We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in York
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is the first time we have stayed in a Travelodge rather than a Premier Inn, choosing to stay here because the base price is around £30 cheaper than the local Premier Inn. However, when we turned up after travelling up from King's Cross on the train an hour before our check in time, it became evident why the price is a little cheaper. Unlike most hotels, you had to pay an extra £10 for luggage storage, which is a pain. When we then arrived back later after a nice day out in York we went up to our room. When it came to sleeping, two people slept in a raised double bed, one on a raised single and the other on a painfully uncomfortable mattress on the floor. The breakfast the next morning was pretty good and staff were helpful enough but problems like the beds and lack of shower gel or shampoo in the bathroom meant that this stay was a slight disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    373
    270
    127
    114
See reviews for
299
436
54
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed in the hotel a couple of times. Staff have always been friendly. Although it is a central location I have never had any noise complaints. The rooms are clean and spacious. The town is a stones throw away so parking is with the NCP but you get a great discount on this giving a close start point for exploring, meaning you can make the most of your stay. If you want a fair priced hotel as a base for travels this is ideal!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjs274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The room was very warm to the point of uncomfortable and even though there was a thermostat control panel on the wall with instructions for a 'comfortable' stay it did not work i opened the window but had to shut it again because it was too noisy. The corridor leading to our room had an awful sewage smell which was unbearable even the kids commented on how awful it was every time we walked through it. It was a very basic room and was quite plain in decor not a very relaxing place after a busy day.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awwwcomeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The best thing about the hotel is the location, two minutes walk to the city centre and right in the middle of restaurants and shops. The room itself was basic, but was clean and comfortable which is all we needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Breakfast was the worst I've ever had. Even the coffee and orange juice was disgusting. No services for luggage storage for customers checking out in the morning but do not catch train until the evening. Bed was also uncomfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

On arrival the room had no curtains and then when we got moved there was another family in the room, staff did not know what they were doing and we had to sit in the corridor with a young child whilst they sorted it out, it took 3 rooms before we got a decent room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review Paula S. We would expect all of our rooms to be set up correctly so it is regrettable to learn your room did not provide the required essentials. We can also confirm that under no circumstances would we expect another guest to be given a key to another customer’s room. It appears that, due to a system error, two keys were allocated to the same room. We do have strict procedures in place to make sure this does not happen. We would like to further understand the issues you have highlighted to find a resolution. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed in York Central Micklegate for one night. The room itself was clean and provided the basic amenities you'd expect, Bed, TV, and Bathroom with Shower.

The room was clean, and even though we were on the front of the building (by the main road) we weren't really disturbed by the road noise because of the secondary glazing provided. It was also a great factor to have air con in the room, so we didn't have to open the windows.

The shower was brilliant, far better than I expected, I was genuinely impressed.

The staff on reception were friendly and courteous, as were the cleaning staff when we passed them in the corridor the following day.

The only faults we found were the noise from other rooms could quite clearly be heard, we had an amorous couple to one side, a rabble of children below us, and a family with some young screamy children next door. This all calmed down by about 8pm though and we felt that the staff were friendly enough that if we'd asked to change rooms they would have done their best to help.

There were a couple of faults with our stay overall
- the "wardrobe" wood panelling had begun to peel off and chip away which made it look a bit scruffy
- there were very few plugs for guest use within the room, there was only one nearish to a mirror that I doubt a hairdryer wire would have reached to
- I borrowed a hairdryer from reception only to get it to my room to discover that the earth pin on the hair dryer was missing, making it unusable, it also didn't have a PAT test label on it

I would consider staying here again, and I think this is a fantastic place to stay if you're a family as it's well located and right on top of York town centre as well as plenty of express supermarkets for emergency food stops.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mojothemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge York Central
0.4 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#38 of 46 in York
1,860 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#32 of 46 in York
1,640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#42 of 46 in York
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge York Central Micklegate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge York Central Micklegate

Property: Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Address: Micklegate, York YO1 6JG, England (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge York Central Micklegate 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge York Central Micklegate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge York Central Micklegate Hotel York
Ramada Hotel York
Ramada Encore York
Ramada York
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing