We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Ranked #40 of 47 Hotels in York
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Adequate”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Basic bog standard Travelodge. Plusses: Breakfast. Minusses: Noisy area so couldn't open windows; opposite night club so woken regularly by the idiots coming and going there; heating didn't work properly. Won't be going there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
It is regrettable to learn you did not enjoy your stay with us Neil H. In an attempt to reduce the noise outside of the hotel we do provide double glazing and insulated walls; however unfortunately it is not always possible to reduce the noise outside, we can confirm that we also work with the police and local communities. We would expect our heating system to be fully functional so we are truly sorry that you found your heater was not working correctly. We will be sure to pass on your feedback to the hotel manager so that they can look into this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    384
    281
    133
    124
See reviews for
316
450
58
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed for two nights and were impressed with the location and the helpful, friendly staff - they were really attentive and couldn't do enough for us. Considering it was supposed to have been recently refurbished it looked like it was still in progress but our room was acceptable. The bed was comfy and we have two decent nights sleep. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice. The bar prices were a little on the steep side but I suppose it's to be expected. Overall we enjoyed out stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katyjug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

A good location. Like many I have found the 'help' pages within a hotel Gideon bible immensely valuable, yet no bibles are, I was told by the Manager now allowed within Travel Lodge hotels. They have literally been removed as a result of Travel Lodge corporate decree. When I pointed out that in a cathedral city such as York there would be many Christian tourists and that many of Travel Lodges competitors have not banned bibles she was very nice and sympathetic..but she explained had no discretion to allow bibles to be reintroduced. This seems utterly wrong. This is Britain, not China or some regime in which such freedoms are not permitted.
I arrange numerous seminars and courses for corporate clients and whilst this policy lasts will now opt for Premier Inn or others for their future bookings.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank BusTravellerPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

stayed for one night. situated ten mins from train station. ideal location near all local amenities. room very nice with walk in shower. rooms quiet - hardlys any noise from traffic etc.... staff helpful and polite. only downside is there is no option for baggage to be left in reception. had to pay £10 charge to get room early. have stayed in other travelodges that will take bags earlyet you check in later on after 3pm without charge. we will be back to visit again and will certainly stay again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanya s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night. Saturday.
Staff very helpful, very comfortable and clean room. Warm and quiete.
The rooms are quite basic but it suited us perfect and wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else next.
Thanks for a hassle free stay.
Oh... We arrived early and the girl on desk went and cleaned our room straight away. Spot on.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mallaillama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlewich
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

stayed here for one night , room very small and basic but clean , very comfy bed though .Had to pay £10.00 to get into room earlier , and it was quite noisy.I don't think we will be stopping here again even though its clean we still want a better standard than this .. and the bar area was very uninviting.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Debmiddlewich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
We are pleased to lean you found our rooms to be clean with a comfortable bed Debmiddlewich. It is regrettable to learn you were disturbed by noise outside of the hotel, in an attempt to reduce external noise we do provide double glazing. We are also sorry to learn you found the bar area to be uninviting. We will be sure to pass your comments on to the hotel management team to look into. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is well below expectations for this star rating, if it can be called a normal hotel. Only the poor staff were doing all they could to abide by the Travelodge policies. They were the only highlight of the stay. Following issues:

1 - There was no option to leave bags in a baggage room or behind the desk. When enquired with the staff, we were informed that this is not possible apart from renting the room for a further 2 hours for £10! What value for money is this? This is the first hotel, guest house or B&B in the world that I've been that this was not offered this as a service. Very disappointed, meaning we had to cut our morning in the city short to come and tend to our bags, then go and find another place to keep them for the afternoon.

2 - There was only one set of towels out for a double room (had to go and request this from reception in person as there was no phone).

3 - There was no shower gel. Never experienced this at a 'hotel' before (globally) - poorer than a B&B! Another visit to reception was needed to find this out, and then I was told this was on the website - not at all obvious and would have indicated the poor quality nature of the service if I had read this.

4 - No phone in the room meaning that various visits to reception were needed to find out the above.

5 - Reception staff tending both the bar and the reception area.

Added to this the following disappointments:
6 - Dirty/mouldy bathroom.
7 - Cracked mirror.
8 - Hole in the bathroom door with toilet paper stuffed into it.
9 - Plug sockets on one side of the room, away from the bed.
10 - The bedside lights that needed switching off at the entrance door.
11 - Other random light switches that had no function, and the frustration in needing to find this out.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wheyfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
We are sorry to learn of your disappointment Wheyfair. Unfortunately our hotels do not have facilities to store luggage however we do provide an early check in and late check out service should our guests wish to check in from 12pm or check out at 2pm, this does come at a £10.00 charge and is subject to availability. As brand standard we do not provide toiletries however we do have a vending machine at reception which contains toiletries should our guests need to purchase any forgotten items. We also do not provide phones in our rooms, this is due to the fact that we do not provide room service however our staff are expected to be able to assist our guests at all times. It is regrettable to learn you found our bathroom was not up to high standards and the mirror was cracked, we will be sure to pass on your comments to the hotel management team to look into further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge York Central
0.4 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#39 of 47 in York
1,894 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#32 of 47 in York
1,683 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge York Central Micklegate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge York Central Micklegate

Property: Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Address: Micklegate, York YO1 6JG, England (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge York Central Micklegate 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge York Central Micklegate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge York Central Micklegate Hotel York
Ramada Hotel York
Ramada Encore York
Ramada York
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing