We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights and found it to be just what we expected the rooms are very basic but the location is excellent you are within walking distance of everything York has to offer really friendly staff there is no car park but you do get a 42% discount at the ncp multi-storey car park round the corner worked out a tenner a night which wasn't that bad would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redsmith69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    362
    264
    116
    112
See reviews for
292
423
52
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

It's fair to say that most people see travellodges as being cheap & cheerful and to be fair they are, but we paid £100 for a one night stay,without breakfast and it definitely wasn't worth the money. The room was very basic, no were to hang clothes,no wardrobe,just a pole and some hangers. The bathroom was also basic and didn't have a very nice smell at all. The hotel is in a central location, which is good for getting around but our room faced the Main Street and was opposite a bar called flares. The noise from there was just awful! We might as well have been trying to sleep above it, the windows were certainly not noise proof! I have no complaints about the staff, they were friendly and efficient with the check in but I would not return to this hotel, I would rather give my money to The Royal York which is a lovely hotel but unfortunately was full at time of booking.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear tina m, we are really sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay at Travelodge. The room you were provided with is the standard on offer at all of our hotels. We are still committed to offering competitive rates and advise customers to book as far in advance as possible to access the cheapest rates. It is regrettable you were disturbed by noises from outside of the hotel. We try to prevent noise by having double glazing and insulated walls. Unfortunately due to the central location of the hotel, we cannot always prevent external noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Good location near the train station. Rooms fairly clean, bed comfy. Small bar which was a good place to congregate before our girl's night out. Breakfast facilities which were fairly good & just what the doctor ordered after a night out. We didn't have any issues with noise as other reviewers have. A good, reasonably priced place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally2464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a short walk from the station and we found it really easy. We arrived at around 2:25pm and were told that we couldn't check in as check-in was 3pm but we could pay £10 for early check-in. We decided to sit and wait half an hour. The room was very basic but clean, and the bed was super comfy! There was a weird smell in the hotel corridors but that didnt bother us as we were hardly there! Hence why we picked a budget hotel. The location was spot on! 2 minutes walk to bars, restaurants and shops. Overall for the price you can't really moan. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here in September 2013 for 2 nights, upon arrival was greeted by very friendly staff, who informed me that the system had me booked into a family room even though I only booked a double, the room was a decent size, very pleased with that.
Fresh bedding and one really comfortable bed, couldn't fault that at all.
Perfectly situated in a really central location only a few minutes walk at most to the shambles and surrounding areas.
There are many restaurants all within about a maximum 2 minute walk of this Travelodge and decent bar over the road,
The windows perfectly block out the sound from outside when closed,
All in all a very good stay, will definitely be back here again when I come back

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends in July for a hen weekend.
This hotel is very reasonable priced for a long weekend, very clean and friendly service from all staff. We had a problem with one of the air con units in the room and was promptly moved rooms.
The location of the hotel is perfect. We did have a room overlooking the road which was quite noisy so would possibly try and get a room towards the back of the hotel if possible.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah-Jayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We have just returned from a four night stay at the Micklegate travelodge. The hotel is in an excellent central location, within a few minutes walk of all the main attractions in this wonderful city. We arrived early and were checked in by the very efficient Adam. The rooms are extremely basic. No shampoo, shower gel etc provided - only a minuscule piece of soap that disintegrates as soon as you use it. We headed for the budgen supermarket next door for supplies. We had the usual niggling problems with non functioning lights and TV remote controls, but these problems were rectified within 24 hours of arrival. The hotel only provides one chair in each double room, which seems ridiculous to me, and there is nowhere to store luggage or hang clothes. Rooms at the rear of the property overlook a dismal car park, but they do not have any noise from traffic or revellers. Noise from adjacent rooms is another matter...... The bathroom was well cleaned on a daily basis, and tea supplies replenished. My main gripe is that during our four day stay the carpet was not vacuumed on a single occasion and looked really bad by the time we left. The bed sheets were not changed either. For some reason the air conditioning minimum temperature is fixed at 19 degrees, which does not actually cool the room. Breakfast was a buffet affair, and was perfectly adequate, although the coffee was so weak it was difficult to identify it as coffee. The staff in the restaurant were charming and helpful, as were most of the reception staff. Would I stay here again? Only if there was a special offer, and only during weekdays when stag and hen parties are not in residence.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenofdrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
We’re sorry to learn you were not entirely satisfied with your stay queenofdrains. Although we do not provide toiletries in the rooms, customers have the option to purchase toiletries from vending machines at reception should they need to, this allows us to continue to offer great rates in great locations. We do expect our rooms to be serviced and the bedding will be changed after the 3rd night of your stay. Our Hotel Manager will be made aware of your concerns so this can be addressed and any required retraining will take place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.4 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#37 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge York Central Micklegate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge York Central Micklegate

Property: Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Address: Micklegate, York YO1 6JG, England (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge York Central Micklegate 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge York Central Micklegate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge York Central Micklegate Hotel York
Ramada Hotel York
Ramada Encore York
Ramada York
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing