We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good city centre Travelodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in York
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A good city centre Travelodge”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights this week with four other friends in a total of four rooms.
Apart from one friend we were able to book early and got very good rates. The hotel is just west of the river close to the middle of the three main bridges over the Ouse and a few minutes walk from the city centre. We were on the front of the hotel but very little road traffic overnight.

Suspect room had been recently refurbished; bathroom fine with large walk in shower. Good new double bed and good pillows but it seemed as if it had replaced two twin beds. Bedside tables were quite unreachable from the edges of the bed. Trailing cables on the floor with a pair of very high up bedside lamps which were not individually switched (despite their being a spare switch on the block of three). Only other light in room was a fluorescent over the hanging rack which substituted for the wardrobe. Minimal furniture as seems to be the norm in Travelodges these days. Didn't know it was formerly a Ramada place until I saw the Trip Advisor heading just now.

Only one of us had breakfast, £7.95 I think but a discount for pre-booking. Rest of the team used the Punchbowl Wetherspoons pub up the road at Micklegate itself and got the usual excellent value for money of a Spoons breakfast.

We were leaving York by train at the end of our third day and our major disappointment with the Travelodge was that they refused to keep our bags (only small rucksacks) for us during the day. I have left bags after checkout at many many Travelodges and have never been refused before, indeed never at any hotel. Receptionist told us there was a left luggage on platform one of the station - there isn't any more. Only such facility is an old container in the car park of one of the car rental firms which charges £5 a day per item even for said small rucksacks. We declined and carried our bags all day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mothmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your review Mothmith. We are sorry to learn you were unhappy that the hotel didn't offer any luggage storage facilities, this has been decided based upon recommendations from the Police, we do however provide a early check in and late check out service for £10.00, this enables you to check out of the hotel at 2pm. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    371
    269
    123
    114
See reviews for
297
433
54
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

This is the most expensive and poorest travel lodge I have stayed in. We had one towel between two and when I ask reception they said that it's normal to share!!!!! I had paid over £80
The bathroom smelt gross and was masked by air freshner!
Overall very very poor
Would never use again the only good thing was location

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jobob109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Jobob109, we are really sorry to learn of the problems you encountered at our hotel. We do expect our rooms to be set up with the correct amount of towels and essentials. Our rooms and bathrooms should also be clean and fresh ready for when our customers check in. Please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to investigate your concerns and offer a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Nice travelodge, well maintained rooms. Basic as expected, but good value and great location. NCP car park was a little tricky to find as it is not signposted. if you come past the travelodge from the centre, turn right at the lights and next left. We paid £10 with the travelodge discount which was a good price and it literally is around the corner. Overall not bad at all.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wooa1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

This travelodge was great value. It was central, only a ten min walk to shops and a range of restaurants. There are also a few places to eat within a two min walk.

The room was basic and clean. It has been recently refurbished and has a nice bathroom with a big, walk in shower.

The beds were really comfy with two plump pillows. However this didn't mean a good nights sleep due to it being so, so HOT! The air con would only range between 19 And 24 and window only opened a crack. It was very uncomfortable on both nights.

Overall great value, just remember they give you nothing! A tiny bar of soap, but no shower gel. I borrowed a hair dryer from reception.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank laurenzo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

went for 2 night here and what a room it had the most comfortable bed i have slept on tv that has 18 channles on te and coffee and milk the bathroom was big it had a walk in shower that was red hot the travel lodge is in the middle of everything wuold book again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doneathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I have stayed in many travelodges and this was the best by far.
Central location, clean, recently refurbished rooms and quiet (Monday night).
Craig on reception was very helpful when I was checking in.
My husband ate as did our friends in the morning before we checked out and they were happy with the breakfast.
I will stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WMLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We booked two rooms for a night. We were unable to turn off the lights in the room, therefore the only way we could get to sleep was to turn the power off with the room key, thus leaving us with no air conditioning. The window was secured deliberately and unable to be opened. When this was mentioned in the morning, the receptionist's only reply was 'I'll report it', displaying no concern or interest.
The other room occupied by relatives had a faulty air-conditioning unit. They reported this as they went out for the evening. The next morning they discovered several items had been taken from the room. The room had been entered by a member of staff, as a fan had been left to make up for the lack of air-conditioning. When this was reported, the supervisor stated that no-one had entered the room, this was obviously incorrect. CCTV and internal management systems showed that only that one person had entered the room. The Police are currently investigating the matter. It is more than obvious to me what has happened.
The lack of customer service was inexcusable, in effect there was none.To top everything off, all this having been reported, as I checked out , the receptionist asked,' have you enjoyed your stay here?' I will not write my reply.

Room Tip: See if you can get one with functioning air-conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARK H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear MARKHUGHES95, we’re really sorry about the poor experience you had in our hotel. We take such complaints very seriously and ensure that a thorough investigation is carried out in the hotel. We would like to take this opportunity to address the concerns that you have raised. To help us contact you please can you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to give us more detail and be sure to click on the ‘link from TripAdvisor’ option when submitting your details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge York Central
0.4 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#38 of 46 in York
1,860 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#32 of 46 in York
1,637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#43 of 46 in York
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge York Central Micklegate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge York Central Micklegate

Property: Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Address: Micklegate, York YO1 6JG, England (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge York Central Micklegate 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge York Central Micklegate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge York Central Micklegate Hotel York
Ramada Hotel York
Ramada Encore York
Ramada York
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing