We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value & location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Ranked #40 of 47 Hotels in York
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great value & location”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Travelodge Micklegate was a very good value -- easy walk from train station, & easy walk to all the sights. Our room was clean, plenty of space, shower good-sized. Very quiet. Breakfast cost extra, but there is a grocery across the street where you can get a cheap breakfast (and coffeeshops a short walk across the river).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank merlaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    383
    278
    133
    122
See reviews for
313
448
58
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Booked here mainly for great location for a night out with work. Was a little nervous as to what to expect as I have stayed in some shocking travelodges in the past however all in all it was a fairly good stay. As I said location is perfect for the town centre though be aware noise is to be expected due to nearby bars on an evening and traffic on a morning. Saying this the secondary glazing did a good job of keeping most of the noise out. Parking is very limited (we did just manage to get parked on the grounds) but I believe there are nearby carparks to use at a cost. We didn't eat so can't comment on that. The service was fine although wasn't informed that the lift was out of order (luckily we were only on the 1st floor!). The room was pleasant enough - light, modern and clean. A few niggles - no mirror above dressing table, bed was a small double which meant we couldn't reach fixed bedside shelf on one side, plug sockets are limited and inconveniently placed and bathroom sink was blocked. Regardless of this we enjoyed our stay and would use again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma_omal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night room 129. Room was clean. It seemed our room used to have 2 singles, now has a double (not king size). Couple of gripes the hand basin was partially blocked and took ages to drain, which meant an odour and virtually no plug sockets! A real pain!
Aside from that the room was decent size shower was excellent and bed comfy.
The location alone is worth the price as all attractions in walking distance. Have stayed before will stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Neil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

It started out so well, a gentle walk from York railway station to the hotel. We got there about an hour before check in and unfortunately there wasn't anywhere we could store our bags to allow a little early exploration so we bought a drink and waited in the bar. About 40 minutes later they were ready for us and we started the check in process. Due to a booking error we were down for a double room rather than a twin so the chap on the counter kindly fixed uinstantly a family room. Well we thought it was kind up until 7am the next morning. You see, we were put in room 103 which was right beside the breakfast room and bang on 7am we were woken by heels on the laminate flooring and multiple chairs being scraped across the floor. This was loud even though the ear plugs we were wearing. To top off our experience in 103 the toilet was leaking. It really isn't a pleasant feeling to walk onto a cold wet bathroom floor.
So we asked for a new room and were very quickly moved to 114 where the next 3 nights of our stay were fine. It wasn't until we were gettin ready to leave that we noticed a couple of chunks of what can only be described as dirt on the bed under the air conditioning that we had used properly for the first time that morning. We didn't feel that this was the healthiest of things to happen so we mentioned this when we checked out. Give Travelodge their due, they instantly offered an e voucher to book a night for free at any Travelodge through their website. All in all It wasnt a bad place to stay and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I understand you get what u pay for but this was very basic! Staff werent very helpful and place was swammed with police when arrived! Room wasnt very clean and alot of noise from hen parties! On a positive note, the location is fantastic! Very good if u literally just need a room for the night but I expected a little bit better.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank laurakate12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

First thing that was missing was the car park. When I eventually got to the car park it was only a short walk away, 10 mins max, but driving around York to find it was not easy. In the room things that you would expect to be there were missing. Soap, wardrobe, ironing board & iron, bathroom bin, no glass in bathroom(but there were cups in the room). Ok for a weekend away but not for a business user.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S00BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

First of all there were several issues at check in. Booked a family room online however when we arrived a member of staff named Gretel told us only a double room was currently available. I asked if there was a price refund for being downgraded, but she said no because they are the same price. Luckily this didn't both us too much, however if we had of had children there was no way a double room would have sufficed. Further, I am been to many travelodges where they are happy to store luggage (usually free of charge) such as Edinburgh, however on arrival we were told this facility was not available. We then had to pay an extra £20 for early check in and late check out so we could store our luggage in the room for an extra couple of hours. If we had of known this we would not have booked. Travelodge must ensure some consistency, or clearly advertise they do not have this service on their website. I felt reception staff were incredibly rude and I did not feel welcomed into the hotel. Additionally, 1 bath towel per double room is not enough. Location is excellent and our room had a good view, just a shame the service and not having the room we booked available let it down.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellersdream100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge York Central
0.4 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#39 of 47 in York
1,890 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#32 of 47 in York
1,678 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#42 of 47 in York
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge York Central Micklegate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge York Central Micklegate

Property: Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Address: Micklegate, York YO1 6JG, England (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge York Central Micklegate 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge York Central Micklegate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge York Central Micklegate Hotel York
Ramada Hotel York
Ramada Encore York
Ramada York
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing