We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and clean just don't get the room next to the breakfast room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in York
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Clean and clean just don't get the room next to the breakfast room!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

QOk, so we weren't expecting much for the price but after staying in other hotels for a similar price I would defiantly not stay here again!
After arriving early we waited in the bar until 3 o'clock along with many other people waiting to check in. Despite this check in was quick and pleasant and we were soon in our room. We got room 103, a family room on the first floor!
IF YOU GET THIS ROOM ASK TO BE MOVED!
So the room was small, yes we were expecting this, no proper wardrobe yes we can deal with this. The lovely looking sink is to shallow so slashes water and soaks the floor every time you put it on.
We had a family room, a double and a sofa bed. You could see the springs sticking out of the sofa bed. When we tried to tell somebody, it was the third person who could speak the most English, she could still not understand what we were saying until she came in and saw the bed. She was very helpful, however told us there were no spare beds and so got us a thick duvet to try and cover up the springs.
The bus stop is outside so smile and wave every time a double decker stops and everybody looks in.
In the morning we woke up to a lady who appeared to be pacing up and down the breakfast room next to us (7am). This got worse as guests began to sit down dragging their chairs in and out!

Overall ... The hotel is in an excellent location! The staff are friendly, when you find a member of staff who can understand you. It is clean, however do not stay in room 103 and don't expect much from the sofa bed!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LauraHen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    365
    268
    118
    113
See reviews for
294
426
54
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Our stay here was great! The location is brilliant for exploring York. The main attractions, bars and shops are just a short 10minute walk away.
The hotel is clean and the rooms are spacious.
Our only negative was that our room on the 1st floor was next to the breakfast room and this was noisy from around 8am onwards.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oztraveller E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed twice in November once with a group of girls and the other time there was three couples. Rooms were really nice new beds were very comfortable but we were in a room for three when we went with the girls and it was a sofa bed which was fine but that wasn't new and you could really feel the springs think they need replacing like they have the beds . It's a great location for all the shops and bars you don't need to get a taxi so that was a bonus the only thing is you can't get into your rooms till 3pm but you can pay £10 to get the room from midday so we did that a dropped off all our bags there's no luggage room. Plenty of good bars really close The Living Room , The Parish and Slugg and Lettuce were really good .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCBradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

The location is fabulous, however our last stay was so much better.

1) I booked the room far in advance and it was £75 for the night. I checked online to find the postcode and the rooms were only £48 on the night, not impressed.

2) the hotel doesn't provide for any miniature showergels/soaps/shampoo which I wouldn't think would be too much to ask for.

3) I was told on the phone a room was available early if I wanted to check in early, to find out on arrival that it was going to cost me £10 to check in an hour early

4) the all you can eat breakfast was a let down compared to the premier inn one, very unimpressed

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiamay92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Services at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
We're sorry to learn the room rate had reduced since you made your booking Georgiamay92, our rates are based on factors such as availability and can increase or decrease on a daily basis. Unfortunately we do not currently provide toiletries as part of our brand standard, although our customers may purchase any forgotten toiletry items from our vending machines in reception. Our check in time is 3pm however we do offer an early check in service which costs £10.00 and allows our customers to check in from 12 noon. This service can be purchased during the booking process or at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Travelodges are never going to be luxury. However the location of this one is excellent.

The bedroom was acceptable, the new look bathroom is functional if not just a bit spartan.

The staff were very helpful. However the early morning staff were noticeable by their illusive absence.

Enjoy York though and this is a great place to start.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

When we arrived we had a very helpful member of staff greeting us our family room was very good with a tv, kettle and unfolding sofa bed along with the main bed. The shower room was good with a walk in shower. It was very clean and soundproof windows were a big help! The only downside was the surprising lack of plugs. The central location was ideal with all major attractions within walking distance, there is also a sainsbury's local with is helpful for essentials . We were pleasantly surprised when we contacted them that our small dog who often gets left behind on holidays was allowed so this hotel is ideal for dog owners. We had the breakfast extra which was the main resin this is not getting an excellent it was very expensive and lacked basic foods such as fried egg. So I would opt out this feature of the experiance. So overall ours was a good experiance

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank al_hody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Basic bog standard Travelodge. Plusses: Breakfast. Minusses: Noisy area so couldn't open windows; opposite night club so woken regularly by the idiots coming and going there; heating didn't work properly. Won't be going there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
It is regrettable to learn you did not enjoy your stay with us Neil H. In an attempt to reduce the noise outside of the hotel we do provide double glazing and insulated walls; however unfortunately it is not always possible to reduce the noise outside, we can confirm that we also work with the police and local communities. We would expect our heating system to be fully functional so we are truly sorry that you found your heater was not working correctly. We will be sure to pass on your feedback to the hotel manager so that they can look into this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.4 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#37 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge York Central Micklegate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge York Central Micklegate

Property: Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Address: Micklegate, York YO1 6JG, England (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge York Central Micklegate 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge York Central Micklegate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge York Central Micklegate Hotel York
Ramada Hotel York
Ramada Encore York
Ramada York
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing