkbar) we returned and had a great night sleep, really comfortable bed, room quiet and not 'stuffy' like most hotels.
Breakfast was a fabulous full English Breakfast, prepared to perfection.
On checking out, Kevin asked our plans for the rest of the day, and as we were planning to spend the morning in York, he provided us with a visitor's permit to park on the road outside the guest house!
We cannot recommend this guest house highly enough, the level of service shames all the hotels we have stayed in York and we look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Room 2 is a double en-suite at the rear of the guest house, nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dodds077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

After lots of searching on the net I found the Foss Bank Guest House - and what a find it turned out to be. Spotlessly clean throughout, the nicest bedroom you could wish for and Kevin who is simply the most amazing host (nothing too much trouble and everything done with a smile) and who also cooks the best breakfast ever. All this and only a 10 minute walk to York Minster. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggieYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

My wife and I have visited York several times, seems like there's always something new to see.
We've always stayed in hotels before, some with parking, some without.

This time we thought we'd try a b&b for a change, well what a pleasant suprise the Foss Bank turned out to be. Clean, free parking, quiet and comfortable and with great breakfasts.
(We bought 3 jars of the local jam and marmalade)
5 minutes walk to the walls, 10 to the Minster. What more could we ask for ?

And Kevin couldn't have been more helpful and obliging.

We try to go to York at least twice a year, normally we pick a date then look for a hotel with vacancies. From now on we'll time our trips for when Room 2 (a double en-suite) is available

Room Tip: Room 2 is a double en-suite at the back of the house away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_From_Tyldesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I took my girlfriend to york for her birthday and stayed at the Foss Bank Guest House for the weekend. We felt really well looked after and the quality of the accommodation was well above that of what I thought. It's not far from York city center and within 5 minutes you're at the York minister. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone wanting to stay at York.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We've stayed here a couple of times now, as have members of our family, and we were delighted to find our weekend was absolutely perfect as usual!!!

This guest house is perfectly situated just a moments walk from the town centre and is ideal if you're visiting York races. Within less than five minutes there's the city centre with all it's amenities, pubs, restaurants and historic sight seeing.

Kevin is the most perfect host, wonderfully attentive and polite, he almost appears in a puff of smoke and is ready, able and willing to assist with his fantastic knowledge of the area.

Our light airy room was spotlessly clean with a lovely seating area, tea, coffee etc with fresh neutral decor and nice thoughtful touches such as a hair dryer and a fan to keep cool. Free wifi is also a bonus.

Breakfast is superb - fresh locally pressed apple juice, a full English with locally sourced produce, fresh fruits, yoghurt, cheeses, ham, cereals, porridge...the works. Whilst we didn't ask for anything other than choices on the menu, we noticed other guests additional requests were never an issue or a problem - Kev could cater for anyone!

All in all there is nowhere else that could remotely match this place. We will return time and time again and can't thank Kev enough for making our weekend so faultless once again. Let's not forget Val who is constantly beavering away in the background either!!!

Thank you both - your hospitality is of the highest order - you clearly work very hard to make sure your guests have a wonderful relaxing stay, and we are pleased to confirm your hard work more than pays off. Thank you again, and look out for us again soon!!!!! X

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just spent 3 great days revisiting York and it was made even better because of our stay at Foss Bank. Could not fault it and would recommend it without hesitation. Kevin was the perfect host; from being a true gent carrying our bags (for two ladies who do not travel light!) to our room on the 2nd floor, to providing the best home cooked breakfasts we have had for a long time - poached egg on toast was superb, as well as the offer of fresh milk in our room for tea/coffee,etc. The facilities are really good, from the tasteful crockery used to the lovely soft and proper-sized bath towels !!! The B&B is ideally placed for walking in and back from the city centre plus private car parking, which is always a bonus on a city visit. Do give this guest house a go; you will not regret it !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat1010bridgwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#9 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foss Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foss Bank Guest House

Property: Foss Bank Guest House
Address: 16 Huntington Road, York YO31 8RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:4 star — Foss Bank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Foss Bank Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing