We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, contemporary and comfortable; our favourite place to stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Foss Bank Guest House
Ranked #16 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2010

After a long day exploring the beautiful city of York, all you could want is to return to a warm and comfortable guest house. Foss Bank provides all of this, along with clean and modern amenities, including Freeview equipped TVs.

The cooked breakfasts are delicious, and there is a wide variety of choice, including cereal, fruit, yoghurt, toast and preserves with tea, coffee and juice to drink.

Kevin always does his best to accommodate us, and is always friendly and helpful.

Overall, a definite recommendation, and a great night's sleep!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blainek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
There are newer reviews for Foss Bank Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2010

This was our first trip to York, and I noticed the glowing reviews for this B & B, so we decided to give it a try. All I can say is it's all true - spacious clean rooms (we stayed in room 2, which is really quiet), great breakfast, and Kevin is a lovely host - always there when you need him. We stayed 3 nights, and I only wish it had been longer.
You are on the 'right' side of York, as a lot of the tourist stuff is on this side - the Minster, the Shambles etc, and also close to plenty of restaurants and pubs, but it is only a 15 - 20 minute walk through to the other side of the city for the Castle Musuem etc.
We're already planning our return trip!

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Snixy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

having looked through the york guide some years ago we noted FOSS BANK was highly recommended. On arriving at FOSS BANK we received a warm yorkshire welcome. the owners were extremley helpful giving us advise about york & places of interest. We have now stayed at this b & b for a number of years. The rooms are always to the highest standard. On sweet facilites are spotless & any beverage used in our room immediately replaced. Being close to the centre of york is an added bonuse. FOSS BANK is our first choice & we always visit when a room becomes available. WE WOULD NOT STAY AT ANY OTHER B & B. 5 STAR QUALITY THE BEST. CONGRATULATIONS.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prestonSouthCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

This B&B was a real gem! The rooms are newly refurbished and very clean. Kevin is a very pleasant host and is very helpful with advice on York. Breakfast was great in a lovely setting. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a superbly located B&B at a good price.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Have stayed at the Foss Bank several times over the past 3 years, having found it recommended on TripAdvisor. It is excellent, clean, very well decorated and with a friendly helpful owner. Light airy rooms and a very pleasant breakfast room. Breakfast is vertually to your choice. It is within easy reach of York Minster and The Shambles, a mere 10 minute walk. Private parking in the rear of the B&B after a very easy route to it from the York Ring Road.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank searcher452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

I have stayed at Foss Bank Guest House several times over the last few years. The guest house is perfectly situated - close enough to the city centre to be able to walk there within about 10 minutes, but far enough away to avoid the noise. The bedrooms are spacious and clean, and the beds very comfortable. I know that when I arrive at Foss Bank, I will receive a warm welcome, and excellent service throughout my stay. I would definitely recommend this guest house if you are planning a trip to York!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cam_l20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We have just spent a fantastic 2 nights at the Foss Bank in York. This really is competition for the major 4-5 star hotels in the city and in many ways it is better. Kevin our host was charming, nothing a problem, tea beautifully presented and on tap whenever required. The bedroom and breakfast room are really romantic and very tastefully decorated - and more inportantly you could eat your dinner off the floor. I have stay in 50+ hotels each year and this is the cleanest place I have ever been - very important and a real plus. You will not be disapointed at Foss Bank, arguably under priced at £33 per night - you are recieving £150 per night quality - long may it continue - we will be back very soon!! Best B+B in the UK.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pretronas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
648 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 194 in York
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#6 of 194 in York
359 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 194 in York
871 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#4 of 194 in York
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foss Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foss Bank Guest House

Address: 16 Huntington Road, York YO31 8RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:4 star — Foss Bank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Foss Bank Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing