We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Ranked #40 of 47 Hotels in York
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very basic”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in October. Pretty much what you would expect in a Travelodge. Rooms have been updated and are pleasant and this is in an excellent location for all the attractions and shopping York has to offer. However, this hotel has no personality and it is literally somewhere to lay your head. 1 night would have been enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingercloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    383
    278
    133
    122
See reviews for
313
448
58
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Booked a one night stay for a sat night for £50. Booked this in feb for nov. book early to get a good price. Room lovely and clean and bed very comfy. Location is brill too. Only fault really is that there is no mirror above the dressing table for us ladies to get ready .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherryberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Got to my room only to be greeted by a high level of noise coming from the nightclub outside the room I was given, the continued noise of police sirens and revelers screaming and shouting till 3.00am was unbearable I would advise booking somewhere not around the Micklegate area as there are lots of bars open till the early hours and I counted 3 nightclubs within 200 metres of the hotel so avoid it if you can.

Room Tip: Stay at the Hilton instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leengill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

South Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Room was spacious. Very clean, light and modern. Bed was very comfortable. Kettle and beverages available on arrival.
Staff very helpful . Breakfast service now available. Did not book this service in advance. After a visit to the breakfast room decided to purchase breakfast vouchers. Value for money buffet service. Fifteen pounds per couple but well worth it. Plenty of choices for every one.
Parking not so good. No free parking at the hotel. The NCP on Tanner Row is the nearest and the hotel advises you to park there and offers a 44% discount on the parking charges.
We would stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireTraveller-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here before picking up a new transporter. Car park was very busy with limited space.
Drinks from the bar were reasonably cheap.
Good for a stopover.
Breakfast was NOT worth £8 each.
Overall not that bad

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank recovery_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Nice hotel, fantastic location, helpful staff, but I hope the new look is not going to spread across all Travelodges. Nowhere to put drink, glasses, alarm etc whilst in bed. Except floor of course. Light switch nowhere near door, in fact finding light switches in dark was hard. We had a disabled room, bathroom had insufficient room for wheelchair, and pushing door open was hard. However, the clothes hanging poles were just something else. Heavy poles, right opposite bathroom - Dangerous and I have a nice bruise on my arm to prove that clumsy oafs can walk into them! More seriously, opposite bathroom, in a disabled room???

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnC0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We were able to park in the NCP car park literally round the corner -really easy. A bonus in York! Only £20 for two days' parking. All the staff were very obliging even when we found that our room hadn't been set up as requested for four people-when we returned in the evening it had all been done for us. Breakfast was a very pleasant buffet with both full English and cold options available -all self service which I prefer as it's much less intrusive than people hovering. Central location which couldn't be much closer to the main attractions. Nice and warm, clean and secure. Not fancy, but great value for money and all staff delightful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephChickweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge York Central
0.4 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#39 of 47 in York
1,890 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#32 of 47 in York
1,678 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#42 of 47 in York
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge York Central Micklegate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge York Central Micklegate

Property: Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Address: Micklegate, York YO1 6JG, England (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge York Central Micklegate 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge York Central Micklegate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge York Central Micklegate Hotel York
Ramada Hotel York
Ramada Encore York
Ramada York
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing