We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in York
Redcar
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great value”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

good value updated rooms just across the river into the city. we were at the front of the building on sunday and Monday evening little nose but I think if you got a room to the rear I think it would be better. Tanner row car park 2 minutes away with 33% Travelodge discount

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank chrismag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    372
    270
    124
    114
See reviews for
298
434
54
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

good price great location, friendly well trained staff, will certanly stay with travelodge again, excellent, will look for a travelodge wvery time i go away, cant beat the value for money, many thanks.



  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The location was chosen for being central - and I know York very well - however, I did not realise that the location was the centre of the clubbing, youngsters drinking til overflow, all night chatting, singing and laughing on the street, early morning mechanical road sweepers, and early morning shop deliveries, and noise and more noise - part of the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank RichardofYork2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Myself and my girlfriend stayed at the Micklegate Travelodge in May 2014 for one night. The hotel is in a great location and there is parking nearby at the NCP car park (just off Tanner Row), which is discounted by 33% for Travelodge customers.

The room was pretty basic, but it's what you come to expect for the price. Our room overlooked the main road (Micklegate), but we didn't notice any particular issues with noise.

Overall, we were happy with the experience and would consider staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Travelodge offers very cheap no-frills accommodation and sometimes (like three nights before in Morecambe) we have found it just not comfortable enough to be worth the saving.

But this particular Travelodge is equipped with their new "Dreamer" beds and pillows and we had a great night's sleep (our ageing bodies are quite sensitive to uncomfortable beds so if we like it it really means something). Friendly helpful staff as usual for Travelodge and a great location.

We were particularly lucky as our room was set up as a family room and the spare bed converts into a sofa, so it was more spacious and comfortable than you would expect for the money.
In future I'll definitely be looking at what beds are installed at a Travelodge before booking.

Room Tip: Make sure it has a Travelodge 'Dreamer' bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sevenleagueboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syorks
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had a midweek stay in this travelodge it's ideally located however the parking is in the NCP car park very close by and is discounted by 33% on checkout. The rooms are spotless, modern and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was particularly nice. The staff are very friendly and helpful, however there were some older guests in front of us at reception that thought they were at a 5star hotel and expected Valet service and I think they thought the receptionist was going to park their car for them. :/

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at Easter. We found our own parking with paybyphone round the corner. The walk was only 5/10 minutes.

We found our room to be very clean and had all we needed. Don't understand some of the comments. The location was great as within 5 minutes we were bang in the middle for all the shopping and bars.

After we'd been out at night for a meal, we got a bottle of wine from the bar and took it to our room with ice.

The service was good. Great price and no qualms about using it again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jellygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge York Central
0.4 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#38 of 46 in York
1,860 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#32 of 46 in York
1,637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#42 of 46 in York
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge York Central Micklegate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge York Central Micklegate

Property: Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Address: Micklegate, York YO1 6JG, England (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge York Central Micklegate 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge York Central Micklegate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge York Central Micklegate Hotel York
Ramada Hotel York
Ramada Encore York
Ramada York
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing