We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, convenient, immaculately clean Guest House.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Foss Bank Guest House
Ranked #16 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2010

5 minutes walk from the city walls this is an excellent Guest house. Off-road parking-- which in York saves you a lot of money! Our room was comfortable and well appointed with teamaking and freeview tv. Ensuite had a large corner bath. Quality breakfast. The whole place is spotlessly clean. Kevin the proprietor was very welcoming and helpful. Overall I can't fault it!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank otter680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2010

We stayed at Foss Bank for 3 nights after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and weren't disappointed. The location is ideal for the centre of York as it's only 5 - 10 mins walk away. There's room for parking at the back but the available space is not very big, but at least you don't have to try and find somewhere to park on the street. The rooms are clean and very spacious, and we loved the flat screen TV on the wall. The beds were comfortable too. We were at the front of the building overlooking the road, but the traffic didn't disturb us. Kevin was very friendly and helpful recommending places to eat and visit. We would definitely stay here when we visit York again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tangerinelions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Our room, at the rear of the property with a view of the Minster was large and airy with a lovely shower room. A large lounge is available for guest use but the room was equiped with a TV and two easy chairs as well as tea and coffee making equipment (fresh milk was available which was a real bonus). A good choice was offered at breakfast which is served in the basement dining room which is tastefully decorated, light and sunny. The property is located ideally for York city centre which is only a 10 minute stroll away meaning you can walk in and out 2 or 3 times a day. York has an abundance of bars and resturants none of which are more than a twenty minute walk. The other big bonus of this property is off road private parking a must in York where parking is always hard to find and can be very expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNic_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

This guest house is beautifully positioned for a stay in York. The free car parking allows you to leave your car and walk into the city. The house is spotlessly clean, the rooms are comfortable and there is an ample breakfast. Kevin is a pleasant host who will do whatever he can to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jab_ley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Two of us stayed at Foss Bank for just one night's bed and breakfast. We are looking forward to returning, as it was such a good experience. The Guest House is less than 10 minutes walk from York Minster and several good restaurants. It is attractively furnished and has a peaceful atmosphere. Overall, good value with an excellent English breakfast. The proprietor was very helpful without being intrusive. Free car parking was available on request.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Foss bank guest house is a great place to stay. its a very friendly,clean and relaxed place to stay and only 5 mins walk into york itself.i will recommend it to family and friends who wish to stay and relax in york.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geopost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

We recently had a fantastic stay at Foss Bank a very warm welcome - Kevin was extremely helpful and a wonderful cook - breakfasts were lovely, we stayed for 2 nights had a lovely comfortable bed and room everything was perfect. We will definately be back again we met our friends and spent 3 days enjoying the city sights the wonderful weather was an added bonus the early evening drinks in the garden were like being on holiday abroad! Thanks again for making our stay special. Happy 10th Anniversary keep doing what your doing im sure most of your guests return regularly. Jo & Tony Childs, Essex.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#10 of 194 in York
891 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#18 of 194 in York
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 194 in York
892 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#6 of 194 in York
1,488 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#14 of 194 in York
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foss Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foss Bank Guest House

Address: 16 Huntington Road, York YO31 8RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:4 star — Foss Bank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Foss Bank Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing