We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good central location”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Nice travelodge, well maintained rooms. Basic as expected, but good value and great location. NCP car park was a little tricky to find as it is not signposted. if you come past the travelodge from the centre, turn right at the lights and next left. We paid £10 with the travelodge discount which was a good price and it literally is around the corner. Overall not bad at all.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wooa1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    364
    268
    118
    113
See reviews for
294
425
54
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

This travelodge was great value. It was central, only a ten min walk to shops and a range of restaurants. There are also a few places to eat within a two min walk.

The room was basic and clean. It has been recently refurbished and has a nice bathroom with a big, walk in shower.

The beds were really comfy with two plump pillows. However this didn't mean a good nights sleep due to it being so, so HOT! The air con would only range between 19 And 24 and window only opened a crack. It was very uncomfortable on both nights.

Overall great value, just remember they give you nothing! A tiny bar of soap, but no shower gel. I borrowed a hair dryer from reception.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank laurenzo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

went for 2 night here and what a room it had the most comfortable bed i have slept on tv that has 18 channles on te and coffee and milk the bathroom was big it had a walk in shower that was red hot the travel lodge is in the middle of everything wuold book again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doneathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I have stayed in many travelodges and this was the best by far.
Central location, clean, recently refurbished rooms and quiet (Monday night).
Craig on reception was very helpful when I was checking in.
My husband ate as did our friends in the morning before we checked out and they were happy with the breakfast.
I will stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WMLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We booked two rooms for a night. We were unable to turn off the lights in the room, therefore the only way we could get to sleep was to turn the power off with the room key, thus leaving us with no air conditioning. The window was secured deliberately and unable to be opened. When this was mentioned in the morning, the receptionist's only reply was 'I'll report it', displaying no concern or interest.
The other room occupied by relatives had a faulty air-conditioning unit. They reported this as they went out for the evening. The next morning they discovered several items had been taken from the room. The room had been entered by a member of staff, as a fan had been left to make up for the lack of air-conditioning. When this was reported, the supervisor stated that no-one had entered the room, this was obviously incorrect. CCTV and internal management systems showed that only that one person had entered the room. The Police are currently investigating the matter. It is more than obvious to me what has happened.
The lack of customer service was inexcusable, in effect there was none.To top everything off, all this having been reported, as I checked out , the receptionist asked,' have you enjoyed your stay here?' I will not write my reply.

Room Tip: See if you can get one with functioning air-conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARK H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear MARKHUGHES95, we’re really sorry about the poor experience you had in our hotel. We take such complaints very seriously and ensure that a thorough investigation is carried out in the hotel. We would like to take this opportunity to address the concerns that you have raised. To help us contact you please can you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to give us more detail and be sure to click on the ‘link from TripAdvisor’ option when submitting your details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Have stayed here several times, this was the first since it has been refurbished (early October 2013). The decor, bed, linen etc is new - the shower room is the same. For what we paid (booked well in advance), ie £28 for a room for 3 adults on a Sunday night in the centre of York, it was fantastic value. I liked the new decor, the bed was extremely comfortable, and my daughter's sofa bed was acceptable, if a little hard. My only complaint was that the handle on the kettle got very hot. I asked for a room that didn't look out onto a wall (having had one of those before) and the view this time was fine. Note that none of the rooms in this hotel have baths - they are all wet room style shower rooms. It would be nice to soak in a bath after a hard days shopping but you can't have everything. I have stayed in quite a few hotels in York over the years and you just can't beat this one for value for money and location. We rarely have breakfasts in Travelodges - you can get much better ones cheaper in most town centres -eg Weatherspoons or similar. This time we went to Yates Wine Lodge just on the other side of the bridge as you walk into town - excellent breakfast, cooked to order.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't look out onto a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djwblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

You know what you get with a Travelodge & being located in the city centre this was ideal for a short break. We couldn't find the carpark as it's tucked away round the corner but the receptionist gave us directions. Despite being on a main road it's really quiet so you can get a good night's sleep. Just remember to take a hairdryer - I didn't!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.4 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#37 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge York Central Micklegate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge York Central Micklegate

Property: Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Address: Micklegate, York YO1 6JG, England (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge York Central Micklegate 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge York Central Micklegate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge York Central Micklegate Hotel York
Ramada Hotel York
Ramada Encore York
Ramada York
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing